We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Caleta 64 Apartment
Ranked #13 of 30 San Juan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We had an enjoyable visit. The apartment was clean, comfortable, beautiful, and everything worked well. The location is great and the owner very friendly and helpful in providing information about the surrounding area. We stayed in Casablanca. The open air courtyard was fun and allowed us to watch the rain and yet stay dry. The beds were comfortable and the showers worked great. Our only minor complaint would be that the light shines in from the hallway (through the window in the door to the apt) so that the person sleeping on the futon has a light shining on them all night long, no matter how you position the futon. Perhaps figuring out a way to cover the window would help. All in all, a great apartment, charming character and features in the building, and a lovely stay. All apts were occupied but the building was peaceful. The area felt very safe. We would definitely stay again and highly recommend Caleta 64. Thank you Betsy for the care you put into these apts!

Room Tip: Casblanca is beautiful and it is fun to have the open courtyard. You can hear the frogs chirping at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keepthebagspacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

Spent the weekend at La Caleta for a friend's wedding across the street at El Convento. The owner Betsy is fantastic and extremely helpful. My incoming flight was delayed but she was happy to wait up late, speak to my cab driver to give directions, and make sure that I was settled in and got there safe. The location couldn't be better and the room was spacious and clean with excellent air conditioners and light. My only complaint would be slow internet. Then again maybe it was the universe telling me not to work on vacation. For the price I'm not sure you can get a better deal.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Our host and hostess were gracious, accomodating, helpful. We were two doors down from an amazing restaurant with a Flamenco show Friday and Saturday. night. We were down the hill from the Old Cathedral.

Room Tip: Location was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmstx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Spent two days after 5 in Cuelbra Nov 2012 (sorry late in review but great experience). Owner greeted us and gave us great recommendations - totally appreciated. Apartment is mindblowing: sexy, aged, even helped us with our floor remodel in our home (loved the aged brick...seriously aged!) You won't regret booking any room with Caleta 64 (although we really don't want to share this amazing place... book at el convento instead:-)

Room Tip: Even though El Puerto was on the bottom floor we were good with closing the main doors and opening t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HBwavehunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We have traveled to old San Juan multiple times, and frequently stay in El Convento, a beautiful hotel on the square just across the street from Caleta 64. I was nervous about staying here, as was not sure it would meet our needs for PR character coupled with modern amenities and was a bit nervous about a street level entry, from a standpoint of security. No worries! The apt (La Puerta) was very comfortable , and afforded privacy and space not readily available in a hotel. As most guests have commented on previously, the host, Betsy Garcia is most gracious and helpful, and the location is ideal for exploring the old city. We did not cook in the apt (too many interesting places to try in town) so can not attest to functionality of the kitchen, but the sleeping area in the loft worked well, and downstairs, opening the windows wide, sip wine and watch and hear (there was frequently a musician outside) were great. Wi Fi worked well, for anyone who needs to stay connected. We took a cab from the airport, and when we left for a few days at the beach, we had Charlie's car rental pick us up at the corner and transport us to their office to pick up a car. I highly recommend this, as it is much simpler than trying to park a car in Old San Juan, which would be both difficult and pricey.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosa001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Betsy Garcia was very accommodating and
charming and she went out of her way to make us feel welcome. All the apartments are all very comfortable & very secure. They have a beautiful old charm! They have everything u need for a comfortable stay. They are located central to everything. We had great stay



  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Great location! We walked everywhere in Old San Juan -- and when our feet gave out, we took the buses that circle the old city. The apartment itself is unique -- our first floor apartment was built around an open courtyard! Convenient small kitchen -- AND a washer and dryer. We'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Betty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,769 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.1 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Herencia
Villa Herencia
#5 of 30 in San Juan
312 reviews
3.3 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
3.0 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caleta 64 Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caleta 64 Apartment

Address: 64 Caleta de San Juan | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901-1506, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range: £107 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Caleta 64 Apartment 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of Old San Juan this luxury colonial structure dates back to the 1800s having been refurbished successively during the 1900s and most recently for the opening of Caleta 64 Apartments. It is comprised of 5 apartments on three floors.In Caleta 64 Apartments the seventeen high feet ceilings and twenty four inch thick brick walls depict the traditional style of Old San Juan. These features were designed to maintain these large structures aired by constantly circulating fresh air from its ample interiors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Caleta 64 Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caleta 64 Apartment Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing