We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true Sheraton, wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A true Sheraton, wonderful experience”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My husband and I visited Puerto Rico for our Honeymoon. We were greeted at the desk by Cesear. He was friendly, professional, caring, and knowledgeable. He inquired about our visit and congratulated us on our nuptials. His friendly and welcoming attitude set the stage for our experience. He upgraded us to a beautiful room overlooking the water and fountains. It was very romantic. We asked Cesear what to see and do and he provided us with excellent recommendations.

Our room was perfect which I cannot say about many hotels I stay at. Every light worked, the decor was bright and welcoming, the room was spotless, and the amenities plentiful. While the property it is in the middle of nowhere, it is a mute point as the rooms, pool area, casino, restaurants, and grounds are stunningly beautiful. We enjoyed watching the fountains and seeing the fish in the beautifully landscaped green spaces. All the front desk staff members were helpful and cheerful. We went to the desk for a request and a sales manager (I believe) that was standing by took a moment to speak with us and ask about our trip. That is what hospitality is all about and we appreciated her inquiry. We enjoyed dinner at the bar and breakfast in the restaurant. Unfortunately service was a lacking during our dining experiences but we felt confident this was not the norm. We visited the casino wish was also very nice and again we were greeted by friendly employees. Thank you to Cesear and the entire hotel for making our Honeymoon a memorable experience!

We highly recommend this hotel! Rent a car as it is a short trip to other areas and there are free parking options right by the hotel to avoid the parking cost.

Room Tip: Spend a little more for a room with a view of the fountains and water/port
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos P, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Saludos Matt D! Congratulations on your wedding and thank you very much for sharing such a detailed and great experience with us. Cesar is one of our STARS at the Front Desk and I will make sure he is commended for providing exceptional service to our guests. Knowing that we were able to make your Honeymoon Trip a memorable one is the biggest satisfaction we can ask for. Regarding dinner service, we will discuss you concerns with our management team in order to make sure no other guests have the same experience in the future. I hope to keep hearing from you and keep creating wondeful memories at our property. See you on you first year Anniversary! Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    940
    715
    286
    93
    83
See reviews for
455
650
87
478
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorado, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My family and I went for a weekend vacation to Sheraton Conventiomn Center Hotel. We receive a great service at the hotel and at Choices Rest. Great food, good quality and Mr. Gaby Valdes provide us with great service. Also we enjoy the pool area with great service and music. Thanks for the experience!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos P, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Saludos Jorge M! Thank you very much for sharing the wonderful experience you had while staying with us with your family. Mr. Gabriel Valdes is well known for always going the extra mile with the guests under his care and I will make sure he is recognized for it. We hope to welcome you back and share more memorable stays. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I agree on the previous reviews that hotel isn't near restaurants or landmarks. However, there is a bus stop in front of the hotel that takes you to old San Juan (within 10 mins), Isla Verde or Condado for 50 cents. In the end, we stayed somewhere nice and quiet for a good price. Saved on transportation costs (thank you bus). Condado is a 10-15 mins walk with a ton of restaurants and shops. The walk on the bridge at night was nice. The staff at the hotel was very friendly and helpful.

When we arrived we did not like our initial room, they ended up upgrading us to a club room. We enjoyed free breakfeast, coffee/drinks and dinner during our stay. The city views from the club floor was very nice. The pool was awesome. Best deal in the area for value and price. Thank you Sheraton for making PR a special place for us.

Room Tip: Away from elevators, above 9 floor and club room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cman g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos P, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Hello cman g! Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are very happy to learn that you were able to explore the areas around the hotel and discover that we are only minutes away from the most popular areas in San Juan. For our VIP guests like you, the Club Lounge is a place were you can relax and treat yourself with a healthy breakfast or enjoy some snacks during the evening. We are very glad that you liked your Club Room and we will be expecting you if your travels bring you to Puerto Rico again. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here one night, prior to our cruise departure from Pan American Pier on 9/13/13. The hotel is very close and convenient to the pier. We are a SPG member, not sure if that mattered or not. We stayed in a standard King size room. The room was very clean; including bedding. The rug shown a bit of wear, but still clean. The bathroom was also very clean. If you're looking for a hotel that's in close walking distance to downtown, shopping or restaurants, this is not the place. There is only 1 bar/restaurant across the street - Mexican style I believe, and a Brazilian style steak house. The hotel does have a restaurant, bar and casino on site. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant. The food was good. The restaurant staff very friendly, and took the time to explain the different types of food on the menu. I was kind of surprised that the hotel didn't have a coffee station available to their guests. Coffee was available in an express cafe- 2 cups of coffee for $5.00 USD. expensive!! The hotel valet service was quick to get us a cab to the cruise pier the morning of our departure, explaining a set rate for the taxi, and luggage. I would recommend this hotel for a quick in/out pre/post cruise, but not if you're looking to stay longer and experience the city. You'd pay too much for taxi service.

Room Tip: Close to Pan AmericanPier forRoyal Caribbean cruise line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfergirl6269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominiqueHaacke, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
golfergirl6269,

Thank you for your note on your recent stay with us. As you had mentioned in your comments, we are very close to the Panamerican pier which is ideal for those who are heading out on a cruise. However, we are also steps away from the Convention Center, 5 minutes from beautiful Old San Juan, and just 10 minutes from the downtown business district and largest mall in the Caribbean (Plaza Las Americas).

We hope that you will return to stay with us in the future and thank you once again for your comments on our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indio, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Close to Royal Carribean cruise line. Casino and good Restaraunts on site....quiet and clean rooms. The weekend gets noisy with the younger crowd coming in for the bar scene/dancing. Right next to Convention Center....and within a long walking distance of the cruise ship...

Room Tip: Away from elevators if you are there on a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HWH529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominiqueHaacke, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hello HWH529,

Thank you for your short note on your experience at our hotel.

I am happy to hear you were satisfied with the location of our hotel. We are in fact the top choice for many Royal Caribbean cruisers as well as many other travelers who are looking to stay in the middle of all of the cities points of interest.

We hope to see you again in the future and wish you happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed here for New Years of 2012- The hotel was decent but the location is not the best...
If it is your first time visiting I would recommend staying at the Sheraton Old San Juan its the city center we spent about $70.00 a day for taxi service due to the location. The pool is very nice and relaxing and the food by the pool was very good too...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominiqueHaacke, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Sara M,

Thank you for your feedback! We hope that you enjoyed your stay and that all of our services were to your satisfaction.

I hope that the trasnportation fees did not cause any inconveneince to your during yur stay. It is required to use a vehicle to some of the nearby points of interest, however we do have public transportation available just a block from the hotel which can easily take you anywhere in the metro area including Old San Juan for just $.75 each way.

We hope you come back to visit us, and if you do, feel free to ask our staff how to get around and we will gladly share our transportation options with you.

Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Amber your Guest Services agent was very accommodating and was really on the ball when we asked her about what is the best place for food, where the Locals hang out and shopping. Amber did everything but drive us personally around. The food was exceptional on the property so Kudos to the chef and your servers in the restaurant.

On Friday evening I went out to the pool area and noticed that there were wine bottles, and wine glasses. The associates or management staff did see this when they came to check on who was in the pool but didn't remove this potential hazard. About 20 minutes later another guest came out and accidentally knocked over the glasses and it flew into the hot tub where I was relaxing. I got out to report it and to report the hot tub jets not operating properly. The supervisor of maintenance came out and asked where the jets working and I said no, he then proceeded to look at his watch, roll his eyes and sigh loudly like this was an inconvenience. About an hour later management came in and said that we had to leave since it was 11pm, they cleaned up the glass (haphazardly) and was never given an explanation as to when the hot tub would be fixed.

On Saturday night there were a bunch of people only to be told to be careful because there was some sharp objects in the hot tub. Knowing that this was reported the night before I thought surely it would have been drained, vacuumed and refilled or closed off to the public. A young lady got out of the hot tub and I saw glass in her hand and she placed it on the table beside where I was sitting (not a good sign). Please keep in mind if someone did cut themselves and any drop of blood that would have fallen in the water could be a bio hazard and I know OSHA wouldn't not be happy especially if it was or will ever be reported seeing that nobody cared that there was shards of glass in the hot tub. That evening I did report it again and they said yes we will take care of it. They should have then told people to get out of the tub but instead they were too busy helping another guest retrieve something that was dropped over the side of the wall.

I did stay at your property on an associate rate, I am a corporate trainer for the below company for 42+ hotels in 9 states, although your property is not one of the hotels in our portfolio I do look at service scores all day long and tripadvisor for areas of opportunity for these brands Hilton, Marriott, Carlson, Intercontinental, IHG and Starwood. I wanted to bring this to your attention and I hope that this is something that you will take seriously before someone gets seriously injured. If there are no glass bottles allowed in your swimming area and you have staff that is checking in on that area they need to make sure these potential hazards are removed. If there are engineers that knowingly are aware that something is broken then the guests need to be aware, If you have your housekeeping tag that says due not disturbed on your door at 9am then someone shouldn't be knocking on the door asking if you need service. When service is done on your room then cups, lids, coffee, and towels ( no face clothes were ever left only hand towels, and bath towels) need to be left rather than me calling down to the front desk for these items and they shouldn't be waiting for a tip on something that was forgotten.

I plan on coming back to your area because of Amber she was the shining star at your property, she is caring, genuine, knows her job and is always smiling when you see her.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bjblunt36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominiqueHaacke, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
bjblunt36,

Thank you for taking the time in giving us your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Please know that I have shared your concerns with our Director of Engineering and the Director of Housekeeping. Any sharp objects found in our pool are taken very seriously and when necessarry we take our pool out of service to ensure the safety of our guests.

Rest assured your comments will be shared with our staff to raise awareness of this important matter.

We hope that any opportunities you encountered did not affect your confidence in our brand and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.7 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,866 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,692 reviews
1.0 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,138 reviews
1.3 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
22.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Property: Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Address: 200 Convention Boulevard, San Juan 00907-4905, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#9 Business Hotel in San Juan
#9 Family Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Identified as San Juan's modern urban resort, the Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino is located just minutes away from historic Old San Juan, cruise terminals, easy access to business district and 12 minutes from the international airport. The hotel’s comfortable and contemporary design, lavish 57,000 sq. ft. sun deck with infinity pool overlooking the Bay of San Juan, rejuvenating spa, the largest casino on the island, a variety of restaurants and gathering spots makes this hotel the premier place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing