We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two excellent weeks in Golden Club at GBP Jamaica.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Hamble, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Two excellent weeks in Golden Club at GBP Jamaica.”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We were on 6th floor near the Don Pablo Adults area in May 2013, with a side sea view. Block 24 was nice and quiet and no noise at all as furthest from the main pools, bars and entertainment. Rooms excellent, lovely maids: Donnelle (day) and Nichesha (night). Lovely towel art with flowers and poems left for us. Minibar (Water, Carib, branded Soft Drinks and Crisps) and filter coffee maker was a godsend. Golden Club Lounge was small but brilliant as they reserve all your a la cartes (4 per week of the 6 available) for you, have a small premium drinks bar, sofas and four complimentary computers to use and daily newspapers; this was a nice cool air-con escape from the heat of the sun after lunch. Watersports guys so laid back it was unreal, but friendly, helpful and offered Hobbie Cats, Kayaks, Pedlos, Paddle boards, Snorkelling and Jet-Skis (extra). Best restaurant: Don Pablo and Mikado. Best Bar: Beach Bar nearest the Jerk Hut - with the happiest, friendliest bar girls we have ever met. Best Lunch: JERK SHACK! Best breakfast: complimentary Room Service or the Palmyra small buffet. Best Pool (of the many available): Nearest the Don Pablo section with a in-Pool Bar. Best private Beach (5 available): By the beach bar near the Nude section. Best Snorkelling area: The beach to the right of the wedding gazebo. We loved the varied live evening light entertainment at the pool bar or outside the lobby terrace bar. Pueblo Principe is worth a visit for browsing shops and evening mass scale entertainment and include Jamaican Steel Band and the Michael Jackson Tribute are the best. They also offer sports bar, karaoke bar, a 'burger king', disco and theatre bar: We tended to leave just before the shows ended as it becomes a full-on party! No matter what you want out of a holiday this place is so large and so varied there is a special place for you to hide or dine and make it your own... Would we go back, yes, we did in April 2014 and upgraded to Don Pablo Section :)

Room Tip: Opt for Golden Club upgrade before you go, the benefits are too numerous to mention for so little ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay especially some of our facilities at our entertainment program at evening time in our Caribbean Town, our jerk center, daily activities entertainment program around the pool deck, etc..
Thank you so much for vacationing with us and we hope to host again you in the near future.


Yours sincerely,

Helena Gomez
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,073
    3,504
    1,809
    852
    660
See reviews for
3,462
4,455
161
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,108)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ST-JEAN SUR RICHELIEU,QC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Nice and very large room with balcony, very good service with staff very polite and smilling.
Good food and diversify. Immense pool and large beach with calm water and soft sand. Go and reserved your chair around the pool before 7 in the morning if you want shade. Booking restaurant à la carte is difficult two of our reservation where at 9 PM , a bite late for dinner.
The main buffet restaurant has a different teame evrey night with variety ,
Over all a very good place for vacations

Room Tip: quiet and pool view or ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLAUDE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your positive remarks and we hope to see you soon.

Yours respectfully,

Helena Gomez
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runaway Bay
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Trip was wonderful, hotel was great. A small mix up with our room the first night but it was rectified the next day. Good location, beach was awesome, evening entertainment was fun. The jerk chicken was amazing and the man cooking it does an amazing job !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear guest,

We are glad to know that you had a great time with us. Our apologies for the misunderstanding regarding your room and we hope that beside this event , you could give us the pleasure of hosting you again.

Yours sincerely,

Helena Gomez
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redcliff,alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Wow is what i said when we drove up to the front of resort!!!! People at desk were great,rooms were clean and food was great lots to pick from.Resort and beach were spotless!!!! Dj's and night shows were great.One of the ladies showed us how to one drop but i sure cant do it they do it awesome!!! I would like to say thanks to a security guard whos name i remember was Dwayne Burton who made me feel safe in a place that i had no clue about especially walking around by myself! He asked how i was doing and i asked him many questions about the resort and Jamaica which he answered very nicely! He also asked me if i was ok and if i could make it back to my room fine and i did!!!! Very respectful,caring man! Thanks for making me feel safe!!!Hope to make it back to resort again!! My son loved it also!!!! :) Sorry i didnt post earlier very busy here in Canada!!

Room Tip: had the ocean view room,beautiful!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your time to post your review in trip Advisor. We appreciate your good comments about our security guard Mr Burton,. make sure that we will pass your congrats on your behalf. We feel very proud to receive this kind of comments.

Thank you again, and we hope to have the pleasure to host you one more time at our Resort.

Best regards,

Helena Gomez
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runaway Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had several, as in hundreds of bugs in our room. We brought it to the attention of 2 front desk associates and the evening manager. We were transferred to a room for one night and asked to speak with the manager in the morning. Whilst working my morning around this meeting, I was informed to pack up my belongings and call the front desk for some to come move our bags at 3:00, so again working around a 3:00 time now. As we packed, we waited and waited for someone to come assist, not to any surprise, nobody ever showed up. We then walked around to the front desk to let them know was waited for well over an hour, no apology, just handed me the new room keys and sent us to move our own stuff, AGAIN. Very disgusted, I have been to Jamaica 7 times now and have never been treated with such ignorance and disrespect. This experience was very disappointing as the hotel, the grounds and the beach are just stunning! The other locations of the Bahia Principe in the Carribean have such wonderful service and values toward guests, I'm not quite sure what happened with this location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your time to share your opinion on Trip Advisor.

We would like to comment that our Hotel Management is very concerned about all our guests, their well-being. Please note strict program of fumigation are carried out continuously , however, due to the hotel’s structure, characterized by wide open spaces, and taking into consideration the Tropical Climate of the country, the presence of such species may not be avoidable at all times. Once again we appreciate your observations shared with us and we sincerely hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours respectfully,

Helena Gomez
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Hotel is OK. Only food was decent. Had water leaking from top floor. Several complains to front desk did not help.
But most disturbing thing are the Time-Share sales ladies. They will disturb you every single day until you go to their 90 minutes Time share session.
Takes about an hour to reach the hotel from airport.
Swimming pool is decent but you really have to be there early in the morning to get some chairs.
People just keep their towels and block the chairs even when they are not using.
The most irritating part was after several confirmations to get a double-bed room still did not get one. Had to adjust with one King bed.
We booked 4 months ago and still they said a double bed is not available. Then got a room with no views and leaking bathroom.

But be careful. BEWARE of SALES LADIES.Best way to avoid them is to tell them you already have a timeshare form some other company.

Room Tip: Call them at least 15 days ago to stay in the rooms above 2nd floor if you care about good views fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Palash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with such valuable feedback about your stay at our Resort.

It is always concerning when guests are not completely satisfied with some of our facilities, however we really appreciate this feedback that represents an opportunity to improve our services, products and human resources.

Thank you for your time and we hope beside those events you enjoyed a relaxed and casual atmosphere during your vacation.

Yours faithfully,

Helena Gomez
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runaway Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had a great time at this hotel, overall it was everything we expected, and more, and I would recommend it. However, it is a shame that some of the staff work so hard regardless of a tip and others, particularly the buffet restaurant staff, wont really provide a good service without a tip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank HappyHMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your suggestions regarding our services that have been intermediately address to our Department's heads.

We sincerely hope that you had a great experience with us and see you again very soon.

Yours respectfully,

Helena Gomez
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
0.1 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
39.1 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#18 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,429 reviews
52.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
65.1 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#26 of 80 in Negril
5,435 reviews
35.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
5,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Address: | Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 848
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 lake-style connecting pools with 2 areas for children 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace with gardens, sun umbrellas and loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 2 tennis courts, volleyball court, football pitch Water activity centre Pool and beach towel service WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Wedding gazebo 2 buffet-style main restaurants and 5 speciality restaurants 4 Bars Snack bar Entertainment amphitheatre Meeting and convention room The 18 hole Breezes Runaway golf course is just 5 minutes from the hotel. Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, sports bar and disco Rooms 848 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Sea View Junior Suite, Club Golden and Club Hacienda Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Pillowtop mattresses Fully-equipped bathroom with separate shower and hydromassage bath tub, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Air conditioning Ventilador de techo Sitting area with sofa Balcony or terrace Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children (aged 4 to 12) will have the time of their lives with these facilities: Children's pool Special shows and activities Entertainment team Mini Club (4 - 12 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Nudist area on the beach Bahia 'au Naturel' (over 18s only) The hotel has a nudist bathing area apart from the other areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Jamaica
Gran Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Hotel
Grand Bahia Jamaica
Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Runaway Bay, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing