We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“going back again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Runaway Bay
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“going back again”
Reviewed 8 March 2011

we have been to the resort 5 times with young kids-(4-7)and always have loved it.the girls at the kids club are great(veronia).we have made a lot of friends there and would recommend it to anyone with kids. (GET YOUR OWN HOLIDAY)the people are great but would you be rude to people at home? NO.foood is what to be epected from a all inclusive.beach is great lots of sand. ENJOY...
)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eyeballss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,104
    3,534
    1,827
    873
    676
See reviews for
3,514
4,493
162
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,137)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Poor Quality of Food and Service. Staff not very hospitable. Very limited choice for Vegetarian. A la carte Restaurants are terrible. I would never go back to any of their other properties.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAMVIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

I was a little leary the week my family and I were leaving to stay at this resort. We had gotten a terrific price and it seemed that it may be because of the recent reputation from Trip Advisor. I realised when we arrived there was a little construction going on, they were making the deck bigger on the beach and building more umbrella huts. (Not a problem)We were treated very good, the staff were very nice and friendly. Our room was beautiful, with 2 mahogany canopy beds. The bathroom had a wonderful shower and also a jaccuzzi tub. I have travelled to many different islands and in Jamaica they never disappoint with the spoiling. The buffet was huge with everything you can imagine. They always had something different at dinner time to surprise you. One night was smoked salmon and capers with several types of homemade bread and the next night was a fresh seafood spread of crab legs and prawns. The beach hut boasted a wonderful place to have lunch where you can enjoy the jerk chicken BBQed everyday, while you looked over the ocean(which was my personal favorite because I dont like to leave the beach on a beautiful day and go inside to air conditioning)They often had live music and it almost felt like we having a party everytime we ate there!
Of all the Gran Bahias I have stayed this was my favorite! The others are way to big, and this one is the perfect layout. My husband and I ran down the beach everymorning and took our towels to reserve a perfect spot for us and our kids. If you book Jamiaca you wont be dissappointed and you wont be dissappointed in this hotel either! We did not see or hear of anyone using the kids club. There were not a lot of other kids. And most of the kids here were french, at the time. We hired a cab to take us to Dunns River Falls and the Chukka zip lining tours. Both are not to be missed! :)
For some reason they didnt ever have any towels. We used the same ones for almost 4 days. Maybe bring some from home.
(This is the first all inclusive resort that I have found the wine palatable. It was actually good! We didnt order off the wine list at all!)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candyok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villas, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

I have never written a review before, however the poor customer service that we received at the Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica compelled me to do so. We have traveled to Jamaica every February for the past eleven years. We are not really picky people, however when I book a vacation I expect to get what I paid for. We paid extra for the "Golden Club Package" in order to get an oceanfront room on one of the higher floors. We arrived at the resort at 11am and got into our room at 2pm. This wasn't a problem as checkout time isn't until 12. We got to our room (which was on the 3rd floor) and found that we had no coffeemaker, no robes, no slippers, no Beach Towels and the safe was broken. I went to the window and had a lovely view of a construction site. If you walked onto the balcony and looked to the left there was an ocean there. I called the manager of the "Golden Club" and told her that this room was NOT what we booked and we had none of the amenities that were supposed to be included. She told me that she would make sure we got our amenities, she would send someone to fix the safe and to come and see her at 10am the next day about a room change. It took about 2 hours to get everything that was supposed to be there plus the safe fixed. Imagine our surprise when we went to see the manager of the "Golden Club" the next morning and were told that she was off and they didn't know anything about a room change for us. We were then sent to the front desk, who also didn't know what we were talking about and told us to go back to the "Golden Club" as that was what we paid for. We then demanded to see a manager...this took another hour or so. After I told him (loudly) that I didn't appreciate being lied to by the "Golden Club" manager and that I guess they assumed that as we had already paid for our vacation we were stuck with whatever they decided to give us whether it was what we paid for or not he finally made arrangements to move us to a very nice room the next day. This took three days out of our six day vacation. This was a nice resort with an excellent entertainment staff, wait staff and maid staff. Management however is terrible and completely uninterested in providing good customer service.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamaicaWoman3199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

I love this resort. I have traveled to Jamaica Twice now and stayed at this resort both times. I have also stayed at other resorts in Cube and Dominica. You need to remember when taking a vacation at an all inclusive you need to go in with a open mind and not expect people waiting on you hand and foot. The resort is very large but has a lot to offer. There is a smaller beach the is close to the pool that has a bit of rocky sand, but if you explore the other large beach further down it is beautiful, the sand is amazing and there is lots of space. The buffets are like any buffet i suppose, they are busy and a bit noisy but they offer tons of selection. We found the smaller buffet to be a little less busy and less noisy. Please remember people when you are eating at a buffet you are there more to serve yourself if you want to be waited on hand and foot book a a la cart. We ate at the the Japanese, grill and Don Pabelo for our a la carts. The food was great, the only complaint here would be that they were under staffed, but service was good. Oswald was a wonderful server, very dedicated and made our experience that much more enjoyable.
The rooms were clean and well kept through our stay and like ANY hotel in the world i highly recommend you lock up your valuables. Really is there any where in the world you would travel and leave a wallet full of money unlocked. I doubt it. So use you r common sense and lock up the important stuff! We had no problems at all with our belongs, provided we used the safe for the valuables though.
The location was good and we did a few tours when we were there. Great. My husbands and mine second time there and can't wait to go back!!!

You can read as many reviews as you like, but you need to remember you are traveling to a third world country and need to be on the side of caution with your valuables. Other then that go in with an open mind (food there isn't going to taste like it does at home) and kick back and relax. Isn't that what vacation is all about?!!!

Wishing you all safe travels!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VissAms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick,Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

A beautiful resort. Great friendly staff attending to your every need. I was totally impressed by the cleanliness of this large hotel. Floors, tables, beach area, restaurants, spotless considering the number of guests. The food was good, especially the sit down restaurants.Bartenders & wait staff were fantastic. Everyone was friendly & said hello.

Hotel is an hour drive from airport, the only drawback. But the resort is situated by itself in a nice quiet area. Two & half hour ride to 7 mile beach & Negril. Half hour ride to Ocho Rios. Don't bother going shopping there. A waste of time.

Room had a king size bed, a large size junior suite, fridge, coffee maker, tub, shower & other small amenties including shampoo, razors, body lotion.

Very pleased with our choice. I have yet to figure out why there are so many negative comments. We truly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joybanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

First I want to say i always read tripadvisor reviews and was a little leary of going after reading some of the reviews on here! When we got to the hotel we were golden club so check in to getting to the room was about 2 mins flat! The staff are extremely friendly and probably friendlier and more attentive than many ive met among our travels.
The food was great, some was a little different tasting than at home but then i just got something else,, we never went hungry and enjoyed our a la cartes very much. The bar staff were fantastic and the drinks were great!!! We grabbed drinks for staff while up getting our own once in a while and that is appreciated by them!
We also had PLENTY of water ,beer and pop in our minibar in the room,, i may have drank one pop and one of the bottles of water throughout the whole week! You won't need more than given, not sure why people would complain about that?
We did get up around 7ish every morning and put a towel down on at least one chair or you won't get a chair at the pool or beach!
I was very sad to leave and cannot wait to return, we are planning our next trip back next year.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelbugg029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runaway Bay
39.1 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,480 reviews
52.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
65.1 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Negril
ClubHotel Riu Negril
#28 of 81 in Negril
5,492 reviews
33.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
35.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
6,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Address: | Salt Coopers, Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Runaway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Runaway Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Runaway Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Runaway Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 848
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 lake-style connecting pools with 2 areas for children 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace with gardens, sun umbrellas and loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 2 tennis courts, volleyball court, football pitch Water activity centre Pool and beach towel service WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Wedding gazebo 2 buffet-style main restaurants and 5 speciality restaurants 4 Bars Snack bar Entertainment amphitheatre Meeting and convention room The 18 hole Breezes Runaway golf course is just 5 minutes from the hotel. Pueblo Principe: local craft stores, live music, shows, sports bar and disco Rooms 848 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Sea View Junior Suite, Club Golden and Club Hacienda Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Pillowtop mattresses Fully-equipped bathroom with separate shower and hydromassage bath tub, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Air conditioning Ventilador de techo Sitting area with sofa Balcony or terrace Telephone Radio alarm clock Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden and Club Hacienda Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children (aged 4 to 12) will have the time of their lives with these facilities: Children's pool Special shows and activities Entertainment team Mini Club (4 - 12 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Nudist area on the beach Bahia 'au Naturel' (over 18s only) The hotel has a nudist bathing area apart from the other areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Jamaica
Gran Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Hotel
Grand Bahia Jamaica
Bahia Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica
Gran Bahia Principe Jamaica Resort
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica Runaway Bay, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing