We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect all inclusive destination for the family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 weeks with the family over Christmas and New Year in this beautiful resort. Fantastic pool area. Beautiful beach. Very good service. Food food to be very good despite the remarkable size of the operation. On a couple of occasions the buffet restaurant served "eat as much as you want" grilled lobster! Also, had a couple of theme a la carte restaurants on the resort. All worth visiting except the Italian resturant, which is below standards in food quality and cleanliness etc. Gala dinners for Christmas and New Years were very nice. A few improvement areas would be that some rooms are located in parts of the resort which can get a bit noisy at night. So, of you travel with small kids you may want to make sure you get a quite room. If you enjoy wine with your meal, I have to warn you that the all inclusive wine is almost undrinkable. Gym is spartan, but in fairness has two old olympic barbells, which is rare for hotel gyms. Great resort & the whole family had a memorable stay!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Swedech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to acknowledge that we have received your reviews regard your recent stay here with us. Thank you for your feedback and suggestions, however we appreciate your comments about our fantastic pool, beautiful beach and good service overall.

We are happy to know that we could have provided you with a memorable stay and we do look forward to hosting you soon.

Yours Faithfully,


Cassandra Gentles
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11,387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,840 - 4,846 of 11,387 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

I'll start out by saying that this is our second trip to Grand Bahia Principe, the first being in June 2012. That trip was amazing and this one did not disappoint. I'll break my review down into sections for easier reading.

a) Plane/Airport

We flew with WestJet. The flight was good, no issues whatsoever. We booked Club Mobay for our arrival at Sangster Airport only. This is an amazing service and I would never arrive in Jamaica again without it. We were picked up right off the ramp and brought through customs and immigration within 15 minutes while we were told that the wait was approximately 2 hours long for everyone else. We then went and waited in the Club Mobay lounge and had some drinks and food while we waited for our transportation to the resort.

b) Check-In

Check-in was fine. No issues and it went fairly fast. We had requested a room in block 21 as an upgrade but it wasn't granted (no problem) and we were given room 17514 which was on the top floor looking at the pool and the ocean to your left. My only issues with the room was that the AC wasn't very strong at all but when we arrived there was a fan set up in the room and that combined with the ceiling fan kept us cool at all times. We were given a fruit plate 2 times, robes and t-shirts. The toilet overflowed one day and it was fixed within about 20 minutes and it was at no fault of the resort that it flooded.

c) Restaurants

We ate mostly at the buffets and the beach snack bar. Both of them were great. My only complaint which is a common one is that there was no AC in the restaurants. I confirmed on my first day that the AC was indeed broken. So it was uncomfortable, at times, to eat meals but nothing that ruined my vacation. We found the food to be fresh and plentiful at all times and there is definitely something for everyone to eat whether you are picky or not. When people write reviews and say there is no food, I literally shake my head because it is so far from the truth. There is no reason to ever go hungry at this resort.

d) Beach

The beach was amazing as usual. To get to the nice beach, you need to walk to the left of the resort, past the Grill Restaurant and Dolce Vita. It is an amazing man-made cove and the water is beautiful.

Every day at 11:30 a.m. a group of three Rastas come on their floating raft, they refer to themselves as the "Floating Walmart". These guys are amazing. They make the BEST lobster we have ever tried, I am not joking, you must try it. In addition to that, they can get you almost anything that you ask them for. My friend wanted Breadfruit and they literally got one for her, roasted it and everything. They are great guys and I have nothing but good things to say to them! If anyone takes my advice and goes to see them, tell them that Melanie and Farah from Canada say hi!

e) Pools

We didn't spend a lot of time by the pool as we were always at the beach, but when we did, we had fun. We found at times it was a bit too rowdy with people using an open bar as an excuse to get drunk and act foolish. We couldn't be bothered.

I think that is all I can say at this point other than the fact that in general I find the negative reviews about this resort to be a crock. Yes, things can always be improved but if you go out looking for things to complain about, you can always find something. The important thing to do is remember you are on vacation, so enjoy it and don't sweat the small stuff.

Room Tip: -AC wasn't that strong at times, request a fan if possible. -If lack of facecloths bothers you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Mellybelly1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted to know that you have had a relaxing time and a great stay, which is our main objective in our property.

Thank you for choosing us for your vacation spot. It was a pleasure to host you and your friend at our property. We are looking forward to host you again to provide you another amazing stay.

Yours Sincerely,


Cassandra Gentles
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Very nice clean property just 1/2 hour to Dolphin Cove, the falls and great shopping.
Excellent food with amazing a la carte. The Don Pablo rooms are lovely looking out over the pool and the ocean this is a piece of paradise.

Room Tip: The Don Pablo collection is perfect.Your own private pool,lounge area,resturant and bar but you must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank frances v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Our main goal strives in having a great ambience to satisfy our guest’s requirements, we are glad to learn that you enjoyed your vacations with us.

Thank you so much for taking your time to share your experience with us and we hope to have the opportunity to host you in the near future.

Yours Faithfully,


Cassandra Gentles
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Nothing but praise for the establishment have been home one day and am ready to return.
Food ,staff and atmosphere was the best. We celebrated our 50 th wedding anniversary with family ranging in ages from 10 years of age to 76 something for everyone to enjoy.

Room Tip: Ground floor is best to enjoy the establishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fred J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Management and staff at the Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica we would like to say thank you for giving us the opportunity to share in this special time with you, your family and friends.

We are happy to know that your 50th anniversary celebration was a success and we do look forward to having you again in our hotel.

Yours Sincerely,


Cassandra Gentles
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

My family and I started our amazing vacation on July 25. We arrived at the principe resort and we were amazed with all the beatiful sights to see. That night we attended dinner... where we had to wait in a line to get into the restaurant. It was about a short 10 minute wait but still when I am at a 5 star I expect for the resort to be able to accommodate all the people at once. The next few days was the same. Our rooms were very nice and was always clean. The only thing is that you would sometimes have to wait for towels to be delivered to the hotel... which was not acceptable. The other issue with towels was that at the beach huts for the pools we would sometimes have to wait for those to come also. the food was amazing no doubt. This resort is spectacular but the hotel needs to work on better serving their costumers to obtain their status as a 5 star resort

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank seb446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are happy to know that you had an amazing vacation holiday with us. We would also like to thank you for your comments in regards to the wait time at the restaurant and the towel situations that you had encountered whilst here on property, we would like to have you know that we have communicated this to our Food And Beverage and Housekeeping department to ensure that corrective measures can be taken.

Thank you once again for sharing you experience and we do hope to host you again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,


Cassandra Gentles
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were married here in September of 2011… I'm relatively new to writing reviews and trip advisor won't let me put in the correct date. I'd like to start by saying this resort fulfilled our expectation of a dream wedding. Down to the very last detail everything went off without a hitch. The staff was incredibly courteous, the resort itself was beautiful, well maintained and exceptionally equipped no matter what your desire, and the food was some of the best we've had at any all inclusive. If you've never had jerk chicken before you're in for a spicy treat! Unlike most of the Caribbean, Jamaica is incredibly unique (Dunn's River Falls is a MUST) and you'll be hard pressed to find friendlier more endearing people. We're absolutely in love with the country and have been back several times since our wedding. I'll spare you the details of everything available as the website does a fine enough job at that and just finish by saying that you won't be disappointed with a stay here.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
7  Thank Jeremy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear User of Trip Advisor,

We are more than pleased to know that your dream wedding was a success in September 2011 at our beautiful resort. We are happy to know that you found our staff to be incredibly and courteous and that we have exceeded all your expectations.

Thank you for staying loyal to the Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica throughout the years and we do look forward to hosting you and your family again soon.

Yours Respectfully,


Cassandra Gentles
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We just got back from heaven ...spend 10 days from aug 4 to aug 13 2014 if you dont want to bother your self with small issues you can get a best vacation in your life ,when i say small issues i mean little better maintenance in the rooms ,there all ok just maintenance.
I am not a picky person looking for bad things, im just looking for nice things and that is 99% that you will get at GRAND BAHIA PRINCIPE in JAMAICA .

Before we booked this hotel i read all bad reviews first (i think most people do this) and there were lot of thing that is not true or maybe we didnt experience it .

FOOD AWESOME
HOSPITALITY AWESOME
PEOPLE FRIENDLY AWESOME
HOTEL AWESOME
LANDSCAPE DECORATION AROUND THE HOTEL AWESOME

You not going to feel any pressure from stuff or waiters... nobody, that is the most what bother me when i go on vacation.

You going to eat a best food ever, some people complaint about Japanese food ,i would tell you something if i want real Japanese food i would go to Japan and eat it (i would like to try jerk chicken in Japan).
I saw that those people in the kitchen doing their best, who ever understand somebody staying behind the grill when its 100 degrees outside .
One thing for sure you can gain 3-5 pounds easy because of all that tasty food.
Dont be cheap try those waiters with few bucks and you would see what happen after

Dont miss JERK CHICKEN at the snack bar WOW love it .

We got a ground level room that we didnt like, i ask to change it NO PROBLEM but again you have to understand there is the rules and hotel policy,you going to get another room next day at 3pm so relax be nice with people and they would be twice as nice to you.

Remember JAMAICA NO PROBLEM .

This is for the management ...please guys majority of your stuff is hard working people im going to name few of them here and please take care of these guys,

KEVIN i dont know does this guy ever sleep ,such a nice friendly guy who have time for everybody.

OBED very nice person who provide squba quatic ,diving ,sunset etc. also have time for everybody at this place ,so look for this guy please you would find him next to snack bar at the beach.

RASHELE very nice person who going to take you around if you are interested in privilege club membership

Main restaurant EVERYBODY friendly, waiters specially diner time OMG what else you want.

BEST BEST BEST WISHES AND THANK YOU BAHIA PRINCIPE THANK YOU JAMAICA FOR HOSPITALITY THANK YOU FOR BEST 10 DAYS AFTER MY HARD WORK,THANKS FOR EVERYBODY AND EVERYTHING.

REMEMBER BE NICE TO PEOPLE AND THEY WOULD BE TWICE AS NICE TO YOU...
ROOM 22612

SEE YOU GUYS NEXT YEAR ALL THE BEST FROM THE GUY WITH JAMAICA HAT

Room Tip: Majority of the room got ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dragan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Social Media Coordinator at Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

It is a pleasure to read your positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to know that you are happy with your stay and that you enjoyed the food, hospitality, friendly staff, landscape decoration around the hotel and the famous Jamaican jerk chicken.

If you need any assistance with your future booking please feel free to contact us.

Yours Faithfully,


Cassandra Gentles
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
0.1 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
1.4 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
12.3 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#8 of 35 in Ocho Rios
8,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
52.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
35.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
6,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Address: | Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range: £122 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 850
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 lake-style connecting pools with 2 areas for children 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace with gardens, sun umbrellas and loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 2 tennis courts, volleyball court, football pitch Water activity centre Pool and beach towel service WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Wedding gazebo 2 buffet-style main restaurants and 5 speciality restaurants 4 Bars Snack bar Entertainment amphitheatre Meeting and convention room The 18 hole Breezes Runaway golf course is just 5 minutes from the hotel. Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, sports bar and disco Rooms 848 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Sea View Junior Suite, Club Golden and Club Hacienda Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Pillowtop mattresses Fully-equipped bathroom with separate shower and hydromassage bath tub, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Air conditioning Ventilador de techo Sitting area with sofa Balcony or terrace Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children (aged 4 to 12) will have the time of their lives with these facilities: Children's pool Special shows and activities Entertainment team Mini Club (4 - 12 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Nudist area on the beach Bahia 'au Naturel' (over 18s only) The hotel has a nudist bathing area apart from the other areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Jamaica
Gran Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Hotel
Grand Bahia Jamaica
Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Runaway Bay, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing