We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“absolutely heavenly ambience (and the food is pretty good too)”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Patio del Nispero

Patio del Nispero
Ranked #106 of 1,001 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$45
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Puerto Rican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nested in the heart of the Historic Hotel El Convento, Patio del Nispero offers the perfect setting for a casual breakfast, lunch, Puerto Rican tapas, cocktails or a romantic dinner. A "must visit" during your visit in Puerto Rico.
New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“absolutely heavenly ambience (and the food is pretty good too)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We ended up at the Patio del Nispero after getting rained on (the rain came out of seemingly nowhere-- not uncommon in the Caribbean) and going into the lobby of the Convento for cover.

The crowning glory of this place is the setting: forming the courtyard/atrium of the hotel, it is incredibly peaceful and quiet- a welcome respite from hustling and bustling San Juan (the same is true for the hotel overall).

The food is very good too (I had the chicken sandwich, my partner the cuban wrap). And for a high end hotel, not overpriced. But (and if you see some of my other reviews of San Juan restaurants, you will notice, this is a recurring theme), the service, while always friendly, would embarrass a snail. Every component took forever. Our food (not difficult to prepare) took almost 50 minutes to arrive, and only after multiple hints.
Perhaps they were understaffed? But that shouldn't be an excuse, I suppose. Finally, the bartender offered us complimentary beverages- a nice gesture. And again, I will stress they were super nice and friendly.

I would certainly go back and continue to recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    56
    24
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
117 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Relaxing and enjoyable!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The terrace restaurant Patio Del Nispero in the Hotel El Convento is a Gem in the Old center of PR. We had dinner in this place and atmosphere was very relaxing feeling of being in the old days. The restaurant is situated within the courtyard of the hotel and shaded by the big tree. It feels cool without air condition and wonderfully relaxing. Service was good and very attentive waiter. Food was good as well. Its little pricey for low budget traveler but if you can spare some $$ in exchange of best food experience do stop by.Dinner will cost you about $50/person including a drink.

Nice place to indulge if you can afford it and need for a relaxing evening..

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zahed I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely courtyard dining in the middle of Old San Juan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I had read about Patio del Nispero and really wanted to eat dinner or lunch here when in Old San Juan because the ambiance just looked so inviting. I wasn’t disappointed. The restaurant is located in the middle of the Hotel El Convento. The courtyard has trees, many plants, a fountain, and when you look up you can see the plants hanging off the inner walkways of the hotel. It was a very pleasant place to stop and have lunch after much walking about in Old San Juan. We had a starter of bruschetta which was very good but they only give you about 6 pieces of bread to dip into the bruschetta. Luckily we had a basket of bread that we used to get every last bit. My daughter and I split a club sandwich with fries which was good but nothing spectacular. Since we didn’t have anything else, I can’t comment on the other menu items. Service was a little haphazard – took quite awhile to get the bruschetta and the side with the sandwich was wrong but no worries. If you’re looking for a really nice place with a good atmosphere to take a break from sightseeing, Patio del Nispero is a good choice!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful food, ambiance and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stopped in one night for a post-dinner cocktail and to check out the famed hotel. (we were staying at La Concha in Condado) We had DELICIOUS drinks--best drink I had in all of San Juan was the ginger mojito at this place--and received excellent service from the bartender. He not only gave us some suggestions for where to eat local, authentic Puerto Rican food while on our trip, he went so far as to write down a number of actual dishes we should try when we went there! The next day we had lunch at La Cueva as he suggested and were not disappointed. We decided to return to Patio del Nispero for our last night (this was our honeymoon, by the way) and have dinner. The same bartender took care of us and EVERYTHING he recommended on the menu was divine. My husband and I both had filet mignon. His was stuffed with gorgonzola and had a blackberry sauce. Mine was done with red wine and mushrooms. We also had a side of risotto and more of those amazing mojitos. The ambiance of the place can't be beat, either. And afterward the quaint and well-lit cobblestone streets and small plaza nearby make for great post-dinner walking.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieMegG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,566 reviews
734 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 955 helpful votes
“Fabulous location ... disappointing food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We were staying in the El Convento Hotel and though the patio restaurant in the inner courtyard would be a perfect finish to our stay before heading off to the airport. We were quickly seated when we arrived at the restaurant but the service thereafter was spotty at best - it looked like one waiter was trying to manage all of the tables. However, we were most disappointed in the food.

To stat we shared the appetizer sampler plate as we felt it would give us a wide variety of local specialties including mofongo. Sadly, the food look tired and most of it was very greasy. Even our wraps which we ordered for our main course were less than desirable and served with very greasy plantain chips. Perhaps it was an off day for the restaurant but our experience certainly isn't making us want to rush back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Patio del Nispero also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Patio del Nispero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing