We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible: make the effort to see this special location!”
Review of Lime Tree Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blue Mountains National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lime Tree Farm
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible: make the effort to see this special location!”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Excellent! My husband and I stayed at Lime Tree Farm for 2 days in October this year. The brilliance of this place is its location – a coffee plantation, high in the Blue Mountains. The roads through the mountains to get to the farm are difficult in places but well worth the effort and the owners will meet you on the way to bring you up the last part. It is an unassuming place which in my mind is a positive. The rooms are large and clean and have amazing views – the mountain side dropped away near our front door. We could sit on our terrace and drink coffee that had been grown on the farm while watching hummingbirds feeding on the flowering bush within 4 feet of our seats – amazing! Dinner is served at a large table, open to the outside and looking out over the mountains while eating Suzie’s wonderfully tasty Jamaican food – one of many highlights of our stay. My husband is a keen birdwatcher and Roger arranged for a guide to show us where to find some of the endemics. I recommend this place very highly for independent travellers who want to be away from the touristy areas and are prepared to make the effort to see something special.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
81
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Lime Tree Farm was recommended to us by a friend and it was a great find!! Amazing views of the Blue Mountains and the best coffee I have ever tasted! Charlie, Suzie and Keisha made us very welcome and the service was great throughout. The Jamaican food was excellent (good wine too) and the rooms are very pleasant with all necessary amenities. We took the 2.5 hour hike to Governor's Bench and back, which offers some great views of the mountains. I hope to return sometime and would definitely recommend Lime Tree Farm for a prefect getaway!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeroy-villain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed three nights at Limetree Farm to have a day's bird watching and another to climb Blue Mountain Peak. Our expectations were greatly exceeded. Our hosts were helpful and friendly, the facilities of the first order and the situation spectacular.

Our bird guide, Lyndon, for the day at Hardwar Gap was knowledgeable, and with the ability to seek out birds and to help us see them. This was an enjoyable and rewarding experience.

The following morning our guide, Rodger, had us away on the road to Blue Mountain early, and we climbed Blue Mountain Peak in good order. Another rewarding day, spent with an excellent guide.

Suzy's meals at Limetree were the best we enjoyed throughout our extended stay in Jamaica.

If hills and birding are your passions, this is a good place to stay and deserves your serious consideration.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Was referred to this hotel by a friend. It is about 45 minutes outside Kingston, in an idyllic sight with views of the blue mountains. It is an operating coffee farm, where if you want you can pick coffee beans. The rooms are perfect, with great views, the food from the kitchen is excellent, and the proceeds from the honour bar go to helping maintain the local school. A great excuse to have a drink! Everybody at the farm were friendly and could not do enough to help. If you are there a Sunday, going to the local church is great fun. Highly recommended, I had a great couple days there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mapuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The location, views and thoughtful personal service at Lime Tree Farm made our holiday break in the Blue Mountains one we'll never forget. Charlie, Rodger, Suzie and Keesha thought of everything to personalise our stay - from the fresh flowers in our room, local maps & guides and wine on the dinner table. It was helpful to be picked up in Kingston and take the exciting drive up to Lime Tree on roads that have seen better days. We passed through many local communities where we were greeted by friendly people going about their daily lives and then on upwards into the clouds, past the coffee factory (Mavis Bank), coffee bushes, pines and giant eucalyptus trees. The team took every care of our dietary needs, ensured we relaxed and provided opportunities to explore many of the local walks and communities. For me it was a great chance to revisit Cinchona and Top Mountain and re-live my three years in the mountains back in the 70's, and share the memories with my wife. Even though we're home now we can re-live the experience with the best coffee in the world (Lime Tree Farm's Ratcutt brand). Charlie had a vision which he is able to share - it's well worth taking time out to see what's been created.

Room Tip: All of the three bungalows are good locations - each retaining it's own privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbieandpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NASHUA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Lynn and I have traveled a lot Internationally and have never have had the exceptional experience we had at Lime Tree. While a bit remote, it is so worth it! Roger,Charlie,Suzie and Keesha went above and beyond to make our visit the most memorable.

The British humor from Charlie and Roger kept us laughing as we exchanged experiences and
U.S. / British terminology,

Keesah and Suzie prepared the most remarkable meals, family style, with more than we could consume. We opted for a taste of the local dishes, and if you choose, you will not be disappointed,

The fresh fruit from the farm was beyond our imagination. Blue Mountain coffee is the best!

If you are into birding, the endemics are incredile and they know the spots to go to and will find a guide too.

Room Tip: Ask for the end room with the best mountain views with a balcony on the roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

The vista from Lime Tree Farm is too beautiful to be imagined. The sunrises positively dance around the clouds. Our stay was calming, the birds splendid, and the walks around the coffee farm with Busher so very, very interesting. It is good to know where the world's finest coffee comes from and the care taken to produce it. The hike along Governor's Path is stunning for its view of mountain settlements, the awesome geology and the view of Kingston harbour. Lime Tree's villas were ultra-comfortable, the meals delicious and Suzie's warm welcome made us feel like we had come home. Can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountains National Park
6.0 mi away
Starlight Chalet & Health Spa
Starlight Chalet & Health Spa
#1 of 1 in Blue Mountains National Park
59 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
398 reviews
20.2 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
838 reviews
5.6 mi away
Strawberry Hill
Strawberry Hill
#4 of 25 in Kingston
334 reviews
5.7 mi away
RafJam's Bed & Breakfast
RafJam's Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Irish Town
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lime Tree Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Tree Farm

Property: Lime Tree Farm
Address: Tower Hill | Mavis Bank PO, St Andrew, Blue Mountains National Park, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Blue Mountains National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Blue Mountains National Park
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lime Tree Farm is the perfect Jamaican holiday retreat for the independent traveller. Our beautiful ecological holiday cottages are set on a working coffee plantation that is nestled high in the magnificent Blue Mountains of unspoilt Jamaica. Combined with our first class, locally sourced organic cuisine, our Jamaican holiday cottages are the perfect luxury to come back to after exploring Jamaica's Blue Mountains with its rich flora, fauna and wildlife, whether hiking or by 4x4 jeep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lime Tree Farm Hotel Blue Mountains National Park
Lime Tree Farm Jamaica/Blue Mountains National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing