We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't even consider it!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant El Taino

Restaurant El Taino
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, Puerto Rican
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
San Juan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't even consider it!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

Tried to have lunch after Parque de las Cavernas, Service is so bad we have to left without eating!!! After 45 mins of taking our order no sight of our lunch and when asked what happened the waiter told us that there was 3 more orders in front of us, we asked for garlic bread they gave us a microwaved reheated old bread with the smell of garlic! We asked for our check (for sodas!!) and left!!! Dont go there

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    1
    5
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
269 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Real Puerto Rican food near Camuy River Cave Park”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

For those of you visiting Camuy River Cave Park, you can get the real Puerto Rican deal at very good price just a mile or so south of the park on Route 129. Food not great but authentic. Service friendly but slow, and servers English not so great - as I said, this is the real, deal, not a tourist restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chazzq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wanted to give it a higher rating but couldn't :(”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

I ate here with my wife after being handed their menu from the Rio Camuy Caves in Arecibo. I expected to get a great traditional meal especially since the park was suggesting it but unfortunately I was wrong.

The food took forever to come and the service was sadly not good. The rabbit mofongo was sub-par and the rice was undercooked. I waited too long for the check and the waitress was literally just standing around not paying attention. My wife went to use the restroom and the toilets were backed up and non-functional.

I ate here as a kid with my dad when I visited these caves over 15 years ago and the the place looks exactly the same. I remember the food being better then but then again, I was a kid.

I feel bad leaving a negative review because I would like to see this place do much better however there were just too many negatives this time around to constitute a recommendation from me.

I'd recommend pulling over to one of the several vendors along the street and getting some food there instead.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Solo0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flyover Country, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not the worst meal I've ever eaten...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

I was desperate for a meal after visiting an archeological site, and thought I would give this place a try rather than eating at a chain restaurant. It was a poor decision. I had a pork chop, which was ok, but pretty bland, as was the beans and rice. The cheese flan was undistinguished. The decor was tawdry and the service indifferent. The whole experience reminded me of visiting a struggling place on Route 66 back in the 1970's. The big, empty parking lot, the large, open room with old fixtures and few patrons, and the uninspiring food. Then, as now, I would have been better off eating at a McDonalds or Subway.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Either they've been listening or people had too high expectations.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

Yea, the little guy at the Camuy Caverns sent us here. Yea, he's probably an owner. Welcome to capitalism.
Anyway, we met the owner on deck, his son. He was incredibly cordial to us. We came before most were there, around 11:30, because we went to the caves to avoid those crowds. He took time out to direct us to the window caves and gave us a route to San Juan along the coast where we found a secluded, not easily accessible protected beach where sea turtles come to nest. No I won't be sharing where this is because if and when we come back we'll hopefully use this beach to see them in season.
On to the food. We got a platter of traditional food to split, a sort of cheese pie cooked in a shell with pork, some yellow rice stir fried with pigeon peas and mashed plantain cakes, which we substituted out blood sausage to get, and some pork tenderloin. Everything was cooked well, except the pork which was dry but not terriblw. The cheese pie was velvety. The plantain cakes were delicious.
I didn't experience the same slow service issues, but it wasn't starting to get busy until we left. I also point out there were two groups of locals that were there with us, so it was at least encouraging. It was a hole in the wall. It did not smell. It felt like a rural diner on the mainland. The prices could be a bit high, but we split our meal for $16 and it was plenty.
You could definitely do much worse than this place.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony_B_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant El Taino also viewed

 
 
Barceloneta, Puerto Rico
Sabana Grande, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Restaurant El Taino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing