We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive Value for the Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I was extremely impressed with the hotel and the professionalism of the staff. The staff helped to make it hassle free. Activities included in the price of the hotel is unbeatable. This is a great safe, unintimidating environment for single travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lwilsona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Althea G, Ambassador at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you and it was our pleasure.

Regards

Althea Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,505 - 2,511 of 3,109 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

I read some of the other reviews and was very surprised that people weren't pleased with this resort. If you are looking for a huge beach with waves, this is not the place for you. However, if you like a calm beach with no waves like we do, then this resort is perfect. It has one small beach and one larger beach on a cove. The people were wonderful, and the food was excellent. The entertainment was also very good. We also paid $100 for a private lobster dinner which was well worth it. One review I read suggested bringing $100 in one dollar bills for tips, which we did and I highly recommend. You will get the same service (excellent) whether you tip or not, but the people are wonderful and deserve the tips, and they are very appreciative.

Also, the shuttle from the airport is included, which is nice because it's about an hour away. It's a long ride, but it's beautiful. This was very organized and I was pleased with the service. They also have a tour company on site to book excursions which is super convenient. We toured the appleton rum factory and I highly recommend that tour. The buses are nice and air conditioned (tours and airport shuttle bus).

This resort also has a lot of excursions included. They have daily snorkeling trips, a shopping trip, a trip to Dunn's river falls, and a sunset cruise, just to name a few. We didn't do it, but I was also told they teach you to scuba dive and take you out diving for free. I wish we had done that, and definitely plan on that next time.

Overall, we loved the resort and definitely want to go back. My only complaint is that we couldn't stay longer than 7 nights!

Room Tip: Ocean view room was very nice and had a beautiful view. Definitely worth a little extra for the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Althea G, Ambassador at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Christina

Thanks and delighted that you enjoyed all that we had to offer and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Regards

Althea Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The name Paradise Cove is truly fitting for this resort. Very well maintained and staffed. The food was excellent and the service was great. Everything was as promised. I especially liked the fact that there was only one restaurant that required reservations. A special thanks to the water sports team for being so accommodating. Can't say enough great things about this place. I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room near the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Gevett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Althea G, Ambassador at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you and it was our esteem pleasure and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Regards

Althea Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We spent 6 days here Aug. 2014 on our honeymoon and really enjoyed ourselves. The resort was just what I expected from reading lots of reviews on tripadvisor.

Service- I've been to about 15 different all inclusives in Mexico, Dominican and now Jamaica and these employees were by far the friendliest! Very nice and helpful which made a difference since the resort doesn't have all the bells and whistles.

Food - very good for the most part. We don't usually care for breakfast food however the buffet actually had a nice selection and it changed daily. LOVED the escoveitch fish they had a couple times. Only problem was super slow service at platinum for breakfast so don't waste your time because it's the same food as the buffet. Lunch was real good everywhere and definitely great jerk chicken at the grill which is open 11am to 7am. We had chicken and fries everyday and it was by far better than our other resort we stayed at. Only one fancy restaurant for dinner., but it was nice. Hibachi was lots of fun and loved the salmon and shrimp.

Rooms - ours was a pool view deluxe and it was fine. Definitely not big or super fancy but ok. The buildings are all only 3 levels and we had a top room with vaulted ceiling making it seem bigger. Is ask for a top floor unless you don't like steps because there's no elevators anywhere. Rooms could have been a little fancier but no problems. I think most have balconies which is nice.

Maid Service - I usually never comment on this because it's not that important to me however this time it really irritated us and we had to call to complain a few times. We would be gone for hours and hours then go back to the room to relax it cleanup and they'd show. Problem with enough towels for the rooms as well.

Checkin and checkout were both very easy and quick! The resort is smaller and the staffs good about remembering who you are. Luckily it's spread out somewhat making it appear bigger. Nightime entertainment was good however doesn't start until later. Take advantage of all the free activities like glass bottom boat ride, sunset cruise, hobie rides, trip to the falls, diving and snorkeling, etc.

If you buy photos from the resort photographer be sure to negotiate the price down because they will go cheaper than advertised prices.

We stayed at Jewel Dunns River Falls for the last half of our honeymoon and preferred the Paradise Cove even though the other resort checked off more boxes on our list. In the end the staff and the more upscale intimate feeling was what we liked.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Banny9949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Althea G, Ambassador at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for the detailed review and it was ouir pleasure to have hosted and delighted that both properties was to your liking. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Regards

Althea Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I recently stayed at the Jewel Paradise Cove Resort in Runaway Bay, Jamaica (July 21-27, 2014). Though the resort is probably the best in the area where it is located; it has potential and should capitalize on it if it is to compete with resorts of similar quality in other Caribbean destinations. For instance, the resort definitely needs to improve on the quality of its food. The best food at the resort can be found at the reservation-only Jade Samurai. I did not eat once any lobster or crab anywhere in the resort. You certainly find these delicacies in other comparable resorts throughout the Caribbean (ex. Mexico, and the Dominican Republic); and even on cruise ships. The resort could also improve on its nightly entertainment, which is quite weak by standards of comparable resorts- even in Jamaica (ex. at the Riu chain of hotels). Lastly, the resort should get rid of Marley over at the beach concession. He seems to be an angry individual, who also gets sexually-frisky with one of the female beach vendors. Now, accolades to plenty in your wonderful staff such as Collin in the front desk; Haynes the bellhop; Ryan at the disco; Tavin behind the bar; Randy the chef at the Jade Samurai; Stephanie, Carlos, and most of the waitress and waiters all over the resort; and my personal favorite- Markland, a true gem of a host, and all around human-being (he happens to be one of the restaurant managers). Honestly, the staff there was by-and-large superb, and they really try to go out of the way. Though I expect to return one day soon, I certainly hope the resort provides better quality food; and entertainment (and rid themselves of Marley, the only "bad apple" of the entire bunch). This would then put this resort up there with some of the very best all over the Caribbean. All-in-all I must admit that me and my wife had a great, relaxing vacation; and we did meet some great people there- both guests and staff members. Yeah Mon:-)

P.S. The resort is way prettier than any picture can depict!!! Enjoy it.

Room Tip: The rooms are all quite nice, and the service is top-notch (those maids are fabulous)! If you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank CarlP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Althea G, Ambasador at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you and appreciate you taking the time to inform us, and will use your review in a positive manner to enhance our product. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Regards

Althea Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Congrats to the entire Jewel Paradise Cove Resort team. We visited for our anniversary celebrations August 15-18. Service was awesome. We received our anniversary welcome. The food was good, the facilities were good. The rooms are clean and every single staff member made sure that we were comfortable, well nourished and happy. Kudos to the entire team. You did great.

Lisa-Kaye & Ian

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank lisakayebryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Althea G, Ambassador at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Lisa-Kaye and Ian

Thank you and it was our pleasure, we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Regards

Althea Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This all-inclusive represents an outstanding travel value for quality of the rooms, service, location, and excellent service. Having stayed at the "original" Jewel Dunn's River Falls in 2011 & 2012 (also a great experience), we booked the newly acquired Jewel Paradise Cove based on availability for 31 July - 6 August & reviews by TripAdvisor travelers. The property location had stunning views of the Caribbean and was immaculate. Snorkeling, glass bottom boat rides, diving, nearby excursions, & nighttime dinner events were all included or available. Newly remodeled rooms included king beds, flat screens, super cold air conditioning & contemporary bathrooms with walk in showers. Although not an ocean view, the "pool view" was just fine as we spent all day at the beach or with the water sports. A nice option was the smoothie bar on the beach plus great beach or pool service. There were multiple food venues allowing healthy options including a buffet style with table service (& chef stations) for breakfast/lunch/dinner, formal sit-down dining, Japanese style (reservations required), stone oven pizza place, Italian themed ocean side venue, & an all night grill for burgers, wraps, or jerk chicken with amazing views by the "quiet beach". Food was 4 - 4.5 stars & included Jamaican favorites. Platinum offered a superb resort formal experience with a contemporary feel including experienced wait staff, multiple entrees prepared in an open kitchen, and a wine list for additional cost above what was included (dined here twice - casual slacks for guys & resort wear for ladies). There were some nightly entertainment opportunities, a manager's reception with large poolside banquet featuring "Jamaican Night", & a "beach party" with fantastic food venues seated at tables followed by the live "goat races" after dark. Several spots offer incredible views of the evening sunsets including the 2nd story open bar area above Moonstone (Italian) & Jester's Pizza Kitchen. Although a slightly smaller property, there was lush landscaping, little seating areas, hammocks, coffee bar, & boardwalk for day or night strolls. The water sports staff was fantastic with the guest's safety and enjoyment always a top priority. For us, the snorkeling trips (included twice daily & a minimal charge for a "private" trip with smaller group) were super. There was a modern and more sophisticated vibe to this Jewel with every single staff member encountered wanting to make the stay memorable. The bars offered plenty of options albeit not always every super premium known to man, but we were very pleased & most had espresso machines. Internet access, billiard tables, & ping pong were located next to the gift shop. Additionally, there is a full service spa & exercise equipment. Check-in procedures with the transport at the airport have been streamlined and the hour ride to the resort offers a great glimpse of the countryside. The executive management staff was out on the property day & evening making sure to meet and mingle with guests. We found a nice mix of guest age groups from 20's & 30's to 40's & 50's - everyone encountered was cordial, friendly, & there to have a great experience. This trip represents our 4th to Jamaica and 3rd to this area of the country. We would highly recommend this all-inclusive resort & plan to return. For us, the Jewel resorts have proven their commitment to excellence and a memorable vacation experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TracyDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Althea G, Ambassador at Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Guest

It was our esteem pleasure to have hosted and delighted that the Jewel resorts have proven their commitment to excellence and a memorable vacation experience, and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Regards

Althea Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
32.6 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
10.4 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa, Ocho Rios,Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
2.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
15.7 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton

Address: Paradise Cove Drive, Runaway Bay, Jamaica (Formerly Jewel Paradise Cove Beach Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Green Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range: £202 - £432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection By Hilton Jamaica, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing