We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Parguera Glass Bottom boat to the Bio Bay”
Review of La Parguera

La Parguera
Book In Advance
More Info
US$199.00*
and up
La Parguera Glowing Bioluminescent Bay Tour from San Juan
Ranked #120 of 582 things to do in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A tiny village by the sea full of homey bed and breakfast inns.
Novato, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Parguera Glass Bottom boat to the Bio Bay”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We went with the Glass Bottom boat out of Parguera to the bioluminescent bay. The cost was only $8.00, but it was only barely worth even that.
The boat was full. Left late which is typical of island time. We were out 50 minutes all together. Getting there took 20 and 15 minutes back. There were two young men who jumped off the boat to show the luminescent water when agitated. Problem is that only the people standing right at the railing could see them! Anyone in the second row was out of luck.
If they had 4 swimmers, if they had swam 10 or 15 foot out from the boat, we all could have seen. As it was they jumped in the forward section of the boat and made 2 short passes under the glass bottom, we were only able to see them for may be 30 seconds in total.
Try another company. We wanted to get into the water, but not with this company.
We just didn't have the time to kayak out for a 3 hour tour. But there must be other operators. I read that you can just hire a skiff to take you out. That might have been the better choice.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    61
    30
    8
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

To say that this bio bay has changed in the past few decades is an understatement.
I visited about 20 years ago, and this bio bay is no longer worth the visit.
I do not even recommend this to a first time viewer.
In addition, to the lake of bio-fish, the bay is crowded with vendors & tour boats that are going to overwhelm you.
It is a sad day when God's creation is destroyed by mankind.
That is the case at this bio-bay. Not worth the trip, or the money. There is nothing left there to see. Very sad.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rubytuezday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

I arrived in La Parguera on Friday(07/19) at about 10am. I first went to Johnny Boats to try to rent a small boat as I have read on this site could be possible.They did not have a boat available and could only ferry us to one of the islands(I was not interested in being dropped off). We walked next door to Cancel boats and were informed we could rent a boat for $35 for one hr but we rented it for 3, which was $90.They said that because I was under 35 if I was stopped by the DNRA I could be ticketed for not having a boating license. I took the risk and didn't have a problem. It was amazing. There are 3 descent sized mangrove islands with shallow, crystal clear water to anchor in. We ended up anchoring at Cayo Caracoles, along with numerous other boats, and snorkeling through the mangroves. There are sea urchins and starfish everywhere. Also colorful tropical fish. We were not ready to go. The town was very queit and laid back. I highly recommend adding this to your PR vacation.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank craiganem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay for a weekend getaway”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

La Parguera is a nice place for a weekend getaway with the family and/or friends. You can find any type of activies: boats to different little islands, bars, restaurants, kayaks, among others.
You can rent an apartment/house or you can stay on one of the hotels. The location is great because from La Parguera in Lajas you can visit Guanica and Cabo Rojo for great beaches.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordanar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“La Parguera”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Excellent place to visit and spend a quite vacation. I spend my week ends in one of the houses in stilts in the water and is anunique experience. My grandkids love it. They can fish right of the house's pier. The many mangrove islands are unique for bathing, kayaking ,parachute boarding ,sunfihing , paddle boarding and snorkeling. It is very pretty at night to see all the stilts houses lighthed up and to go to the bioluminescent bay trip. A lot of sea activity all the time. Food is excellent at the yacht club Turrumote restaurant ( Parguera's best restaurant ). Moons restaurant in the center of the village was excellent too although seating was limited . Very different atmosphere week day versus the festive weekend activity. The best fish turnovers and fish soup was at the Dead End take out restaurant. Reef Pub is excellent for the chicken tenders and homemade hamburgers.There are other local smal restaurants also available. A visit to the mangrove chanels in the west side of the area is a must. Magueyes Island is where they have the only Marine Sciences graduate studies. Students from all over the world come here for their PhD's and Master's Marine Biology progam in the island. It is sponsored by the University of Puerto Rico Mayaguez Campus. A truly a very special place that I would live permanently there anytime.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Resii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Parguera also viewed

 
El Yunque National Forest, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to La Parguera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing