We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing experience”
Review of Jah B's Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blue Mountains National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jah B's Guesthouse
cayman
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“amazing experience”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Me and my friend decided to get this completly different experience of Jamaica. So we went to Jah'bs. His son Alex picked us up from the airport. He was really nice and friendly. If you dont have a car I would definetly recommend him to pick you up cause the roads are so narrow and steep I dont think a regular taxi or a car would make it. He is driving fast but you can feel that he has been driving the same roads for some time. Jah B's place has amazing view and its so relaxing. Very simple but makes you appreciate things in life.
One thing I would really recommend that nobody mention on tripadvisor. Cause you will be so far away from civization stop on the way to buy some water and some snacks that can stay good without fridge. Also if you want some beverages. Especially some snacks. He cooks really good vegetarian food but they take some time to prepare it so it would be really helpfull to have some snack on us. Of course you have to have the hand grinded blue mountain coffee.
Other things we found lucking is comunication before tours. Nobody informed us about the length of the tours and what we should take with us especially the farm tour which sounded like 15 minutes away at the end we walked for 2 hours there and 2 back up the hill in the midday sun without any water. What saved us was some berries we found and kept eating them just to get little of the juice to moist our dry mouths. The same with the peak tour. Take some water and some snacks as bananas or some musli bars cause you will need them. We didnt plan to do the peak tour but it was amazing but very exhausting. Again nobody informs you but bring with you flashlights cause we had to use our mobile phones instead. They dont provide you with anything.
These are the things that nobody mention here and we would find pretty usefull before the trip.
But overall this was amazing experience and I will never forget it. Jah' B was great!!!!!

Room Tip: If you dont like sharing room with strangers ask for room with a bathroom in the main house. Its wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beatinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    10
    3
    1
    6
See reviews for
2
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
negril
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I live part time in Negril but my first time to blue mtn. was just a couple months ago. When you get to the top to stay you see Jah B`s and you go what but once you settle into the very basics of life you get the over whelming feeling of peace. Jah b and his sons are true in soul and warm and kind in all that they do. The view from their home is past breath taking. I would do it all again but bring junk food and toilet paper. Have a blast and live in peace and serenity for a moment. Hi from canada

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bbhkccaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

When we first arrived and wanted to check in, the woman at the desk looked at us with hate and eventually got up to show us the cabin. The key we got was a universal key like a 'bathroom key' so everyone staying there could open the door. There was chicken poop all over our porch, and when we got inside it was very filthy. The sheets, the floor, the supposed-to-be kitchen... The fan didn't work, neither did the kitchen. The bathroom was falling apart and was very dirty. In addition to this the mosquito net was torn... We just got our stuff and went to another place. It was cheap, but not worth it...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sunnivamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blue Mountains National Park hotels

Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

Jah B is the man. Rasta business extraordinaire. The vibes at the hostel are exceptional - mountainside accommodation, ital veggie food, dirt track access by jeep, chat and banter with friendly staff and fellow travellers. The hike to the peak was a slog in the rain even for us who are quite fit and we saw nothing. The cold shower on our rain soaked skin was bracing at best. But this is a warm place and one we loved and one we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimnem28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The accommodations are very basic. but the food and friendliness are perfect for visitors who want to make a hike in the predawn darkness (or morning light) to greet the sunrise from the peak. The rooms were very rustic indeed but most of them had working electric light. No one complained of being unable to sleep.

There was some confusion over guiding fees (make sure that you get all that straight before hand, and make sure everyone in your party is reading from the same hymnal).
To be fair, the main source of angst was a 3rd party guide we had employed - Jah B and his staff were unfailingly delightful and helpful.

The food was tasty and vegetarian.

We will be back (not all of us made it to the peak!)

Room Tip: Bunk beds were inexpensive but the extra space and commodes in private rooms were well worth the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Jamaica
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed here in January 2012, and would recommend it to any hikers looking to do the Peak! Jah B is very friendly, and cooks good vegetarian food - perfect fuel for hiking. His son Rassa guided us, didn't say much, and while it was reassuring to have a guide with us, you could easily find your way if you didn't want to take one (unless you start at 2am!)

We started at 5am, and while I'm sure it's amazing to see the sunrise from the top, its a very long climb to do in the dark, and you'd miss all the lovely views going up.


The accomodation is pretty basic, more like a hostel, but clean and I'd definitely stay there again. A big highlight of this place is sitting out in the afternoon sun looking at the view, so get there early enough to enjoy! We asked Jah B to have something ready for us when we came back down the mountain, and he made another hearty vegetarian meal.

The hike is quite tough - took us 5 hours up and 3 hours down - but then I'm 7 months pregnant!! http://hotexpatmummy.wordpress.com/

Room Tip: We opted for a 'private room' at 4000 jamaican dollars - which is right in the house with Ja...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lizzie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

If you want to go hiking in the majestic Blue Mountains or simply want to experience breathtaking mountain views and enjoy healthy, vegetarian home-cooked Rastafarian meals, then Jah B's is the place for you. It's about a 2-hour drive from Kingston, and Jah B will send one of his sons to pick you up and drive you because the road is very rugged. The rooms are basic but adequate. We had cold water, but it didn't matter. (Bring your own towel, soap and shampoo.) This has the feeling of a hostel. At least 2 rooms had private bathrooms; others have shared baths. Jah B says that he can accommodate 35 hikers at a time, though I think that would be a bit too cozy. He is, however, adding rooms. For our stay, we were the only guests. From Jah B's, you can take a guided hike to the top of Blue Mountain or take an easier trip (about 6 miles round trip), as we did, to see Jah B's farm, where we saw bananas, lemons, oranges, papayas, peppers, pimentos, rosemary, thyme, mint, tomatoes, callaloo and, of course, coffee. This is a hiker's paradise. So, besides hiking, there is not much to do except for simply taking lots and lots of photos of the mountains. Jah B told us that, in Rastafarian families, it is the men who cook, and Jah B and his son, Ipal, cooked up a storm for us in their indoor and outdoor kitchens, which are like an artist's workshop, with piles of fresh, naturally organic vegetables covering the counter. There were the biggest, plumpest scallions I have ever seen, as well as bright green callaloo (which is similar to spinach but tastier), garlic, cucumber and yam. The stove is crowded with the pots and pans used to create healthy vegetarian fare. This is as real as it gets - real Jamaican down-home-cooking and real health food. The portions were ample - just right to satisfy a hiker's hungry appetite, and the views could not be more spectacular. A sample breakfast was callaloo with okra and garlic, boiled yam, slices of cucumber and tomato, plus 3 tasty deep-fried chunks of bread dough - like healthy hush puppies. A sample dinner was brown rice cooked in coconut milk with red beans and onions, with cucumber slices on the side. There were always bananas or other fruits, and of course Jah B's own grown Blue Mountain coffee, which was so rich and smooth that no cream or sugar was needed. Two friendly dogs and a kitten had the run of the premises. The nights are cool and comfortable. I saw only one mosquito during the two days we were there. Jah B and his sons are very friendly and interesting. This is truly a special place.

Room Tip: If you want a private bath, be sure to ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scullyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountains National Park
0.6 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#15 of 81 in Negril
635 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foote Prints on the Sands Hotel
0.2 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#43 of 81 in Negril
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Country Country Beach Cottages
0.1 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#14 of 81 in Negril
5,207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jah B's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jah B's Guesthouse

Property: Jah B's Guesthouse
Address: Whitefield Hall Area | Hagley Gap, St. Thomas, Blue Mountains National Park, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Blue Mountains National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Blue Mountains National Park
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Jah B's Guesthouse Jamaica/Blue Mountains National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing