We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This all-inclusive represents an outstanding travel value for quality of the rooms, service, location, and excellent service. Having stayed at the "original" Jewel Dunn's River Falls in 2011 & 2012 (also a great experience), we booked the newly acquired Jewel Paradise Cove based on availability for 31 July - 6 August & reviews by TripAdvisor travelers. The property location had stunning views of the Caribbean and was immaculate. Snorkeling, glass bottom boat rides, diving, nearby excursions, & nighttime dinner events were all included or available. Newly remodeled rooms included king beds, flat screens, super cold air conditioning & contemporary bathrooms with walk in showers. Although not an ocean view, the "pool view" was just fine as we spent all day at the beach or with the water sports. A nice option was the smoothie bar on the beach plus great beach or pool service. There were multiple food venues allowing healthy options including a buffet style with table service (& chef stations) for breakfast/lunch/dinner, formal sit-down dining, Japanese style (reservations required), stone oven pizza place, Italian themed ocean side venue, & an all night grill for burgers, wraps, or jerk chicken with amazing views by the "quiet beach". Food was 4 - 4.5 stars & included Jamaican favorites. Platinum offered a superb resort formal experience with a contemporary feel including experienced wait staff, multiple entrees prepared in an open kitchen, and a wine list for additional cost above what was included (dined here twice - casual slacks for guys & resort wear for ladies). There were some nightly entertainment opportunities, a manager's reception with large poolside banquet featuring "Jamaican Night", & a "beach party" with fantastic food venues seated at tables followed by the live "goat races" after dark. Several spots offer incredible views of the evening sunsets including the 2nd story open bar area above Moonstone (Italian) & Jester's Pizza Kitchen. Although a slightly smaller property, there was lush landscaping, little seating areas, hammocks, coffee bar, & boardwalk for day or night strolls. The water sports staff was fantastic with the guest's safety and enjoyment always a top priority. For us, the snorkeling trips (included twice daily & a minimal charge for a "private" trip with smaller group) were super. There was a modern and more sophisticated vibe to this Jewel with every single staff member encountered wanting to make the stay memorable. The bars offered plenty of options albeit not always every super premium known to man, but we were very pleased & most had espresso machines. Internet access, billiard tables, & ping pong were located next to the gift shop. Additionally, there is a full service spa & exercise equipment. Check-in procedures with the transport at the airport have been streamlined and the hour ride to the resort offers a great glimpse of the countryside. The executive management staff was out on the property day & evening making sure to meet and mingle with guests. We found a nice mix of guest age groups from 20's & 30's to 40's & 50's - everyone encountered was cordial, friendly, & there to have a great experience. This trip represents our 4th to Jamaica and 3rd to this area of the country. We would highly recommend this all-inclusive resort & plan to return. For us, the Jewel resorts have proven their commitment to excellence and a memorable vacation experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TracyDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Althea G, Ambassador at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Guest

It was our esteem pleasure to have hosted and delighted that the Jewel resorts have proven their commitment to excellence and a memorable vacation experience, and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Regards

Althea Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,030)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,433 - 2,439 of 3,030 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just returned from a week's vacation so I want to get in my review while it's still fresh. This resort has so much going for it that it's hard to criticize it. The location is gorgeous, the grounds immaculate, everything fresh and clean and the staff is so friendly you really have a great time.

The pros:

The staff is wonderful and eager to please.
It's very easy to get a drink.
They are very lenient when it comes to their pools. Even though they officially close at 5pm you can swim any time you like. The Aquamarine Grill serves food all night long and the pool is occupied as long as the grill is open.
They have plenty of activities, starting with power walks at 7am and going right up to live entertainment in the evenings.
They try to mix up their regular restaurant offerings. In our week there they had dinner both on the beach and out by the main pool.
Nice rooms.

The cons:

2 small beaches, neither with water deep enough to swim in. You can sit up to your neck and it does make it easy for the waiters to bring you out a drink but it's still pretty bad.
Mediocre food. Lots of it, plenty of variety but overall not very good.

Still, they try so hard and make you feel so good about yourself you can't help but fall in love with the place. It's not perfect but it had the potential to be so much worse. It's amazing they do so well with what they have.

Here are some random thoughts:

The deepest water we found was about 5 feet deep at the back end of the quiet beach. You have to go over a large patch of seaweed and dodge a few boulders to get there but it's doable.

The only true unobstructed ocean views are from building 9, starting from 915 onwards. Every other building considered to be ocean view will have some sort of obstruction, some really bad. We were in a building not considered to be one of the better ones (building 5) and we had a lovely view of the ocean between some trees. We were very happy with it.

The Platinum is supposed to be their signature restaurant. If you like your meal served on boards by white-gloved waiters it delivers. However we never got a decent meal there in 2 tries.

If you browse through the resort photos, see a dish that was served at the Platinum then find it isn't on the menu try asking for it anyway. We had steaks that weren't on the menu.

The Moonstone is supposed to be their more casual restaurant but my goodness, with the sea view, the breezes and the waves crashing on the rocks they could serve hotdogs and beans and it would still be a fabulous experience. One of the most beautiful locations we have ever dined at.

The sunset cruise is in their glass bottom boat. No thanks.

Snorkeling was a great bit of fun and you actually get to be in water deep enough to swim in.

Whatever you do, Dunn's River Falls is something not to be missed, especially when you already paid for it whether you go or not.

The jerk chicken at the Aquamarine Grill does a grave injustice to a wonderful style of cooking. Even the cooks laugh when you ask them to compare it to the real thing.

The gift shop prices are, for the most part, reasonable compared to most resorts and hotels we have stayed at.

There are security guards all over the place, making you feel very safe.

If you get a room with a tub make sure you have a towel to catch the shower water or it will run out all over the floor.

My wife and I are island hopping now so it will probably be a while before we come back to Jamaica. But if we do we would consider coming back here again.

Room Tip: Building 5 had wonderful ocean views from the second and third floors, was a short walk to the Aquam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Kei P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Althea G, Ambassador at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and appreciate you taking the time, to let us know of the experience you had and that you would return. We look forward to your return very soon.

Regards

Althea Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We enjoyed our trip to Jamaica and our stay at Jewel Paradise Cove Beach Resort & Spa. The staff is exceptionally friendly. The rooms are clean and the beds were very comfortable. The AC in the room worked great. We enjoyed the beach and the water sports they provide. The pool slide was a lot of fun. The snorkeling off the beach was pretty good, you can see lots of little fish. Some even come right up to the beach. There was plenty of shady areas at the beach and pools. The property is not too big that you have to do a lot of walking to get from area to area. It was prefect for my family of four and meeting up with other family members for a nice relaxing family reunion. They upgraded some of our rooms to pool view so our rooms could be near our family. We liked that it was an adults only resort and not a couples only resort. The food was good overall, about what you would expect from an all inclusive. There were plenty of choices at each restaurant. I would recommend this resort. The only disappointment was the included excursion to shopping in Ocho Rios. The two shopping areas we were taken were were mostly cheesy souvenir shops & jewelry stores. We were hoping for more local Jamaican crafts & shops.

Room Tip: First floor pool view room was very nice. You can walk out onto the pool deck from your sliding gla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 55Sue55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Althea G, Ambassador at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you and it was our pleasure to have hosted and delighted that it was a great family vacation and reunion, and it was enjoyed by all. We look orward to hosting you again soon.

Regards

Althea Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

first of all if you're in your 20's to early 30's that likes a lively resort then JPC is not for you. i dont have any intentions of being mean or anything but this resort is for oldies, people that really want a quiet alone time, and for honeymooners and anniversary celebrants. some of the reviews here are i think exaggerated. i dont think this resort is bad or my experience was a disappointment but i kinda expected more from them because of these reviews (this is one of the reason that i think older couples or individuals go here because they are easily amazed to a lot of things even the normal services) and i think the staff should live up to their reputation here in the TripAdvisor community.

ARRIVAL: we booked our trip with Sunwing and the flight was good and fast. we came 45mins early which is great. there are 3 sections of line ups for immigration. my advice is go to either left or right but definitely not the middle. people tend to go to the middle because its right in front of the entrance and believe me its a looong wait if you're in the middle section. we took the free shuttle service provided by the hotel. we kinda waited for 15-20mins which is not bad although i heard from other guests that they waited to almost an hour before leaving the airport. i guess its a hit or miss so i dont really know if getting a private service will be better. we arrived at the hotel with welcome drinks and wet towel then seated for a couple of minutes then Roan helped us to get to our room. i also suggest that after settling in in your room it is best to go straight to the lobby to book dinner, excursions, and especially water activities in the resort because it locks out very fast.

ROOM: big room, comfy bed, huge washroom, decent balcony, walk in closet, safe, very good A/C. the fridge is stocked every other day although you can request with the housekeeper if u want extra which what we did.we left her a note every day on what we need and she always give it to us. take note also that they clean the rooms around 4-5:30pm so schedule your day promptly. turndown service starts i think at 6pm. if u can tip them everyday please do because they are not like the employees at the beach scene which are always exposed to the guest and can get tips easier than them. also the washroom with tubs floods and the tub is very high so be very careful. i noticed that people can see u taking a shower if your room is facing the ocean. i know because i made eye contact to one of them when i was taking a shower. kinda funny to think about it now but seriously i think there is some engineering issues with how they built their washroom in the rooms.

BEACH: lots of seaweed. the sand is coarse. one sweep of sand using your hand and feet and u will feel the concrete underneath.the water is tame and no big waves because of the cove which is either good or bad depending on your preference. the good thing about their beach is there are a lot of chairs and huts. you dont have to wake up early to reserve a chair. we go to the beach around lunch time and we still get chairs under a hut. servers are continuously taking orders even you're in the water (literally) which is very nice and they clean up consistently too.

FOOD: i think as long as you're not too picky then the buffet is good. pretty much normal stuff in breakfast. bacon, eggs,fruits, bread which i dont have any problem. starting lunch they have the self serve ice cream station going which is awesome plus pasta station. we ate at other restaurants too inside the resort and the only one needed a reservation is the Jade Samurai which is tepan style that cooks right in front of you. they have italian resto that serves good pizza but the wait is too long. they also have a fancy restaurant with white glove service which u dont have to reserve and no extra fee except for wines. they have 22 hours snack bar that serves jerk chicken, burgers, fries. they close around 8-10am to clean up their stuff. i dont get the person who said this resort should be more americanize when it comes to food. dude, u should stay in the states if u want to eat states side food. they are trying their best to accomodate every taste buds but at the end of the day, they are Jamaicans.. they're not Americans, Canadians, Asians, English.

STAFF: im the type of guest that really appreciate smiling staff which i never get here. im not complaining though. i think they just dont in general. i didnt get why they have an employee with a nickname "smiley" when the only time i saw him smile was at the sunset cruise. every time i see him on the grounds he seems like he doesnt want to talk to anyone.

GENERAL: they have lots of water activities for free. paddle boat, snorkeling, hobie cat, Dunns River excursion which is a great deal in my opinion. they have activities the whole day but nobody really joins or least care to the MC. im not sure if what they're doing is not effective or guests just really doesnt want to participate. they have smoothie bar by the beach too which is good in my opinion. all in all, this place is not bad at all BUT definitely not as good as what people say in their reviews here. there are still a lot of work to do and they are really trying their best to be deserving of the title #1 in Runaway Bay. i think this is the most FAIR review of this resort.

Room Tip: 5's are really quiet but far from the main beach. avoid high floors because they dont have eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Slim8Shady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Althea G, Ambassador at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to inform us of your experience and we will use this to continue improve on our product. Thanks again.

Regards

Althea Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I had the opportunity to spend 2 nights at the Jewel Runaway Bay and then another 2nights at the Jewel Paradise Cove during the period of Aug 12-16,2014 w/ my husband. It was sunny all day long during our vacation. Bus pick-up at the airport was easy, there were already more than 10 passengers on the bus when we boarded; didn't ask how long they've waited. Bus then begin the 1hr or so ride to the resorts, but then made a stop at a sort of convenience store/restaurant for a 10mins break after driven just 10mins or so. Passengers at the back did say not to do the pit-stop and to continue on to the resorts so I'm not sure if the driver pretended not to hear it?

Room:
Check in process was smooth and quick at JRB - no problem. We opt for a oceanfront junior suite w/ the plunge pool and was totally worth it. These suites are located at the Turquoise Building. There's a small public pool between our building and the beach which usually crowded with kids. Most suites are able to see that pool from their room, but our's is at an angle that we don't see it at all but only the entrance to the beach which is great! Room is nice, very comfortable king bed, ac unit is somewhat on the loud side; somehow a puddle of water would be found under the bathroom sink after shower- not a big deal to us since could just wipe it down w/ towel.

At Jewel Paradise Cove, we had a junior suite w/ butler svc. No ocean view. Its at the ground floor of Block 7. The room not as spacious as JRB suite, but very modern. Very nice bathrm with jacuzzi tub. Hv 2 large TV in the rm. Hv a liquor dispensing cabinet well stocked with rum, vodka, whiskey and etc... that u could drink whenever u like it. Our butler - Alwin, is an enthusiatic young man who's very nice, friendly and helpful. Kept encouraging us to use his butler svc as much as possible. Butler even helped to arrange a romantic candlelight evening in our suite for me and my husband. Our room location is great that we could walk out to the Aquamarine bar/grill, the large swimming pool/whirlpool, very small beach/cove (no crowds/ very quiet) and the boardwalk within 1min walk from our balcony.
No mosquitoes issue in my room. Just make sure the doors are closed after entering/exiting the room from front door/balcony.

Food:
Restaurants in all the Jewel resorts are the same.
Coral Cafe in JRB seems to hv slightly more varieties (additional local fares) for breakfast, but in JPC still hv great selections. I like JPC has a smoothie station. The teppanyaki at Jade Samurai needs early reservation so make sure u book a spot upon arrival. Very entertaining but I prefer the one in JRB coz the restaurant is open-air so the noise of the chef clanking the metal spatulas is not as loud and annoying as in an enclosed space. The Golden Sabre sushi bar is inside the Jade Samurai restaurant. Doesn't need reservation, just walk in. But there's limited sittings. Only about 6-8 bar stools avail. Get there early at 6pm when it open is the best without waiting. We tried the pizza place at JPC around 1.30pm. Food come out fast and no long wait as I've read about the one in JRB. Did not try the pizza place in JRB. JPC has a theme night of 'Dining under stars' for dinner on every fri nite; its a 4course meals sitting with 6 other resort guests at the same table. Food comes out very slow and usually each couse has to wait about 30mins coz the chefs has to prep for 10-15 tables at the same time on the spot. Try the french toast fruit medley in Platinum restaurant for breakfast - very delicious. Generally the food are all good in Jewel resorts. I've no complains about the bar svc. JRB uses like a 4oz cup for drinks; JPC uses stemmed wine glass. I don't find the need to bring a tumbler -save my luggage space. Drinks delivery svc to the beach at the JRB seems non-existing; its more active in JPC. But I don't mind getting my own drink at the bar.

Activities:
Dunn river tour, x1scuba trip, snorkel are free in JPC but chargeable in JRB. Make sure book the activities at least 24hrs in advance. They fill up quick - especially while in JRB.
Beach is nicer and more, more spacious in JRB; clear water, white sand, no rocks/seaweed when in water, can set up a lounger at least 20ft from other ppl and hv your own private spot- especially at the corner end of the beach.JPC has a very small beach, loungers are side by side you could touch it. Finding a shady spot sometime depends on your luck too. Water in beach and pools seems warmer and stay warmer longer than JRB. Teens and Tweens Center has gaming consoles, computers, other games. Crowds in JRB seems to be more fun:eg we had a beach volleyball game that went on for about 2-3hrs with rotating 7-10 players on each side that wasn't prearranged by the resort. We just all jumped in and play! The volleyball game in JPC seems a little boring, maybe about 4-6 players on each side and finished within 30mins or so. JPC has x2 pool tables and x2 ping pong tables; compared to JRB only one each and always occupied by other guests. The water slide in JPC is fun and thrilling! Snorkelling is a must. Did not use the large pools at JRB coz it seems crowded, so I enjoyed the plunge pool at my suite. Pools at JPC is less crowded and water stays pretty warm even at night. Riding the Hobie cat sail was fun and thrilling as well.

Beach Towels:
Abundant at JPC. Runs out quick at JRB and may take time to wait for new ones.

Staffs:
Generally all are very friendly. The waitress -Latoya, at JRB Coral Cafe serves her customers always with a smile. The hostess at the JRB Platinum restaurant make sure we weren't neglected by the waitress and ensure we get our food on time. Collins at the JPC frontdesk is very friendly. Tks to my butlers - Ricardo and Alwin, making sure me and my husband has a pleasant stay at JPC. However, I did hv an unpleasant experience at the JPC Moonstone restaurant where I asked a waitress to help us take a photo, she said she has to serve the next table first and will come back to do it - she never did. Then I asked another waitress to help take a photo, and the excuse she gave is that:"I only serve drinks, I don't take photo." So I was like.... Is it really that hard to take a photo for someone???? It was really weird. So never I asked any of the staffs to take photos for me ever again. The resort has a professional photographer that walks around the property and request to take your picture randomly and then you could purchase at the Flash photo shop.

Bus came to to pick up around 7am. Arrives at airport around 8.20am. My flight was 11am. Luckily we got in line for US airway bag drop line slightly earlier coz then the queue got longer when I turned my head around 15mins later. Security line was short. I did not have the Mobay Club membership. Don't need it at all. There's duty free shops, dominos, Quiznios, Cinnabon, and many other restaurants in the airport.

Overall, Jewel Resort is great and value for money.
P/s: USD currency is recognised in Jamaica. Don't hv to bother changing to Jamaican Dollars. Bring lots of small bills if you want to tip.

Room Tip: Ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank yisymail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Althea G, Ambassador at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to share you rexperience with us and comapring both resorts. We are delighted that as a brand you enjoyed your time, and both properties are different and unique in there own way. I am also happy that the service and teh staff from both properties was the one thing that stood ouit from the mass, again thank you and hope to host you again soon.

Regards

Althea Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My husband and I visited Jewel Paradise Cove August 6-12, 2014. Below is our review of the resort. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and the overall service was excellent.

Airport transfers - The airport transfers were included with our resort package. After searching for several minutes inside the transportation area for the Jewel representative, a baggage attendant assisted us to where they were located, which was outside. This did not start off things very well. It would have been nice to know where to go. After the transportation representative searched a couple of buses that could accommodate us, we were finally on a bus and on our way.

Resort bellman - George is awesome! After the not-so-good experience at the airport, we were very happy to meet George. He immediately took care of us by getting our luggage, offering us a drink and working on getting us checked in. He always had a smile on his face and gave us the tour while taking our luggage to our room.

Resort bartenders and restaurant staff - I wish I had written down the names of everyone who went over and above but really, that was just about everyone. All the staff is very welcoming with a smile. They were attentive with our requests' it was always "no problem."

Housekeeping - Our room was cleaned each day but we had a couple of issues with getting clean towels in the room. You would think this was being done was the room was cleaned but am thinking this might be done by someone else.

Restaurants - We tried all of the restaurants except for the Italian one. All were very good. My favorite was the Jade Samari, which is hibachi cooking. It was a lot of food but all very good. The buffet had a good variety of choices. Every morning they have an omelet station, which we did every day. The lunch and dinner menus changed each day. The pizza place was good but was very slow. Platinum was also very tasty and the presentation of the food was done very well.

Boat rides and staff - We took advantage of all the boat excursions that were included with the resort. The glass bottom boat was a great view of what fish, coral and other items that are in close proximity to the resort. The sunset cruise was a lot of fun. That day was very cloudy so we weren't sure if we were even going to see anything. The resort staff that was on board thought the same thing so they entertained us with teaching us Jamaican dialogue and culture/traditions with the Jamaican people. The snorkeling trip took us to a reef that is 5-7 minutes from the resort. We were able to see many different fish and my husband even saw an eel.

Beach and water - The beach sand has a soft texture but there are a few rocks so you do have to be careful walking barefoot. The water has a lot of seaweed and that was a big turnoff for us. Our last trip to Jamaica, we went to Negril and I have heard from many that the best beach in Jamaica. Based on other reviews, we did buy water shoes but we really didn't use them in the water.

Dunn's River Falls - Wow! What an exhilarating adventure. I am so glad this was included with the stay and we took advantage of it.

Shopping and Margaritaville (Ocho Rios) - We also did this excursion but I wouldn't recommend it. The shopping is OK (all we bought was liquor and coffee, which we could have bought at the airport) and the Margaritaville is very run-down and small. It was three hours we could have been on the beach and/or pool. Lesson learned.

One other item that I'd like to add about the resort is the size. It is a fairly small property so you keep seeing the same people every day. That made it very easy to meet and talk with a variety of different people.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank florida_girl1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Althea G, Ambassador at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to share your review and delighted that you enjoyed our service, staff, amenities and much more that we had to offer, it was our esteem pleasure to have hosted and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Regards

Althea Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We've traveled to 3 other all-inclusive resorts, including 2 Sandals resorts, and we were expecting more. This trip was planned to celebrate our Anniversary. I will start with the transportation to the resort from the airport. It was good and got us there without problems. Once at the resort we were greeted and given a cool towel and you could fill a cup with the drink of the day. We filled out paperwork and were taken to our room. We stayed in room #312 first floor. The room was nice and had a view of one of the pools. The grounds are nice and well kept. We ate at all of the restaurants and our favorite was the Italian. The food at all restaurants were 3 stars at best and we were hoping for better. Service was slow but you must remember its Jamacian time. The nightly entertainment was good and different nightly. We generally do not venture off the resort and found plenty to do. We did do a couples massage and it was very good. For the most part, the employees were good. The biggest problems were with the room cleaning. We went two days and no one showed up to clean the room and replace the towels. I would call the front desk and they promised to send a crew to clean but no one ever showed. I had to go to the front desk and get my own towels. Also the do not disturb or any other signs were never on the door to deter the cleaning crew - they just never came. Also, my wife slipped on the tile floor in the room, it becomes very slippery after showering where a light wet film covered the bathroom floor and out into the room area and she ended up injuring her back. I notified the front desk just to let them know and they said they had to send a nurse to the room per policy. I did not ask for one. No one ever showed up. The next day was the date of our departure and I was finally able to track down a manager. I had requested a Manager to call me prior to our leaving and was promised one would call but no one did. The manager was not helpful and just wanted to tell me that he was getting ready to leave on vacation but would talk to me anyway. Well, thank you very much. The shuttle to the airport was fine. As a couple, we made the week fun but will not return. We love Jamica but this resort is definitely not a favorite.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kaikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Althea G, Ambassador at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to share, and want to apologise for the incident that happen with your spouse,. I must say that this type of service and follow up is not our standard and will definitely use as a training tool to remind our associates of follow up and service. Again our apologies, and hope that your spouse is doing much better.

Regards

Althea Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
2.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
54.8 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
41.5 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
10.4 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
67.4 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#26 of 80 in Negril
5,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton

Address: Paradise Cove Drive, Runaway Bay, Jamaica (Formerly Jewel Paradise Cove Beach Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Green Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range: £207 - £452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection By Hilton Jamaica, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing