We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this place ❤️”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Harbor Brewery - CLOSED

Old Harbor Brewery
Cuisines: Bar, Brew Pub, Caribbean, Pub, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
173 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Loved this place ❤️”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed this place! Location is perfect as it is across from the water. We loved the staff & our server was amazing. She explained items on the menu we were unsure of. She recommended we each order a different beer so we could try a few different kinds.
The food was delicious!

Helpful?
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    115
    77
    33
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I was drug to this restaurant by a friend who had to have lobster. Basically this is an average restaurant with a selection of craft beer. The prices were a bit high for the quality and the atmosphere. My Kobe burger (doubt it was Kobe beef) was $20 and his lobster was $92.00!!!! They said it was a 3.1 pound lobster, which I doubt. Come on, $92.00 for lobster? My burger was more done than I ordered and his lobster was almost undercooked. Service was ok as was the beer. This was definitely not worth the trip.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guaynabo, null, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great beer..!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Great beer you have taste Santo Viejo and La Taina, the food it's not so good and too expensive. They have a beer tasting ask for it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rodney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stopped here for dinner on a friend's recommendation, but would not recommend to others. We didn't have a bad experience by any means; there are just too many other great spots to visit in San Juan. It was a busy night - loud and crowded, which we expected. The food took a long time to come out, and was average. We were a large party (8 people) so it was great that they accomodated us on a night like that!

We felt it was over-priced for the quality and amount of food. The drinks were very pricy as well. We are all for paying for good food and dining experiences, but, this was not worth it to us. It had a touristy vibe - there didn't seem to be many "locals" there.

Try some of the quainter, less touristy places is what I would recommend to others! We may even hit up one of the many food trucks in downtown on our next visit - more authentic and affordable, too!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caguas, null, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible Service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I went here on a Friday night. I told to the host that we (2) want to sit at the bar. They only had 2 tables full and some people at the bar. So the place was clearly empty and not busy at all. We seated at the bar and wait, and wait, and WAIT for someone to great us and ask "what we want". I wait about 15 min and they just look at us and keep walking. Terrible costumer service. It seems that this place is run by nobody, lack of manager nor authority. They are only working to get tips and that is absolutely wrong. If you are a worker in a tourist area or any area you should be there by the costumer, to serve and attend. Not to generate some "tips". The key to success is in making that the costumer returns to my business. PLEASE SAVE YOUR MONEY AND YOUR TIME AND FIND SOME OTHER PLACE SO MUCH BETTER!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Harbor Brewery also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing