We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit OR Miss....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Piper's Cove Resort
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Hit OR Miss....”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

(Stayed for 1 week in March 2012 for my wedding)

I think this hotel is very hit/miss. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and spacious, great bed and living area and awesome view! I believe it was A1 or A2..something along those lines. However, my parents stayed in a room closer to the front C3 I believe, and the wicker furniture was horrible and very uncomfortable. The kitchens in BOTH rooms lacked the proper kitchen supplies to cook a meal, so we were left with no choice but to buy most of our meals in local resturants.

The pool and swimming area was ok, the grounds were BEAUTIFULLY kept which was awesome for photos! It was a little bit of a walk to the local street, and the dining was limited one you did reach.

I was VERY upset about my wedding day. During the dinner, there was another wedding happening below ours, so they completely shut off our music and we were forced to listen to the other wedding give speeches through my entire dinner...and we were allowed to only play 1 song for our dance? For this reason alone...I would never return and it made my stay horrible because we paid good money to have the wedding there and were obviously not priority to the staff at Pipers Cove.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    37
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
59
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I have to agree with Ms. Jitterbug. We did not even stay one night after arriving there. Very outdated and badly in need of interior renovation (broken window handles, dilapidated kitchen sink, peeling paint). They put beds in the living room and beside the kitchen for our daughters to sleep on. One bed just kept sinking lower and lower the longer you sat on it. I also found that the pictures on the internet are old. I also hate to write a bad review as when Latoya heard we wanted to leave she was so gracious about the whole thing. Even offering to phone ahead to a place we were planning to drive to. Then she asked us to please call her to let her know that we arrived safely at our destination! My husband still talks about this. I am glad that so many other people seem to be happy with what Piper's Cove has to offer and are not as picky. I cannot comment on the food or the pool and beach as I never made it that far.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly6147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eatontown, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This review is really hard to write because Daisy is a sweet older woman and her groundskeeper Ferris is a gentle soul of a man, but this property had nothing to offer us. The room was old, out dated and slightly "skeevy" (and mosquito infested). The pool is okay, clean and plenty of sun and beach chairs but the "beach" is 12 feet of pebbly sand leading to a small, rocky inlet just outside of a 8 foot high barbed wire fence. To make things worse, the Decameron, an all inclusive resort, is just across the way so if you do decide to lay at the pool or on the beach you are taunted by your proximity to an actual resort. The only beach that is within walking distance is okay but some of the locals were a little too intimidating for our liking (a local kid came and sat right next to me while eating at Flavours and stared at me and insisted I give him food and would not leave, a little nerve-wracking to say the least). The restaurant there, Flavours, has decent food but be prepared for loud speakers with blaring music. Ocho Rios is a long (30 minutes) cab ride away so unless you've rented a car or want to hire a driver to take you around all day, you're kinda stranded here. Cabs go for $50-100 US depending on a drop off or spending the day with your driver. We did really enjoy Mahogany Beach on our last day.

Again, Daisy is sweet so it's hard to say this but that's what this website is for so we're just being honest and hoping to save future travelers from the disappointment we experienced upon check-in. I reviewed Piper's Cove again on here today and found that a lot of these pictures are out dated even before the barbed wire fence went up around the pool. I have attached some of our photo's for you to look at. Do yourself a favor and find someplace else to stay.

Room Tip: This is NOT a resort hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MsJitterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

No entertainment, not all inclusive, not the Hilton but the best hospitality in Jamaica! Miss daisy and the entire staff make ones vacation the best.

The apartments are clean, spacious, and well appointed kitchenettes to prepare light fare. The cook makes amazing meals at a reasonable cost. The grounds are beautiful a small beach area, and a pool and lots of loungers to chill and catch some sun.

Close to lots of scenic places to see and those outta the way spots to mingle with locals. The pub on the main road has kereoke Monday nights. Very entertaining and fun no matter where you are.

All in all if one wishes peace and tranquility with no frills, but the best accommodating staff this is the place to be...Cant wait to return for new years!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlesweetdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingston,jamaica
1 review
Reviewed 29 February 2012

my husband came from england for two weeks so we decide we wanted to get away from the kids and everybody so we choose pipers cove and trust me it was worth it miss chin and her staff are so nice they let you feel like family its like you never leave home the only thing missing is some entertainment but apart from that my husband and i had a great weekend indeed and will be so happy to go back again it's a weekend i'll never forget NUFF LOVE TO THE OWNER AND STAFF OF PIPERS COVE IT'S A WEEKEND WELL SPENT

Room Tip: top floor is the best great view but watch out for ratbats
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Piper's Cove is just what the doctor ordered. I stayed there for 5 nights and i wish i could have stayed there another 5. Mrs. Chin ( the owner) is the greatest. Every time you see her she would greet you with a smile and knew your name. If you ever stayed at a big resort you know that there is always all kind of problem. At Piper's Cove you didnt have to worry about none of that. Mrs. Chin and her sisters and her staff will go the extra mile. But i really want to thank Mrs. Chin and the cook for making my cousins romantic dinner the most enjoyable night to remember. It was well worth the money. Plenty of room. I'm so happy that I found this place. And you best believe that i will be back. Sooner then later.

Room Tip: Second floor has the better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RossBoss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Piper's Cove is a home away from home. Everyone goes out of their way to make you feel welcome. We went back to Piper's Cove for the second time in November. It was great. The rooms were well looked after, the service was outstanding. Certainly not an all inclusive but much better in many ways because Ms Chin and her staff go out of their way to make your stay so much more enjoyable. If you needed anything all you had to do was ask, the staff went our of their way to ensure your stay was one you wouldn't forget.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Runaway Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
Cardiff Hotel & Spa
Cardiff Hotel & Spa
#9 of 14 in Runaway Bay
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.9 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
2.2 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
0.9 mi away
Franklyn D Resort & Spa
Franklyn D Resort & Spa
#4 of 14 in Runaway Bay
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piper's Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piper's Cove Resort

Property: Piper's Cove Resort
Address: | St. Ann, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Runaway Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Piper's Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Piper's Cove is a tranquil ocean view resort located in a Cove along the magnificent Runaway Bay north coast in Jamaica. Warm, sunny tropical days with brilliant sunsets are the norm, with cool evenings and star filled nights. This unique property is family owned. It provides the perfect destination for your vacation. The hotel offers 14 spacious one bedroom Apartments with ocean or garden view, and 6 Studio Rooms with a view of the mountain. All are equipped for self-catering (kitchenette with refrigerator, stove and cooking utensils),air conditioning, ceiling fan, cable TV, intercom telephone and a patio. Free WiFi is available on property and in all guest rooms. A Restaurant (meals are prepared to order), Bar, Small Private Beach for relaxation & leisure, Swimming Pool are on property. Delicious, fresh and healthy Caribbean cuisine is the specialty of our culinary staff, featuring lots of seafood and delectable native fruits. If you have some particular preferences or dietary requirements, don't hesitate to ask. Our friendly staff always aim to please. Be sure to sample our special tropical drinks and Jamaica's world renowned rum. We take great pleasure in hosting your special occasions including Weddings, Receptions, Family Reunions, Luncheons & Parties. Piper's Cove is 60 minutes from the Montego Bay Airport, 25 minutes from Ocho Rios and Dunn's River Falls and close to many other attractions and entertainment for which we offer tours. Airport transfer can be arranged.At Piper's Cove Resort our guests set the pace for their vacation. Just let us know your speed... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Piper's Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piper`s Cove Hotel Runaway Bay
Piper's Cove Resort Jamaica/Runaway Bay, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing