We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large modern hotel offering only standard fare.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey England
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Large modern hotel offering only standard fare.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This hotel is very modern and quite large. it has a spacious contemporary feel about it but is rather lacking in soul and sophistication. It has a cavernous lobby which is full of hard polished surfaces and at night lit in bright colours like orange and lime. There hotel also also modern "infinity" pool and a sun bathing deck on the fourth floor which overlooks the new San Juan Conference Centre. I have stayed in other Sheraton's where the standard of accommodation and facilities was much better. There was nothing bad about the hotel and our rooms was spacious , carpeted, air conditioned with a large flat screen Sony TV , comfortable bed and a balcony [ although ours was closed for renovation. ] Having said this there was nothing remarkable either. The hotel feels like an establishment which has been designed and run by accountants who were to minimise costs and maximise profits rather than provide a memorable or luxury hotel experience. The hotel restaurant was adequate [ no more than that] and was decorated in the same contemporary style as the lobby /waiting areas with polished ceramic floors , brightly coloured drum shade lighting and angular wooden tables and chairs..There was also a small cafe in the lobby which offered very limited choice of food and minimal seating. Indeed no food [not even sandwiches or pastries ] were available once the breakfast rush was over. We only had breakfast from the buffet in the min restaurant - this was of indifferent quality as was the coffee . There was an a la carte breakfast menu but this seemed expensive for what was on offer. Breakfast was not included in the room price either. Overall I thought the Sheraton San Juan was expensive for what was on offer. The biggest drawback is that the hotel is located in an urban desert surrounded by main roads, car parking and concrete structures. There is nothing much of interest nearby to see or do apart from the vast Convention Centre opposite with its decorative fountains. The choice of cafes/restaurants in the vicinity was also very limited. I could find only two.
Unless you have reason to be in this part of town, say for a short stop over [ e.g. to use the Convention Centre or the cruise port ] I see no reason in particular why you would want to stay here. Disappointing for a Sheraton.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floors for the best views - preferably on the same side as the pool over lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisinthesouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos P, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Saludos Chrisinthesouth! Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of our property. As part of the Starwood Convention Collection Hotels, we are strategically located in the Convention District and even though we are not in Old San Juan or Condado areas, we are only minutes (5-10) away and Miramar has a lot to offer as well. A quick visit to our Concierge Desk would have provided you with a vast list of restaurants of all sorts, movie theaters and bars that can be reached walking or by taking a short cab ride. Also, aside from our great restaurant Choices, we have a Pool Bar & Grill, China Club Restaurant, Texas de Brazil, 24 hour Room Service and The Cafe as a 'Grab and Go' concept for breakfast. For our guests, we also offer Club Lounge Rooms that include breakfast and snacks in the evening already in the rate or can be upgraded upon check in. We feel very happy that overall, you were able to enjoy your stay and really hope you visit us again in the future. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    887
    693
    282
    93
    82
See reviews for
433
623
86
463
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

I was looking for a last minute hotel so I snagged this one on Priceline. It was nice enough and I wasn't looking for a lasting impression because I was going to the airport in the morning.

If you are on business at the convention center or looking for a close place to stay near the cruise port, this is a good location. This is not the Sheraton in Old San Juan, so if you are looking to hang out there, you might want to rethink staying here. The cab ride to OSJ is about $15 each way and the traffic can get really bad.

The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable, on par with other Sheraton hotels I have stayed at. And I was able to get a good night's rest with little noise.

I did go down to the bar for a night cap. The bartender was nice and made an amazing strawberry cream martini. I spent a short amount of time in the casino, dropping a $20 bill in the slots. It is like every other casino in the nicer hotels.

I don't think I would stay here on vacation more than a night, only because of the distance to Old San Juan and the Condado. (Cab fares add up quick). However, it was a pleasant short stay and I was happy with the hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
thank you for your review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will select our hotel for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Unless you have to because of work DO NOT STAY HERE. THIS IS NOT PUERTO RICO. I come to PR often for work and was raised here and your best bets would be anything else, La Concha, El San Juan, The Ritz, Caribe Hilton. Service SUCKS HERE, NO MINI BAR AND ROOM SERVICE THAT TAKES FOREVER especially at night (with only one server for the entire hotel), Getting worn inside (furniture etc), people in the front desk have an attitude when you complain instead of resolving issues, no nice view (more industrial than tropical), no beach (hello!!) no NADA. The fire alarm went off yesterday for over half an hour. They said it was a false alarm but security took forever to turn it off and the noise was deafening and unbearable. I hear the suites are nice but the rest sucks. Also no vibe in the lobby. Ghost town bar on a Thursday night which is happening everywhere else on the island. . . AC is great and internet is slow but free - that's all. NOTHING SPECIAL AT ALL - DO NOT GO ON A VACATION

Room Tip: Service sucks, room service sucks, no mini bar, terrible location (you cannot walk anywhere), no vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TatianaJennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna G, Manager at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Hi TatianaJennifer,

Thank you for feedback, we appreciate all comments in regards our property and we will definitely use them as an opportunity to improve our service. It is sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We will share your feedback with the team and we will take action in the areas of opportunity. We want all of our guest to feel special and welcomed. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

My wife and spent the large part of a long weekend in early March 2014. The location of the hotel would have been great had I been attending a conference, but we weren't. The Hotel is immediately surrounded by a fantastic Conference Center and a whole bunch of nothing. Old San Juan and Condado are just a short drive/ride away.

The hotel also seems to like to nickel and dime you to death charging $16 for parking in their garage ($22 with valet) when there is ample free street parking surrounding the hotel (I would rather park in the garage, but it should have been free at this location, $5 at most). And of course the ridiculous $15 per day resort fee add-on they like to spring on you at check-in. This classless need to scrape every extra cent out of your wallet basically demands I stay somewhere else next time (despite my next scheduled visit actually being a conference).

The rooms are very nice with large windows and its difficult not to get a good view in any room you stay. Comfy and stylishly decorated. Service was excellent and Casino was fun.

Next time (and there will be several next times, San Juan and Puerto Rico as a whole is just an amazing place to be) I would try to stay closer to the beach in the Condado, Santruce, Isla Verde areas.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrewDanczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos P, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Greetings DrewDanczak! We love receiving feedback from our guests and take very seriously all of their comments. Because of this, we thank you for sharing with us your thoughts about your last stay. Also, we are very happy to learn that overall, your expectations about our hotel were met. Our parking space is owned by the Convention Center and managed by USA Parking, this being the result of the charge for using it. Sorrounding areas are plenty to park your vehicle, but in most cases, you must watch out for the yellow line. For this reason and for the safety, is that we recommend that our guests use the parking garage. We hope that you reconsider your decision and come visit us again. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here post-cruise for two nights. We came directly from the ship and were able to check our luggage in and enjoy the property while we waited for our room. They called us on our cell phone several hours prior to the official check-in time to let us know that they had a room ready for us! The cafe inside the hotel was a bit of a disappointment, very pricey and rather slow service but convenient for breakfast. Cabs are always ready and waiting so very easy to get to Old San Juan to do the sightseeing and also to get to the airport on check-out day. Enjoyed the casino and they do offer snacks and drinks but hard to find servers. Room itself was nice but in need of some refurbishing. Expected hotel itself to be a bit nicer for the star rating it is.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judi103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your review

We appreciate your feedback about our property. Please know that the corresponding have been informed of the issues to ensure they do not occur in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit in San Juan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband and I stayed in Feb 2014 for 6 days and I don't have any complaints. We had a small issue with my hotel key not getting correctly programmed to get in and out of the garage, but that wasn't a big deal. The staff at the garage would come to open the gate and then reprogrammed the key. Food and drinks at the hotel were good. We liked that we were away from things, but we easily walked to Ashford Ave during the day. Played at the hotel casino one night and had fun. We also liked the option of forgoing housekeeping... we didn't need a maid every day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynher_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your review

We value your comments about our property, it is great to know that you had a pleasant stay. Thank you for making a Green Choice, we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I travel a lot and am a Starwood's Gold Member. On check in (which was slow), I got an upgrade without asking (but only to a front facing room). The Sheraton Puerto Rico is adequate for a couple of days if you are on business. Close to the airport ($20 by taxi) and next to the convention center. The rooms are pretty average but generally well maintained - no quality issues. Restaurants at the hotel are standard hotel quality and price. Pool deck is also ok. I would only stay here again if I was on a short business trip AND needed to be close to the convention center. The hotel is pretty much cut off from all social activity. You can catch a taxi to the old town, but that costs $14. You can also catch a bus, 75c, but I waited half an hour for one on the weekend. Even on business, there are a few drawbacks: Wifi is slow - ended up using my LTE connection as a hot spot which was faster (there is a wired cable in the room - but this does not help if you are using a Macbook Air or iPad), no bar fridge in the room and nowhere I could find to get snacks after 10 pm (besides room service and going to restaurant). Lastly, if you can't stream Netflix you are left with the TV - but while being a large Sony, it had no premium channels and the feed was not HD (and was severely stretched). Room service left a pillow case on my dresser and one of my towels tore when using. Not biggies. So, nothing wrong with this hotel if you are on a business trip for a couple of days. But if I was on a leisure vacation I would not stay here - and if on business, plan on slow wifi.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos P, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Saludos Juror! Thank you very much for reviewing our property. We appreciate the fedback from our guests very much. Although the Convention District is still a developing area, you can reach trendi and really good restaurants and bars or even catch a Jazz Fest on Sundays in the Condado and Miramar area on a short walk. On your next visit, please visit our Concierge and they will provide you with all the good places and tips for the area for you to make the most out of you vacation. We cant wait to welcome you back and hope it is really soon. Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.7 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,671 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,544 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.3 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
4.7 mi away
InterContinental San Juan
InterContinental San Juan
#5 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Property: Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Address: 200 Convention Boulevard, San Juan 00907-4905, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#9 Business Hotel in San Juan
#9 Family Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated amidst the Puerto Rico Convention Center facing the Bay of San Juan, our hotel will be just 10 minutes from the international airport and 5 minutes from historic Old San Juan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel San Juan
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel And Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing