We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Away from the beaten path, but soooo nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Away from the beaten path, but soooo nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

From the moment I checked in I was treated very specially. The front desk gentleman ungraded me without my asking, gave me a lovely view of the "bahia" and my room was modern and luxurious feeling. I ate dinner in the Chinese restaurant, pretty good Crab Rangoon and Mu Shu pork. Breakfast at Choices restaurant was good too and while not cheap, not as expensive as many other hotel restaurants. All the staff in the restaurants and the hotel that I came across seem to have had good customer service training.
The major issue with this hotel is that if you want to go out a lot you really need a car or you have to be prepared to spend a good little amount on taxi service. I was there for a meeting at the Convention Center so that was not an issue for me. Some hotels in the U. S. mainland provide shuttle service to neighborhood attractions for a few hours a day. If this was my hotel I would do so to help people get out a bit – at least in the daytime to nearby Old San Juan.

Room Tip: Facing the "bahia" bay is really pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STTIngeborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos P, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you, STTIngeborg for your kind words about our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you connected with our staff and you experienced the excellent service we are striving for. Thank you for your suggestion regarding the shuttle service. However, no hotel in the San Juan metro area is allowed to have shuttle services. Therefore, we have 24 hours taxi’s outside for the comfort of our guests or we suggest to take the public bus to old San Juan, which is only 0.75 cents. We hope you are able to come back soon to the Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, you are very welcome to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    923
    704
    283
    94
    82
See reviews for
449
636
86
471
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed here for five nights on points for an affordable winter getaway. We were able to spend time in Old San Juan, a few days at the beach, saw the Bacardi factory,all without a rental car. Used the local bus service (bring quarters), if needed it is easy taking a cab back to the hotel affordably. The pool deck is almost as good as the beach, never too crowded. The infinity pool has a bay view of the cruise ships. We also enjoyed the China restaurant. Initially, we had an accessible room, upon request we were changed to a room with bay and pool view. Would stay again, especially pre-cruise.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elheffner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos P, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
What an amazing review about our hotel, thank you! It is great to see that you spend your time well on the island and that you made use of the public transport and you enjoyed it. We would love to see you back on your next stay, please connect with us whenever you want to visit the hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed one night on my way to the USVI, nice hotel but overpriced. I had a migraine and got the best soup (Yautia) and I am glad it was that good, because it was the most expensive soup I ever had- $21, it did me so good and settled my stomach to take my migrar meds. Service was prompt, room very clean, got a high floor so the view was spectacular! At night, music too loud in the Lobby. Pool closed too early for my preference. Overall a good place.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanzola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos P, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. We are sorry to hear that you had a migraine, good to hear though that our soup did you well. We will take your comment about the music in the lobby bar into consideration, thank you for that. We would be very pleased if we could welcome you again on your next trip to the island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Overall it was a great deal for the price. Clean rooms and right behind Señor Frogs!! The only issue we had was the elevator situation. Peoples cards didn't work so they would ride the elevator up and down while a huge line formed waiting. We finally got up to our room and the key didn't work so we decided to take the stairs which led out to a "no exit". So frustrated we did anyway and caused an alarm to go off. Other than that it was fine.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWay83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos P, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you PWay83, for sharing your experience with your stay at one of our properties. We think you stayed in the Sheraton in Old San Juan. We are sorry to hear that you experienced such an inconvenience with the elevators and we want you to know that we will pass on this information to the engineering team of the Sheraton Old San Juan so they will follow up on this in order to not happen again. We hope to connect with you in one of our properties when you are back in Puerto Rico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

I spent 10 days here on a business trip and absolutely wish that I had stayed elsewhere. The hotel itself is not A bad place, it's just IN a bad place. Unless you are specifically staying here for an on-site event or have a rental car that you don't mind navigating through Puerto Rican traffic, stay somewhere closer to San Juan's foot traffic. The Sheraton Puerto Rico is a virtual island, cut off by busy intersections and confusion from the rest of San Juan and Old San Juan, leaving hotel guests with the limited options of eating on-site, visiting the restaurant across the street, or catching a cab and paying $20+ roundtrip into downtown. I did have lounge access which was quite nice, and the lounge's outdoor seating area became a quick favorite.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jb_advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos P, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Buenos dias jb-advisor. We are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay at our hotel. We are located in a developing area; one of our services is the 24-hours taxi service available outside of the hotel. We can also recommend to use the public busses departing every 20 minutes just across the hotel that are going to Old San Juan as well as the newer area of Condado. We hope that your positive experience in the hotel itself and the stunning views from the club lounge will make you come back to us whenever you are in Puerto Rico!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

We arrived at the Sheraton at about midnight after a long flight. The hotel was still very much alive. Restaurants, casino and club were still open and it wasn't a ghost town. We were hungry when we arrived and they have a fabulous Japanese restaurant that we loved at 1am. The service at the hotel was great and the room was great with a wonderful view.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bookes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos P, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you so much for your review, that is a great compliment for us! Hopefully you will be able to visit Puerto Rico soon, so we can welcome you back in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grovetwon, Ga
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

We had a great time at the hotel. From the bell staff to housekeeping and the choice hotel, all the staff were very friendly and accomodating. Rooms were spacious and the extra bottles of water were definitely welcomed.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveaugusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos P, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! We appreciate your feedback and you are warmly invited to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.7 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,774 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,634 reviews
1.0 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,114 reviews
1.3 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
22.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Property: Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Address: 200 Convention Boulevard, San Juan 00907-4905, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#9 Business Hotel in San Juan
#9 Family Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Identified as San Juan's modern urban resort, the Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino is located just minutes away from historic Old San Juan, cruise terminals, easy access to business district and 12 minutes from the international airport. The hotel’s comfortable and contemporary design, lavish 57,000 sq. ft. sun deck with infinity pool overlooking the Bay of San Juan, rejuvenating spa, the largest casino on the island, a variety of restaurants and gathering spots makes this hotel the premier place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel San Juan
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel And Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing