We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Privilege Club”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Reviewed 24 November 2013

As members of the Bahia Privilege Club, we expected that we would have a special check-in area. We were led to a Privilege Club Lounge where we were checked in with a brief (but inadequate) explanation of the resort. We then had to take our own bags to the room, led by a Privilege club host, with an elevator that would not work. After unpacking, we tried to lock our passports and money in the safe but could not get it to lock. There were no instructions. After several calls and being given written instructions (albeit the wrong ones) a host came to the room to instruct us on it's operation. Dinner the first night was in the main buffet and was comparable to others that we have experienced at Bahia Resorts. As members of the club, we had a la carte restaurants the remaining nights. A major problem that we encountered at the Italian restaurant was that we waited over an hour to get our main course for dinner. There was a wedding reception in the dining room that night and everything got backed up. We have experienced this at other restaurants in the Bahia system. The restaurant managers need to increase staff when there is a major function such as a wedding reception. On a positive note, when we mentioned this to the Matri Di in the Don Pablo restaurant, and that we had another night reserved in the Italian restaurant (that we intended to cancel) he made reservations for us in his dining room for that night. His staff was EXCELLENT on both occasions.

The resort on the whole was very good although we noticed a big difference in the attitude of most staff compared to what we have seen in our 4 previous trips to the Bahia in Mexico. In Mexico, everyone smiles and greets you. Here hardly anyone smiles or greets you.
I did not bring my snorkel equipment on this trip because in the past I have been able to get some at the resort for free use. Here (even being a Privilege Club Member) they wanted a $50 cash deposit and would only give them out twice a day at 9:30 and 1:30. Next time I'll bring my won gear! The snack bar at the resort is located on one end of the beach and could probably stand to be enlarged (especially the rest rooms, only one person at a time could used them and when you have so many people coming to eat at the same time,they get very busy). They wait staff in the snack her was outstanding and very friendly compared to those in the buffet.

Our initial reaction was that we would not return, but as we got used to the place, we decided that is was a possibility again in a few years. Mexico is still our favorite!

Room Tip: Sta in an upper level room, maybe the mosquitos will be less!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oldiceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrivilegeClub, Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Oldiceman,

On behalf of Bahia Principe Privilege Club we want to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, this being your first visit to Jamaica as a Privilege Club member.

We extend apologies for the initial inconveniences you endured upon arrival and with the safe. We will be sure to share this valuable feedback with the Concierge Director for internal review with the team.

On the other hand we are happy to learn of your satisfaction with the Don Pablo restaurant and its staff. We will be sure to share your observations on the Dolce Vita and the snack bar with the Food & Beverage Management.

Once more, thank you for your observations and constructive feedback. We are delighted to learn of your change in opinion and that we will have the honor of welcoming you back once more. We hope your membership benefits continues to provide you with memorable vacations.

Best regards,

Stephany Tavarez
Customer Service
Bahia Principe Privilege Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11,597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,073 - 6,079 of 11,597 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

We booked a 7 day all inclusive vacation at Gran Bahia Principe, Runaway Bay through itravel2000 just 3 days before departure, and got a fabulous deal.

Resort Pros:
Excellent beach (calm blue water, and you can walk out into chest deep water for a fair bit)
Jerk chicken at the Snack at the beach was yum
Best drinks at the Lobby bar (especially the ones made by Antonio every evening)
Nice compact resort - everything is within walking distance (pool, beach, buffet) especially compared to GBP in Mexico.
Decent gym and pool

Resort Cons:
Food is average at the buffet. The best a la carte restaurants were the entrees at Picasso and appetizers at Dolce Vita.
Internet is only available in the lobby. The lobby is on the 3rd floor, so if your room is located close to the beach its quite a trek up to the lobby! Internet is available in the room at a cost of $15 for a 24 hour period

Other tips:
The lobby and terrace bars make a wicked cocktail called 'Dirty Banana' ...its got bananas blended with coffee liquer and tastes amazing! (not as sweet and sugary as the other conventional cocktails!).
Jamaican Patties available for sale ($2.50 per) in the convenience store at Pueblo Principe (the square with the nightly events)
We did not take any tours but hired a cab driver recommended by other tourists (his name is Clift) - very trust worthy and quite reasonably priced ($60 for a 3 hour round trip to see the local shopping, sights at Ocho Rios etc.). If interested, contact me and I can give provide contact info.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the beach and on the ground floor. This will get you a great room close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonpais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. From your detailed review we realized that you have enjoyed all the simple pleasures of our Hotel so we feel very proud when our main objective is fulfilled with our guests. It is also good to learn that our excellent beach, our jerk chicken center, the Picasso and Dolce Vita a la carte restaurants, and our delicious “Dirty Banana” Cocktail by the lobby bar were of your preference.

It was a tremendous honor to host you, and we hope to see you soon in our Grand Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive Hotel for your holidays in Jamaica.

Warm regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This resort is pretty good and this was our 3th time staying there.The workers are friendly & welcoming. Entertainment is awesome.
Cleanliness halls and lobbys beatiful view and nice service,Clean rooms and great views .
The food overall is lovely,
I enjoyed my stay and can't wait to go back again .

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilson e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Wilson,

Receive Cordial greetings from our Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica.

We are overly proud to know that you had a good vacation in our Hotel. We work with the commitment to become truth our guest’s dreams during their vacation so it is good to know that you have enjoyed your third time with us, and that we are still up to par of your expectations.

Thank you for your honest review. We will be more than happy to welcome for your fourth trip to our Resort always your home in Jamaica.

Kind regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This resort is pretty good and this was our 4th time staying there.

There were a few things that were not great but over all it was good.

We stayed for ten days from Nov. 8th until Nov. 18th. Our check in was very dissappointing on the Friday evening. There was no staff on the front desk and the girl that helped us just stood and yelled at the group of us and when the phone rang she stopped and answered it! Then she continued her group holler at us. There was no welcome drink even provided,

The food is always good here and there should always be something you like. We love the jerk chicken at lunch time. The main buffet was great for breakfast and only one server was rude. We asked for juice at breakfast and she told us to get it our selves. That has NEVER ever happened to us at any resort. We avoided her section after that but did take note that no one in her section had a glass of juice. I guess she is not interested in a tip. I cannot recall her name but she was pretty busy socializing with other staff.

Another big negative was at the buffet at night with one of the hostesses. Again she was not very pleasant - wore some very inappropriate vests with pretty much every thing hanging out but what was worse than her abrupt attitude was that she was picking her teeth with a tooth pick and madly chewing her gum while she was telling people to sit out side it was too busy inside. ( I am not a prude but she was dressed not in a good way).

We found the buffett overly busy at night because it looks like the ala cartes do not open every night. This is really too much - I get it that you want to save money but really cannot you not open them daily so people can go to them?

Our room was fine and cleaned daily. We never had face cloths the entire 10 days and most days we only received a couple of bath towels - no hand towels. Maybe you need to buy some more!

We had great service in the out door lounge area. Some of these great staff recognized us form our trips there before. Sherine and Brigitte - you girls rock and we miss you already!

We asked for late check out and we did receive it at an extra cost of $40.00 for 4 hours. That was great and the supervisor on the desk was great.

We were a bit dissapointed in the fact that we have been to this resort 4 times and have stayed at this chain in Mexico twice and the Dominican once that we did not get any kind of an upgrade for being a good client. You should reward return guests as I am sure you have a record of our stays with you.

Overall it was pretty decent but we really did expect a bit more.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wallah_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We felt privileged to be able to host you during your fourth trip to Jamaica. It is indeed a pleasure to learn that in despite of some issues that you experienced during your stay you had overall a good vacation with us.

We are also taking note of your observations. Please rest assured that all your comments are being taking serious in order to avoid the reoccurrence of such situations.

It was a pleasure to meet you and we are looking forward to host you again in your next trip in our Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica a wonderful experience in the Caribbean.

Yours faithfully,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

First off ,I'm not unhappy with life ,,, Shees I read a lot of reviews from trip adviser and went with a open mind. We upgraded to the ocean view and we were out on the main floor of A section. The trees were in front so no view at all so except of a busy walkway so no taking off your clothes in the room with the shades open. Two days later got a room on the 2nd floor after fighting with the electronic key for an hour to get in. Still no view just trees in front. If you want a ocean view you HAVE to be a club gold member. to get any view at all. Woke up in the AM and wanted a coffee. The don't serve coffee anywhere but in the buffet until 10AM. so we bought a bottle of rum cream and made out own. The coffee is like not what you would expect from a tropical country. Then you go for breakfast. You will be accosted from girls dressed in brown skirts on every busy walkway trying to sign you up for a Executive club. I was at the hotel for 2 weeks and was asked at leased 6 to 10 times a day. Back to breakfast. I cant tell you how many times I went to get just some scrambled eggs and some toast and saw the eggs so runny and cold , you couldn't eat them. You would think the hotel would get the idea by how long the omelet lineup was. Mashed potatoes for breakfast? They have a hard time keeping tables clean so hunting down a table with clean cloth and cutlery is almost imposable. A La Cart. We did The Grill and were told they have no bread or Red wine. This is a steak place. Then as we were eating our Min. steak we heard some commotion by the Buffet. Ya no full service by the way. I was curious so I asked the young girls what happened and they said a cook came out of the kitchen and tried to pick them up. The Don Pablo was the best A La Cart buy it was a hit and miss from what other travellers were saying. The beaches were on the most part great. Gerrick the bartender on the beach ( Five star) really tried to make your holiday great . Antonio in the main bar was also wonderful. The hotel is isolated so if you are looking to go for a walk and explore outside the gates of the hotel. That won't happen. You can take a bus to Ocho Rio for 15 bucks but you are better to stay were they tell you to stay or you will be dragged into every store and get freaked out. Very Very aggressive . Took the Bob Marley tour. Really cool. Appleton's tour good but a long day. ( 12 hours) with the Black river tour. Cool Running Dunn River tour lots of fun. The rooms are a good size but a but beat up. Everything seems to be a hustle but if you don't mind that then cool. The pool on the main standup bar was noticeably cloudy as the other pools seemed clear. Not all one big pool as the pictures appear. By the way I tried to upgrade the rooms and were told they were booked solid. Did see a few rooms that the floor was flooded but that can happen everywhere. Do lots of research before booking like location. Tip If you tip, your service will be better but even so they chuck your drink together with very little care. Stuff the spout of the draft into everything from a water bottle to a mug you carry so it is very cross contaminated. Hopeful the booze kills the germs. I have travelled a lot and honestly. I thought the Cuban hotel we stayed at was a lot better for service and believe it or not , food

Room Tip: GOLD CLUB or you won't see the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bigredshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We always strive to offer an amazing holiday experiences to all our guests during their stay with us; that’s why, it is with regret that we read that you were disappointed in some areas of our services. Please, accept our sincerest apologies for any discomfort.

Allow us to take the opportunity to clarify our guests that all our rooms are provide with a coffee maker, sugar, te, coffee, cream and everything necessary to prepare some coffee any time, we also count with a coffee station at our buffet available during all the services ( breakfast, lunch and dinner ). Please kindly note that at our lobby terrace we have another 2 more. We would like to point out that in our Hotel we always try to offer a variety of products for all tastes, taking into consideration the diversity of guests who visit our hotel, besides we also have two omelets stations in which our clients can lineup.

We would like to thank you for your review; your observation will help us to improve the service we strive for providing a better service to all or guests.

We hope to be afforded with the opportunity to host you again to recover the trust in us in your next trip to our Hotel.

Yours respectfully,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

You won't lose at all if you choose to go to Grand Bahia Principe! The pool is like you r in paradise, the jerk chicken OH MY is DELICIOUS! The food overall is lovely, room service is good. The workers are friendly & welcoming. Entertainment is awesome. I enjoyed my stay and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I had a few family members there as well in different rooms and we were all satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nerissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Nerissa,

We really love when our guests come and stay with us at our Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, to make them happy is what please us most. Every day we strive to make their vacation much more perfect. After all it is what we are trained to do, and it is what we do naturally. That’s why we are delighted when we know that we were able to surpass our guest expectation.

We would like to say thank you for your honest opinion and for vacationing with us, we hope to see you soon in our Grand Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Jamaica.

Warm regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Have just got back from 2 weeks at the Grand Bahia and thought I would write a short review.

Check in was quick and easy although there was no one to show us to our room, so we found it ourselves ( no problem ). Room was on the 3rd floor block 18 overlooking the main beach area, very nice view. The room was clean with a large four poster bed. We did not have any problems with getting clean towels when we wanted them ( I think wash cloths are an American thing, have never had them in any of the other Hotels that we have stayed in ! ).

Food was on a par with other AI Hotels there is always a good selection so it is not a problem to find something to eat. Not sure what people are looking for when they say that there is not much choice at Breakfast, no idea what they eat when they are at home there was just about anything you could want and a lot more selection than I have at home.

Hotel was large but well laid out. Grounds were immaculate with the Gardeners always keeping them clean and tidy. The lobby areas are very spacious with a good view overlooking the Pool and Ocean from the terrace.

We did not use the pool as we are Beach people, and most days used the Nudist beach which is a bit of a walk but worth it. It was like having your own private beach on some days ( glad you Americans and Canadians don't like taking your clothes off Ha ha ).

Only did 1 trip which was the Dunns River Falls well worth the money. There is a guy that follows you on the walk up the falls that videos you and them you can buy the video for $40, just got back home and watched it, better than I expected.

Overall the Holiday was excellent. There was nothing to complain about that would be worth writing about. Just go and enjoy it.

Could write a lot more about the place but as I said at the beginning ( a short review )

Would I go again, no, the same as what other people have said, there are so many other places to see and experience, but I would certainly recommend this Hotel to others.

If anyone has any questions I would be more than happy to answer them if I can.

Room Tip: Block 18 and as high as possible. You will be more than happy with the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bus-pass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarvelisS, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your warm review. Your honest opinion is very valuable to us and to other guests who are thinking of staying in our Hotel. It is wonderful to know that you have considered your vacation as excellent and you have enjoyed the location, our immaculate ground, our gastronomy and the overlooking view from the swimming pool and terrace.

We greatly appreciate your decision to recommend us to other possible guests and we look forward to welcoming you again to our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, an authentic Caribbean experience in Jamaica.

Warm regards,

Marvelis Symister
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
0.1 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
1.4 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
12.3 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#8 of 35 in Ocho Rios
8,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
2.3 mi away
Jewel Paradise Cove Resort & Spa Runaway Bay, Curio Collection by Hilton
52.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Address: | Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range: £137 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 850
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 lake-style connecting pools with 2 areas for children 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace with gardens, sun umbrellas and loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 2 tennis courts, volleyball court, football pitch Water activity centre Pool and beach towel service WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Wedding gazebo 2 buffet-style main restaurants and 5 speciality restaurants 4 Bars Snack bar Entertainment amphitheatre Meeting and convention room The 18 hole Breezes Runaway golf course is just 5 minutes from the hotel. Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, sports bar and disco Rooms 848 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Sea View Junior Suite, Club Golden and Club Hacienda Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Pillowtop mattresses Fully-equipped bathroom with separate shower and hydromassage bath tub, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Air conditioning Ventilador de techo Sitting area with sofa Balcony or terrace Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children (aged 4 to 12) will have the time of their lives with these facilities: Children's pool Special shows and activities Entertainment team Mini Club (4 - 12 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Nudist area on the beach Bahia 'au Naturel' (over 18s only) The hotel has a nudist bathing area apart from the other areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Jamaica
Gran Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Hotel
Grand Bahia Jamaica
Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Runaway Bay, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing