We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great Caribbean vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of San Juan Bay

San Juan Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
US$70.00*
and up
San Juan Bay Day Sail
Ranked #339 of 575 things to do in Puerto Rico
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This bay abounds with sailing and boating opportunities.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great Caribbean vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Planning our trip to Puerto Rico in February was an excellent decision. There is very little precipitation in Jan. & Feb. It’s not as hot and nor as humid around that part of the year. We enjoyed our vacation immensely!

This Caribbean island is only 35 mi. x 100 mi., population is less than 4 million. English and Spanish are both official language, US $ is the official currency. Getting around is easy. Locals are eager to assist tourists. Puerto Rico (means “rich port”), is a friendly place and relatively safe. 2 of us were touring the island without any problem or concern.

We started our adventure in the capital, San Juan. The charming 16th and 17th Century buildings of the “old town” were impressive. Start at La Casita and wear good hiking shoes for it can take 2-4 hrs. to cover it. Take advantage of the free, open-sided trolley. Look for the “Parada” sign. Take time to notice the beautiful Bougainvilleas and other subtropical plants as you’ll bump into many tourists on the way. Visit the San Juan Museum of Art and History which was built in 1855 as a market and restored in 1979 as a cultural center, showcases Puerto Rico art and music, including concerts and festivals. Open Tuesday-Sunday, 10am - 4pm.

You can hardly pass off El Morro, full name is Castillo San Felipe del Morro, which was named in honor of King Phillip II, it’s a 16th-century citadel. The construction of the Castillo San Felipe del Morro began in 1540, completed in 1589. Most of the walls in the fort today were added later, rising 140 ft. above sea level and its 18 ft. thick. It fell only once, in 1598, to a land assault by the Earl of Cumberland's forces. The fort is a maze of tunnels, dungeons, barracks, outposts and ramps. El Morro is the largest fortification in the Caribbean. In 1992, the fortress was restored to its historical form in honor of the 500th anniversary of the discovery of Puerto Rico by Christopher Columbus. El Morro Fortress is a National Historic Sit. It is open to the public everyday from 9am to 6pm except on Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day and New Year's Day.

The San Cristóbal fort was very interesting as well. It is supported by a massive system of outworks which provided defense in depth and it is one of the largest defenses ever built in the Americas. It rose 150 feet, covering 27 acres of land. Allow an hour or so to visit this fort. The view from it is spectacular!

We hiked El Yunque Nat. Forest. It’s a serene, subtropical rainforest with more than 240 native species and lovely birds, wild life.
The 30 mi. pristine Luquillo Beach, also the Vieques, Mosquito Bay is a great place to soak in the sun. We took the boat to Culebra (one of the best small island beaches). It was fantastic! Did I mention rum in my right up? No? I just can not skip that important item of Puerto Rico’s tradition. San Juan is the largest home-based cruise port in the world. Twenty-eight vessels use San Juan as their home port, and each year new cruise ships either originate or call at the port. There is just so much to see and enjoy in Puerto Rico, we can hardly wait to go back before too long.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 2013happytrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    2
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Visit San Jaun Puerto Rico ASAP”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

I have visited many Carribean islands in my lifetime, but find Puerto Rico, one of the pretiest, most friendly, and safe island of them all. I had visited San Juan previously as a port-of-call on cruise ships, but had never stayed any length of time. This time I stayed for almost a week. It is beautiful and I am returning in January of 2014 for San Sebastian festival. I was so impressed by the cleanliness of the island, the friendliness of the people, and the many attractions Puerto Rico has to offer. I stayed at the Sheraton Old San Juan, a great locations....you can walk to all the attractions. They also have a free shuttle, that you can hop on and off at. A trip to the rainforest is a must. Restaurants are great. Looking forward to my next trip!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank juliepsheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Queen Elizabeth 1st & Sir Frances Drake (the pirate) would have loved to see the sites I saw! Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

Love the History & loved seeing where it had happend! Take a walk around & read the signs they tell the stories but the views say it all! Enjoy!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leshadanadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Architecture - Uphill Climb”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

Old San Juan has some really great architecture, which reminds me in a way of New Orleans, but on a big hill. There are also two old stone forts at the edge of the island, which was the purpose for settling the island so they are worth seeing in detail. There is a free trolley that will pick you up and drop you off all over old town. If you take it to the second fort, it's all down hill from there. Trust me, there are steep climbs if you don't. There are lots of great restaurants. The shops seemed to be nice tourist shopping destinations. There are a few shops that sold only local merchandise. They are well marked. I found the prices to be similar to those in the states. My friend scored a wool pea jacket for about $25, so I suppose a deal can be found on warmer clothes. But who wants to think about that when you're in sandals and a tank top?

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank IES-Reston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loxley, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Christmas in San Juan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

One cannot describe the old world charm of San Juan. The narrow streets, the colorful buildings and the people. Retiring there is not out of the question.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Juan Bay also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
Puerto Rico, Caribbean
El Yunque National Forest, Puerto Rico
 

Been to San Juan Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing