We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Caleta 64 Apartment
Ranked #13 of 30 San Juan B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed in the Adoquin room, and couldn't have been happier with our experience. Betsy was so easy to work with and available for anything we needed. The room was incredibility beautiful, and the porch overlooked a stunning street that had little traffic. The full kitchen made cooking a great experience, and having the washer and dryer was really handy. We will definitely be staying here again next time we are in OSJ!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    60
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
75
128
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in the front top floor apartment (I think it's the Algonquin, but I can't remember). It was exactly what we wanted - clean, well located, and made us feel a bit more "local". Checking in was easy, we found street parking in old San Juan and then just used our feet to get around the area. There are tons of great restaurants nearby and old San Juan itself is so beautiful and lively. The front balcony on the apartment was perfect for enjoying a beer between our day plans and a late dinner. Overall, a wonderful stay!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SweetMer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed in the "Casablanca" unit on the first floor of Caleta 64, with its traditional interior courtyard -- what a treat to hear the rain showers and the faint music of street musicians coming from the courtyard. I loved the experience, and the two nights we spent here were quiet, very private, and comfortable. However, I don't know if this particular unit would be comfortable for a full week, since it's a bit dark and damp, due to rain and some plumbing problems. The owners have created beauty in this space, though, which is located on an intimate side street with the loveliest small park in Old San Juan, mature trees, historic properties.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed two nights in the first floor apartment, "Casablanca," and spent a good amount of time just talking about its charming peculiarities. The apartment was open to the sky so that when it rained, which it did several times, the rain came down into a central bricked court. The protected rooms -- kitchen, bedroom, living room -- were arrayed around this open area. High ceilings throughout...the amazing four or five story central court -- but no actual windows. So if you like such things you're going to like this. We did, but I could imagine getting tired of it after a while. And the rain did make for a musty smell throughout the apartment.

A great location right in the middle of Old San Juan. Some problems with the plumbing. But still and all a good experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbieRannigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Our trip just completed was an amazing experience. Our second visit for the San Sebastian festival and this location was perfect. Could participate in all the activites yet have a quiet retreat. Three people, worked perfectly could have easily had the fourth. The open courtyard was our bonus. We had a friend who came cooked Puertian Rico dishes for us a couple of times so the kitchen was perfect too. Well furnished with dishes, pans, etc. Besty was the ultimate "landlady" and we fell in love with her young children.

Room Tip: Check your ability for steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 311Kat313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelan, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We were two couples wanting a kitchen and two separate bedrooms. We reserved the Aldoquin, thinking that the word "Loft" indicated a separate room from the main bedroom. It was our error and so Betsy showed us the "Casa Blanca" downstairs which provided us with a kitchen, a bedroom with a full bath, and a living area with a couch that made into a comfortable bed and had its own small bathroom with a toilet and sink. In the middle is a patio with attractive plants completely open to the sun or rain.

The living room can be completely shut off with doors so in effect we had separate "bedrooms."
Our friends rewarded us with the actual bedroom and they made do with the 2nd "bedroom." The location is just fabulous being only a 1/2 block away from the famous San Juan Gate, the Cathedral, the Convent (now a beautiful hotel) and a only a block away from the Fortaleza which is the governor's home, 2 short blocks to the Plaza de Armas, restaurants, etc.

We loved Old San Juan and appreciated Betsy's willingness to change our apartment, offer advice on where to go and nearby restaurants. We would definitely recommend Caleta 64.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, but the steps are safe. Do you like cats?...lots of them are around outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelanllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We had an enjoyable visit. The apartment was clean, comfortable, beautiful, and everything worked well. The location is great and the owner very friendly and helpful in providing information about the surrounding area. We stayed in Casablanca. The open air courtyard was fun and allowed us to watch the rain and yet stay dry. The beds were comfortable and the showers worked great. Our only minor complaint would be that the light shines in from the hallway (through the window in the door to the apt) so that the person sleeping on the futon has a light shining on them all night long, no matter how you position the futon. Perhaps figuring out a way to cover the window would help. All in all, a great apartment, charming character and features in the building, and a lovely stay. All apts were occupied but the building was peaceful. The area felt very safe. We would definitely stay again and highly recommend Caleta 64. Thank you Betsy for the care you put into these apts!

Room Tip: Casblanca is beautiful and it is fun to have the open courtyard. You can hear the frogs chirping at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keepthebagspacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,734 reviews
0.3 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
947 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
222 reviews
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caleta 64 Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caleta 64 Apartment

Property: Caleta 64 Apartment
Address: 64 Caleta de San Juan | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901-1506, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Caleta 64 Apartment 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of Old San Juan this luxury colonial structure dates back to the 1800s having been refurbished successively during the 1900s and most recently for the opening of Caleta 64 Apartments. It is comprised of 5 apartments on three floors.In Caleta 64 Apartments the seventeen high feet ceilings and twenty four inch thick brick walls depict the traditional style of Old San Juan. These features were designed to maintain these large structures aired by constantly circulating fresh air from its ample interiors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Caleta 64 Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caleta 64 Apartment Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing