We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice beach for surfing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arecibo

Ranked #292 of 571 things to do in Puerto Rico
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A small colonial town known for the enormous radio telescope used to explore the heavens.
NY
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice beach for surfing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We traveled to PR for a vacation in Feb 2014 to get away from the eternal winter Upstate New York has been experiencing. Friends from PR or who had visited PR in the past suggested visiting Arecibo, so we rented a car and drove about one hour west of San Juan. The historic site is cheesy but kids would probably enjoy it. it's clean and colorful. We spent the day on the beach watching the surf crash on rock formations and surfers trying to catch a wave or two. The area was quiet and not overcrowded and the waters were clean and clear. It was one of our favorite stops on our trip. Also there are a couple of restaurants right along the water if you were interested in eating something out that way.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 4figgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Crazy Town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

After having a couple of locals advise us to not wear flashy jewelry and not mention that we have an iPhone, we found ourselves looking over our backs quite a bit: not my idea of a relaxing vacation. We realize that this can also be the case in many parts of the US, but here we just REALLY felt like tourists and there's no "blending in"; they know you're here and have money. As soon as the sun went down, we just didn't feel safe being outside of our beach house unless we were with the group we came with. We were there for a friends destination wedding but it seemed like a lot of work for something that could've been achieved in the States.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RRSHOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cueva del Indio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Nice place to go, easy to get to. Its has an spectacular view to the sea that literally took my breath away.
If you decide to go, please use closed shoes and bring a back pack with water. be prepare to explore on you own, There is an old wood stair that gives you access to the cave. Once inside be careful with the rocks. So please be advice and use closed shoes.
The parking is $2.00 and the entrance to the cave is 50 cents per person.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank omayra_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Villa Capitan Correa”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

The town of Arecibo is known as La Villa del Capitán Correa. It is a town with history and beautiful countryside. Our best attractions are the same type, which is free. Our people are friendly and will always be available to help. Between English we do not practice, so it is very basic, many smile and gestures I'm sure you will feel at home. I invite you to visit any restarurant or cafeteria will serve excellent local food in generous portions.

It is unfortunate that the town center does not reflect that point. The town square was the meeting place, but acutualmente is very deteriorated. Although it has been several arrangements reality is that one Sunday in our city looks like you've entered a desolate place as there are many vacant buildings.

Recently invested a lot of money to the beachfront promenade but have not finished. Beware, not all serve our beaches for swimming. The sea is rough and the shore depth can change quickly. But we have several places to enjoy swimming. The beach is next to the port, at least the town and people are doing paa keep them clean but the reality is that the beauty is overshadowed by how dirty the water is. But there are others that you can visit and enjoy.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Ana1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Everything is absolutely beautiful at La Cueva de la Ventana...This was the first time that I visited La Cueva de la Ventana and it took my breath away.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank sohec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arecibo also viewed

 

Been to Arecibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing