We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little known jewel in the center of the island off the beaten path”

San Cristobal Canyon
Ranked #280 of 584 things to do in Puerto Rico
Attraction details
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little known jewel in the center of the island off the beaten path”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

A canyon forged by the Usabon river between the towns of Barranquitas and Aibonito. Lacks facilities of kind (i.e. has not been developed to receive visitors, you are on your own). The trails to go down there are not difficult to follow. It takes about a half hour hike downhill to reach the river, and after that is an 8-km riverbank walk where you'll find stunning views, waterfalls, deep natural pools. It takes the better part of a day to cross it whole, though an often more practical option is to reach as far as you comfortably can for a couple of hours and walk back to the starting point. Anybody can venture there but if no members of your party is familiar with the area, a guided tour is recommended. A number of local guides offer their services, will take you directly to the main highlights of the trek, will offer you some explanations of the geological history of the site, and some also offer rappelling and zipline options.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank ricardocolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    1
    1
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigamme, Michigan
1 review
“Simply Amazing”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I have to say that El Cananon is a great trip but the same tour guide took us to El Yunque, and I have to say I have never been to such an extreme trip. It was amazing, the tour guides, where so helpful and it was all to our speed. NO RUSHING! It was even better than El Canon.I cant wait to do it again, super fun time!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank diana d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Barranquitas...”
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

We did the canyon trek on July 5, 2013. The organizer, Go Hiking PR, stated that we needed to be at the Burger King in Barranquitas at 7:30 am. There we met with other Trekkers and the organizer, Samuel. After going through the preliminaries such as payment and signing waivers, we followed the main car in caravan to the starting point. We signed up for the mid-level trek. We got our gear such as a helmet and life preserver and started ziplining about 150 feet to the other side of the river. We continued walking up and down the hills as we approached various water holes where you could jump into them. You can see the canyon from the top and then walk down and jump into the water there. The last 30 minutes were tough as we needed to walk up hill to end the trek by the school bus that would take us back to our cars. It was a great trek and physically exhausting if you aren't in good shape. The trek was well organized and the guides were very helpful. Please keep in mind that you will use ladders to go down in some areas and ropes and tree branches to go up and down in others. You will get wet and possibly slip and get bruised a few times but it is worth it. It is not considered a tourist attraction but mostly an adventure/trekking attraction. Happy trekking...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Domingo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Canyoning with Montana Explora”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Montana Explora is a father-son (Ricky Lopez is the dad) team of two with whom we went on a crazy canyon adventure. It is a 4-5 hour activity, to which you can add a couple of hours travel time getting there and back from San Juan on your rental car. Add an hour more, if you get lost, like us (the GPS was not very reliable).

These guys were awesome, they truly love nature, do environmentally responsible travel and know a whole lot about the local plants and trees. Every few minutes they'd stop and show us local flora. But this is more than just a nature field trip. We trekked down 500 ft into the canyon, then walked along a stream then a ledge to a narrow point where we had nowhere else to go. The guys then secured a rope to a tree and asked us to rappel down about 200 ft into an underground river. Yes, an underground river! We got down till the end of the rope after which we jumped into the river (i don't know how to swim, had a life jacket), flapped around till we got to one end of the pond where there was this waterfall happening. To be sure, the guys had a little ladder propped up against a rock, and then we had to climb the ladder, and then climb a whole bunch of rocks against the flow of water (yes, we were climbing up a waterfall, it felt risky as hell) to the top. Its the craziest thing I've ever done. If you don't mind an adventure fraught with some risk and a lot of excitement, this is THE thing to do in Puerto Rico.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank radhika0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, null, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent extreme exercise”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Good teamwork and the tour was a real challenge!!..Sidewalks are high and the road is hard to walk, but worth it. I have a great time with my best friends

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karmen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Cristobal Canyon also viewed

Barranquitas, Puerto Rico
Puerto Rico, Caribbean
 
Comerio, Puerto Rico
Patillas, Puerto Rico
 

Been to San Cristobal Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing