We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool was the highlight, shame about the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We chose this Hotel for its proximity to the conference centre. And for location purposes it is good, 100 meter walk to the conference. There is also a reasonable restaurant between the hotel and the centre. We checked in reasonably fast, 2 of our friends were waiting in line the day before we arrived for 90 minutes however.

Staff at this Hotel demonstrated that they were there only for the pay check. We got a strong impression that know one was interested in helping you. For example, we were using breakfast coupons for 'American' breakfasts. After being seated and seeing the buffet we expected this was the 'American' breakfast, to only be lectured 10 minutes later that we were to be charged for the buffet as we should have ordered off the menu. This led to a lengthy debate on communication techniques of restaurant staff. The next day we were told the opposite. FYI the breakfast is not that good, scrambled eggs can bounce in this restaurant and maybe the best choice is the yoghurt as it is not made OFF site. Unfortunately this area once had big plans judging by the shafts of steel construction rusting away in the neighbouring property. This means Sheraton food is very expensive! There is a brazilian steakhouse, do not expect value here either for a $60 steak and buffet.

Your saviour is the bus system that run s passed the hotel into town, have coins available to feed the onboard ticket machine, very cheap and takes approx 18 minutes into San Juan.

Our room was adequate, for the price it was it was rather inadequate I feel. See my Andalucia review for the guest house we stayed at in San Juan. We often had to ask for clean water glasses following our room being serviced, however complimentary water was always available for outings.

The local town is a walking distance where you can find a pharmacy, some fast food, and supermarket...potentially too far to walk back with purchases.

Before you look at the Old Sheraton reviews we had a friend who also stayed there. Room was bigger and location is where all the action happens in San Juan. Still expensive, no breakfast (no loss), small pool. Sheraton Casino has an amazing pool and huge sun deck which was the highlight of this hotel. We spent many hours up here in our spare time that was always well kept by the pool boy with towels etc. You may like to consider taking your own drinks, there is a bar open during the day however Sheraton prices exist be warned.

Room Tip: Speak spanish!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taqueeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,877 - 1,883 of 2,320 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

Booked a room with double beds, ended up getting a King size as the hotel was booked. There were no cots available- not optimale for three people! There were NEVER any towels at the pool. The first day we waited for nearly 30 minutes as we were told they would bring towels, they never came. As a matter of fact, we didn't see anybody there passing out towels our entire stay (4 days). When we requested additional towels for the room, we were told we had to wait at least one hour to get them. When calling the front desk from the room it mainly remained unanswered.
The lady working at the concierge was extremely rude and everythign but forthcoming with information, her excuse was, "I haven't had my coffee yet". The ATM in the lobby stayed out of order.
Overall, the hotel has a nice look and is modern. Pool area is nice, gym is decent. The service was HORRIBLE!
As far as location is concerned, wouldn't recommend it. Parking in the garage is 16/day for guests, but you can find parking around the hotel on the street for free.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mizzswiss14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

My husband and I booked with this hotel for 6 nights. It is beautiful inside and out but not close to anything but the convention center(so if you are attending an event at the conv. center then it is perfect) Condado and Old San Juan are at least a $13 taxi ride one way. We wound up taking the bus often because of the price difference from the taxis which are outrageously expensive and not for everyday spending! So from the bus we got to see a lot of the projects in the local area...nice! No refrigerator in the room which was a pain so we couldn't really keep any leftovers. The one restaurant in the hotel - Texas de Brazil was delicious and great service but not for eating at every night because it is expensive and you eat so much!! So the other food choices in the hotel are not good and very few. And there is no where in walking distance to get a bite to eat. The infinity pool is beautiful but got crowded often and closed early evening around 7pm. Also at the end of the stay, we got a letter under our door telling us that checkout would be at 11am not their usual 12pm...nice again! And also a bill for $55 for local phone calls which I found out were to Florida - we live in New York and don't call Florida ever so that means someone used our phone! So the concierge was helpful and told us that they were going to disregard the charges because I was upset. So anyway - the concierges were extremely helpful and pleasant and well as most of the other staff - just the location is a big downer - we would definitely stay out on the west or southern coast next time or in Old San Juan since that is where we spent most of our time. Also there was a stain on our carpet and the pillows were not good!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel before and after a cruise.

On our first night there we arrived after 4 only to find our room not ready, so we were upgraded to a suite. A suite with no linens for the pullout sofa and carpets stained worse than any LaQuinta I've ever stayed at - huge dark brown stains on beige carpeting in every room.

Despite numerous calls to the front desk, the linens for the pullout didn't arrive until 9:30pm. We were able to make those numerous calls because we checked in on a Saturday and the hotel was throwing a party for the locals, as they apparently do every weekend. A Coors Light Party. The lobby, elevators and halls were full of drunk girls in overstuffed bikinis, guys who reeked of beer, sweat and marijuana, and general mayhem.

Because the party was being held at the pool, we were told our children were not permitted to swim; and so we were confined to our dirty little room.

There is very little around the hotel, so we ordered room service for the kids. It took two hours for it to arrive: overpriced, undercooked, cold pizza, the front desk explained it away by saying that they were having trouble finding someone to bring it to the room since all of their employees were waiting on the local drunks at the pool.

The next morning we went down to the pool only to find it full of cigarette butts and smelling of urine. The maintenance crew arrived minutes after us, ushered everyone out and taped it off until they could clean it.

They wouldn't let us change our returning reservation to the Old San Juan Sheraton without paying some sort of fee, so we went back for two nights following the cruise. Same filthy carpets, same poor service...

Don't bother with the optional add on of the 12th floor lounge's continental breakfast and nightly Hors d'œuvres - they were usually served an hour late and the food ran out within minutes. The lounge attendants were also bizarrely protective of their offerings, at one point trying to convince two of our children to split one hot cocoa packet between both of their cups of water.

The restaurant downstairs is fairly pricey: $15 for a hamburger, $20 for the breakfast buffet.

Also check your bill. They were adding an unexplainable $30 "Service Fee" to every night's stay. When they failed to provide a reasonable explanation for its existence, we had it removed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BibySPHC, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our property. We are dedicated to the comfort and satisfaction of our guests, and regret that we failed to live up to your expectations. We appreciate that you mentioned the condition of our carpet; we deep clean our carpets very often and it was surprising to read that your room was not to our Sheraton standards. Of course, we cleaned your carpet immediately after your stay in light of your comments. While the Coors Light party that you reference is an annual event, not weekly, we regret that you found the behavior of our guests unfavorable. Our management team has reviewed your comments regarding your experience and updated our guidelines to ensure better outcomes under these circumstances. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and create memorable experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

This hotel is a bit of a catch 22. While it was beautiful and definitely pulled out all the stops for luxury, the lack of customer service will ensure that I never stay there again. Due to a mistake of the hotel billing a company for my hotel bill that I was not affiliated with, I have spent over 8 hours on the phone trying to get this resolved (still unresolved three weeks later). Not once was I ever called back (I always had to call them). I was lucky if my emails were answered within 10 days. I was staying at the hotel for a conference along with many other colleagues, all of whom had some sort of problem with their hotel bills who are experiencing difficulty in getting resolution.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BibySPHC, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Thank you sharing your concerns about your recent stay. We are very sorry to hear about your experience and we have addressed these issues with our Finance Department. Please contact me at prcc.sales@sheraton.com at your convenience if your issue still has not been resolved. In the meantime please know that we have shared your feedback with our staff and we have reviewed the other issues to ensure that this doesn’t happen again. We hope you will reconsider your decision and will come to stay with us again.

Again we apologize and we thank you for sharing your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We stayed here for a weekend after spending a week in Condando at a friend’s apartment because of a party in the hotel on Saturday night.

The location is central in that you can get to the Condando downtown area (over the bridge) in 2 minutes and to Old San Juan in 5-7 minutes as well. We took the bus (quick and cheap) but there were plenty of taxis as the hotel is right across from the new convention center.

The rooms were nice, however, the view from one side of the building is great...pool...cruise ships...and the other gives you a view of Condando (not so nice...the view, not the town). So I would request a pool side room if you want a nice view.

The pool area is nice...not huge, but big enough to take a dip and cool down. There is a bar/snack area which is very reasonable. The area was crowded, but there were places to sit and lounge, just not in the shade if you needed it...you had to get down early for that. Also, there was a fountain area that kids can play in (my 1 year old LOVED it). To be clear, you can't 'swim' here but it is deep enough to get your whole body wet and there are ledges for kids as well.

The best part of the hotel is the service. The people working there were great...very helpful and courteous. Didn’t care for the breakfast buffet (pricey for what you get, but what do you expect), however the staff was quick with drinks and coffee. Not sure I would stay again, but not because of the hotel, just because it is not our style. However, if you want a modern, clean hotel this place was great....and if you stay on the 12th floor, you get access to a lounge area that has breakfast and a great balcony with a nice view (this was there the party was on Saturday night). All in all a very nice stay and I could recommend this to anyone who likes this style hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you are pool side....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucky49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BibySPHC, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

We appreciate your comments about our hotel and the level of service you received! We continually score very high on guest satisfaction surveys, of which we are very proud. Our Associates do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable and they have a reputation for their friendliness and being courteous. We especially appreciate you mentioning that you liked our property even though it wasn’t your style. It was a delight to read that your son enjoyed our fountain and pool area and hope that he had a memorable experience.

Thank you again for your comments and your recommendations to others, and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your overall stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

The receptionist was very friendly and offered valuable information about the hotel and Puerto Rico. The hotel's reception area is beautiful to look at, especially at night. The beds and pillows in the room were comfortable to sleep on. We had a city-view balcony, but that didn't bother us because the hotel is so nice. The food was delicious, but expensive. Check out their infinity pool, it has a wonderful view of the surrounding area. There was a festival going on across from the hotel and the music was a joy to listen to and fun dancing to! The hotel is located next to the Puerto Rico Convention Center. We loved this hotel and plan on staying there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank precious4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BibySPHC, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

It is with delight we read your comments shared with Trip Advisor. Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel and Casino as your vacation destination. We are indeed appreciative to receive such wonderful comments about our brand new property, the amenities, location, infinity pool, and the variety of activities around the island for all ages. We will definitely share your kind words to our caring staff, who takes pride in delivering memorable experience to every guest.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon to create more fun memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
975 reviews
1.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
2.1 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Address: 200 Convention Boulevard, San Juan 00907-4905, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#8 Family Hotel in San Juan
#9 Business Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: £178 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Identified as San Juan's modern urban resort, Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino is located just minutes away from historic Old San Juan, cruise terminals, easy access to business district and 12 minutes from the international airport. Our hotel in San Juan, Puerto Rico features a comfortable and contemporary design, lavish 57,000 sq. ft. sun deck with infinity pool overlooking the Bay of San Juan, rejuvenating spa, the largest casino on the island, a variety of restaurants and gathering spots, all for a premier place for you to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing