We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

My Hubby and I stayed at the Grand Bahia Principe last week 7/18. We were greeted with a cold drink as promised, we checked in as Vip status. Cass, who works in the vip area was the best and very accommodating. The room at first needed the a/c fixed, but after that it was a pleasure to stay. Will definitely return.
Mrs. VIA

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you enjoyed our services and we hope to have you back soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us to assist you in your next visit to Jamaica.

Yours Respectfully,

Cassandra Gentles
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,977
    3,443
    1,771
    831
    643
See reviews for
3,359
4,391
158
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,051)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We loved our trip to Jamaica and staying that the Grand Bahia Principe was wonderful. The resort is beautiful - so well maintained on the grounds! The rooms are spacious - great for traveling with children. There are two beach areas - one is somewhat pebbly while the other is very sandy. The snorkling was good for seeing tropical fish and even some more exotic sea life. My children loved the nightly shows - my 15 year old did not miss a single show! The food was very good. Lots of variety at the buffet and the restaraunts were fabulous.

The rooms themselves needed a little maitenance - nothing that interfered with the enjoyment of our holiday as I don't "sweat the small stuff" - and the staff was more than helpful in accommodating the things we asked to be addressed.

One of the best parts of the resort is the Beach Hut where you can get fresh Jerk Chicken all afternoon - it was delicious! My son made excellent use of the burgers that are available all night!

I would highly recommend this resort for families or for travelers who are really looking for a wonderful place to relax. We loved it!

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for your positive comments on your recent vacation stay. We do appreciate that you have enjoyed our spacious rooms, food, nightly shows, the grounds, buffet area, our resturants and the beach hut for our famous Jamaican jerk chicken.

Thank you for choosing the Grand Bahia Principe the best family resort and we do hope to see you in the near future to give you and your family another relaxing stay.

Yours faithfully,


Cassandra Gentles
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Ive been to Jamaica 3 times and always enjoyed my stay except this time. The staff at the Bahia are liars and crooks . Tried to upgrade the first day they all gave me different prices and looked lost. They tried charging me for a safe that didnt work after i returned the key to them. We were 14 people and all died of heat because there was NO AC in any restaurants. My friends room had no AC for the full week even after constantly calling them to fix it.
We were 4 in one room but only got 2 towels after tipping maid 5 dollars a day . No wash cloths! They never had clean pool towels! Pool looked murky so we didnt even go in it.
The beach was lovely but there was drug dealers in the waters fighting with eachother and scaring the kids away.. Security just sat there looking stupid .
Drinks at the beach were limited and not slushy... Lobby kicks us out at 11 pm!! Where do u drink when the lobby closes and u have young teenagers? When you try to
rreason with them they are very rude and dont care.
Management obviously needs improving...
Laziest employees ive seen in all my years of travel .. Ocho rios and Negril is your best bet, loved the staff and service there!
Food wasnt terrible but nothing to brag about either..
The beach was the only lovely thing there, despite the drug dealers constantly bothering you and follow u ..
Time share people always trying to lie to you with free gifts just to get u to agree for a tour that takes all day.. Dont fall for it!!
Save your money folks!! I wouldnt go back even if it was free!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ochorios2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear User of Trip Advisor,

Thank you very much for your honest opinion about our property. Your opinion is of great help to us in an effort to improve on our services and facilities to achieve our main objective which is to satisfy our guest all our guest and we are very disappointed to know that we did not accomplish this with you. We take not of all the issues taht you have mentioned and are currently in dialogue with the relevant department heads to ensure that these situations are properly addressed.

In regards to the drug sales we would like to inform you, our company strictly forbids the use, possession, distribution or sale of drugs on property. Drug use is strictly prohibited on the property. However we carry on working on it to meet the standards.

Again, we would like to extend our apologises and do hope that you will give us another opportunity to make a better impression than last time.

Yours Sincerely,


Cassandra Gentles
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobalt, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We were here from June 28 to July 5 2014 for our Wedding!..and it was perfect!! The Wedding Gazebo is out on a point and even thou its hot, there was a nice breeze in that area...and its very windy so make sure you have LOTS of hair spray girls lol. I wish I can do the wedding over and over again..they really make it special for you.

Staff is soo nice, very friendly and they treat you like royalty. The food was amazing, always fresh and its so clean in the restaurants and EVERYWHERE.The waiters Demar and Shane at the luxury buffet was amazing, It was so fun to go there to eat and see them. Demar sang to us all the time. They put a smile on our faces every time. Best service ever!!! Also, the people who made our omelets, I don't remember his name but i have a picture lol.
Our rooms were nice, always cold and so clean, air- conditioner worked perfect. Our view was perfect and private . We could see the ocean and had an amazing view of the gardens .. BEAUTIFUL..good job to the people who take care of that!
The weather was so nice, I didn't find it to hot at all, very comfortable , It rained once for 10 mins out of the whole week we were there, that's it!!!!!!! You have to walk a bit to get to the ocean (5mins), didn't mind it, good exercise people lol and worth it!!!
You have to go to dunns River Falls, you must experience that!! Just go!!! You will love it !


(Note: I read the negative reviews and now that I actually went to this resort ..and...you guys are weird, seriously!! Different people I'd say and I feel sorry for you weirdos!! lol)


Jamaica ..a very special place and were coming back!!!! YA MON!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience with us and we are happy to know that your wedding was perfect just the way you wanted it. It’s very good to know that you are happy with the level of service that we had offered you, your family and friends on your special day.

We do hope to host you in the near future to the Grand Bahia Principe, the best resort for your wedding in the Caribbean.

Yours Respectfully,


Cassandra Gentles
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Bets food and clean rooms and spectacular view from the front porch of the main entrance to the beach. Wonderful activities in from morning to dawn.

Kids had lots of fun and they loved the beach. The restaurants had the best food

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricardo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of our General Manager and all of our team members at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica we thank you for your valuable comments and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours respectfully,


Cassandra Gentles
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Take your own washcloths as they are not provided.

LOVED Don Pablo and Mikado. . The food couldn't have been better at these restaurants and also the buffet. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality and quantity of the food in the buffet as I never expected it to be as good as the food on cruise ships. I "only" gained 2 pounds and if I hadn't been somewhat careful I would have brought home 3 pounds! : ) Loved the pool and the temperature of the water was exactly as I like---not cold! The pool was never crowded whether you wanted to water exercise, swim or exercise.

I wouldn't recommend the GRILL as the food is more plentiful and delicious at the buffet.

This resort is my favorite of all the resorts where we've stayed. My room key always worked.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viewbluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your feedback. Our goal is to achieve maximum satisfaction of all our guests. We are happy to see that we have achieved this time with you. We look forward to welcome you back to our Resort.

Yours Respectfully,


Cassandra Gentles
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Just wanted to write a few lines about this hotel.
We stayed here back in 2010 and we had a perfect holiday. We actually got engaged here and was a prefect location for couples!
The staff at this hotel and generally all the Jamacian people are the most kiddest people and nothing was ever a problem.
Ive never seen so much food to choose from in all the resturants!
Lots of enterainment day and night.!
Would highly reccoment swimming with the dolphins and 9 mile trip to Bob Marleys House!
Cant wait for our next trip to Jamacia!

Room Tip: I beleive all rooms are 'Junior Suits' with King Size beds and jacuzzi bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ILoveHolidaysxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences about your recent vacation and for letting us know the attention provided by the staff was up to par and we have achieved your satisfaction in regards with the restaurants, night & day entertainment and overall you have had a fabuluos holiday with us.

On behalf of our general manager and staff we would like to say thank you for choosing the Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica the best couples resort in the caribbean.

Yours faithfully,


Cassandra Gentles
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
0.1 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
52.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
33.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,833 reviews
27.5 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
39.1 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#17 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Address: | Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 848
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 lake-style connecting pools with 2 areas for children 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace with gardens, sun umbrellas and loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 2 tennis courts, volleyball court, football pitch Water activity centre Pool and beach towel service WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Wedding gazebo 2 buffet-style main restaurants and 5 speciality restaurants 4 Bars Snack bar Entertainment amphitheatre Meeting and convention room The 18 hole Breezes Runaway golf course is just 5 minutes from the hotel. Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, sports bar and disco Rooms 848 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Sea View Junior Suite, Club Golden and Club Hacienda Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Pillowtop mattresses Fully-equipped bathroom with separate shower and hydromassage bath tub, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Air conditioning Ventilador de techo Sitting area with sofa Balcony or terrace Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children (aged 4 to 12) will have the time of their lives with these facilities: Children's pool Special shows and activities Entertainment team Mini Club (4 - 12 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Nudist area on the beach Bahia 'au Naturel' (over 18s only) The hotel has a nudist bathing area apart from the other areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Jamaica
Gran Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Hotel
Grand Bahia Jamaica
Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Runaway Bay, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing