We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old San Juan charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Caleta 64 Apartment
Ranked #12 of 29 San Juan B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Old San Juan charm”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

The location couldn't be better, in the heart of Old San Juan, across the street from el Convento & down the block from the San Juan Gate from where we viewed gorgeous sunsets. Our apartment, Casa Blanca, was charming with a courtyard open to the sky. We had all the amenities we needed, including the washer/dryer which we used. The open air courtyard allowed us to sleep to the calls of the coquis. There was a general mustiness, possibly from the age of the building or the open courtyard, but the charm of the place outweighed the mustiness. Betsy, the innkeeper, was extremely courteous & helpful in getting us settled & situated. Our stay was enchanting, staying true to Puerto Rico being the Enchanted Island.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BnMadven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    59
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
75
127
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Seriously, this is the best location in old San Juan, bar none. I walked through all of old San Juan and there simply isn't a better geographic place. Period. Police on every corner of this neighborhood, and very few cars permitted in the area (see parking problems). Grocery store a short walk 3 blocks away.

My wife and I stayed with our 3 boys aged 12, 13, and 15 in the largest room/apartment available. The master bedroom was very comfortable. The room where the kids stayed was not as comfortable (older beds, not as cool, light shining through window in door, other little details) and the largest bed didn't quite fit 2 boys comfortably - probably better for 1 person per bed. The kitchen and laundry facilities were a great benefit and saved us hundreds of dollars in eating out.

Sounds nearly ideal, right? There were a few things that keep me from awarding 5 stars. Chronologically, the first problem was parking. We arrived on a festival night (don't do that) and barely crawled our way through San Juan to the property. It took forever and we finally arrived after 10:00 PM. The parking lot suggested by the property owner would have been OK at 0.5 km away, but it closed at 10:00 PM so I was stuck crawling in traffic looking for anyplace to stash my rental car. Finally found a structure, but it would have been better if the property owner had directed me there in the first place instead of the closed lot.

Next minor issue was plumbing. Not a big deal to me but a huge deal to my squeamish wife: no flushing toilet paper. Put it in the trash. If it doesn't really matter to you, don't deduct points for it. If you or your partner is "potty squeamish", you need to think about this.

Next minor issue was kitchen details: We loved the kitchen and it saved us a fortune in time and money eating out. However, a previous occupant had spilled some kind of black slime into the silverware tray and one of my boys nearly ate a meal with a filthy spoon. We ended up washing all dishes and silverware by hand and then washing the silverware tray to ensure there would be no issues. Also, every one of the acrylic cups was cracked and leaked. We used the big coffee mugs for everything. Our experience might have been a one-off because the previous occupant just didn't take care of the property.

The neighborhood is obviously old (***OLD*** San Juan) and is crawling with lizards and cats, so the inevitable roach did show up once during our stay. A place this old that was not maintained would be crawling with vermin, so to see only one roach indicated that they are taking care of the place and trying hard. Do not expect perfection in a house this old.

Overall, it was beautifully restored and very comfortable to stay in. Do not expect a mint on your pillow, central air conditioning, or resort amenities. It isn't that kind of place. This is a place where you can live for a short time in a historic town in an authentic building and experience the local culture. If you require all the comforts of a Marriott resort, you should stay at a Marriott resort. If you want to experience Old San Juan, I highly recommend Caleta 64.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vogonpoem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We started our vacation in Puerto Rico with 3 days in Old San Juan mid-June. As there were 4 of us with an odd mix (my sister and I, her teenaged son, and my elderly father) Ballaja was a good option for us. The apt was meticulously clean and well laid out. We didn't use the kitchen much but would have if we'd stayed longer. We were very thankful for the washer and dryer (along with laundry detergent) because it was very hot and we appreciated being able to change clothes frequently and launder them. The bedroom was large and comfortable, and the futon was also comfortable. There was also a pull-out over-sized chair which turned into a bed which had older springs, but when we put a pad (provided) on it, it was fine, according to my nephew. The bathroom and shower were very good and it was nice to have a 2nd half-bath available. The location is great-- we walked all over the city and felt completely safe doing so. The large SJ cathedral is 1 block away, the El Convento Hotel is almost across the street, with a no. of food options handy, and the El Morro fortress is an easy walk. Betsy was very accessible by phone and very helpful with suggestions for places to get breakfast and dinner and general advice on things going on. The only 2 minor issues we encountered were that the AC, as in all older buildings is less than optimal, even though the apt has 2 units in the BR and one of the other sleeping areas. As we were using all the available sleep options, we had to run it fairly continually in the evening in order to try to keep everyone comfortable. The other thing I wished for was a glimpse of the outdoors. The apt has one frosted window onto an empty lot (not attractive) and multiple large windows which open into a small central courtyard. But the apt. is on the 2nd floor and the window glass is frosted (and we had to keep windows closed to keep the apt from heating up), so you couldn't see anything. The windows provide a good bit of light but it sometimes felt very enclosed-- just having clear glass might have helped. However, we really liked the opportunity to stay in a traditional, historic, building in Old San Juan, the amenities, accessibility to so many places, and helpfulness of the owner and I'd recommend the apartments to friends.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arden, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Planned a special trip to the island with my mother, it has been 40+ years since she's been back home. After reading the reviews, which were glowing about the place, we decided on La Caleta trying to avoid the "tourist" feel of a hotel. When we arrived, we were pleased with the location, it being within walking distance of most everything there is to see in Old San Juan. The apartment itself was nice but even though there was a washer and dryer, there was no laundry detergent or even little sample shampoos/conditioners in the shower. I expect places like this to be stocked as it is a "home away from home" for the duration of the vacation. Some of the outlets didn't work as well. We were there on Saturday and Sunday evening, the power went out for over 12 hours. There was no air conditioning, no humidifier (crucial in the high humidity), no electricity, no wifi. We had to get dressed and ready in the dark the next morning before our outing and put on our makeup in the car. I had texted Betsy about it the evening before and she was checking with the power company and that it was possibly the whole block out and that it doesn't happen very often in that building. The rest of the week went without much more incident. We went to their store to speak with her Thursday, the day before we left, and were going over charges and discovered that the late checkout we had paid for was canceled because she said she had people coming in. She said she sent an email about it but from what we received there was no specific wording stating this, just another return email stating the charges. We asked about the night the power went out if there was some sort of compensation because we had to be without the aforementioned amenities and all she kept saying was, no she did not offer compensation because the power going out was not her fault. No it was not her fault but neither was it ours and it's her responsibility to see that her customers are comfortable and receiving the service they paid for. She said no one else complained about it so it wasn't her problem. That was not the case as a man who was staying upstairs knocked on our door and talked to us about the problems he had with her. He tried reporting her to the tourism center but since she isn't registered, there was nothing they could do. We were not demanding a full refund for that night but something, some sort of goodwill and customer service would have gone a long way with us. I had a great experience in Old San Juan as a first time visiting the land of my roots and the only bad thing was the experience with Betsy... I do not recommend this place at all! Avoid at all costs! We looked at El Convento and it was beautiful and the prices on the off season were comparable to what we payed at Caleta 64. So shop around and don't choose this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CandisCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Caleta 64 is a great alternative to a hotel during your stay in San Juan.

We stayed in Adoquin for eight days in April 2014 and the location and amenities made our stay very comfortable. We picked Adoquin for the huge doors that open onto a second floor balcony. It's a great place from which to people-watch on the quiet Caleta de San Juan.

The location of the Caleta 64 is just perfect. Steps away from San Juan Gate, El Convento Hotel, and the cathedral. It really is centrally located to just about everything in Old San Juan.

Betsy Garcia is super helpful, so its cool to rely on her for restaurant recommendations and other useful information to help you enjoy the island.

Room Tip: We peaked into the other rooms. They all look great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Porsche_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

If you are looking for authentic historical charm, with all of the comforts of home, in the best location, at a great value, look no further, We stayed in Adoquin for two nights pre-cruise. (We have previously stayed at Villa Herencia and El Convento.) There is simply no better location in all of the Old City; step out the front door and you can see the cathedral at one end, and the city gate at the other. The street is quiet and shaded. All sites of interest are easily walkable. You are just steps away from the forts, the Governor's Mansion, etc.
There are so many things I did like about our apartment, Adoquin. We picked up just a few things at the market two blocks away: drinks, tea, cereal, sandwich fixings, etc., and we had everything we needed to make a light breakfast or lunch. The balcony is the real star of this apartment, we spent hours sitting out there watching the cats, listening to the birds, music from the cathedral, musicians from the square, while people watching and marveling at the historical significance of the area. The apartment is well-appointed and the washing machine came in handy for a small load of laundry before embarking. The ceiling fans kept the unit pleasantly comfortable during the day (although we were out for much of the time) and the large air conditioning unit cooled it down quickly at night. Excellent television choices as well as internet connectivity. As said previously, Betsy is a fantastic host.
There are two things worth mentioning, there was the overlying smell of mold/mildew (something we've encountered frequently in older tropical buildings). This is in no way a reflection of the standards of housekeeping, the apartment was spotless, and my allergies seemed completely unaffected. There was no hair dryer in the unit and since we were in a hurry to make a dinner reservation, I did not call to see if one was available. These are minor and would not prevent us from staying here again.

Room Tip: Adoquin for the amazing balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sippican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

If you want to explore Old San Juan, there is no better place to stay. Just a couple blocks from everything. Betsy was a great host and very helpful in giving directions. The place can accommodate 5 nicely, very clean and very attentive to making the guest feel welcome. Do not waste your money staying in a hotel, this is the place. Enjoy the historic location right from here.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,711 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.3 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
212 reviews
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caleta 64 Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caleta 64 Apartment

Property: Caleta 64 Apartment
Address: 64 Caleta de San Juan | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901-1506, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Caleta 64 Apartment 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of Old San Juan this luxury colonial structure dates back to the 1800s having been refurbished successively during the 1900s and most recently for the opening of Caleta 64 Apartments. It is comprised of 5 apartments on three floors.In Caleta 64 Apartments the seventeen high feet ceilings and twenty four inch thick brick walls depict the traditional style of Old San Juan. These features were designed to maintain these large structures aired by constantly circulating fresh air from its ample interiors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Caleta 64 Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caleta 64 Apartment Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing