We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Such Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The hotel is about a 15 minute cab ride from the airport and the staff was quick and courteous - no, downright friendly and helpful, when I arrived. The hotel itself is starting to show its age, hence the 4 star rating, but the room was quiet and comfortable and I had no problems with anything in the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianT787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your review

Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay. We value your comments and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,015
    748
    293
    100
    86
See reviews for
497
677
93
505
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel and Casino is a great choice for business, it is brand new and has a great location.
What's memorable is it's Choices restaurant! Wow, Puerto Rican food, that by itself has a great reputation as the best cuisines of the world, Choices Chef takes it to the next level, I had the most delicious dishes, like Chuleta Can Can, with Puerto Rican rice...mmm! The freshest salads, with mango and caramelized pecans...yumi...the most savory seafood Paella...awsome.. but whats best of all, is the impecable service of my favorite waitress, Paola...she the most efficient and amicable person there is...with her melodical and soft Puerto Rican accent "how's everything??"..."Oh! Great...Thanks!"...If Antonio Carlos Jobim just have lived in Puerto Rico, the Girl of Ipanema just might have been from San Juan...If you visit Puerto Rico, book your self in the Sheraton San Juan Hotel and Casino and dont forget to visit Choices and say hello to Paola, the Princess of San Juan.....arghhhh...I think I will turn around and go back...I hate to leave....Bon Voyage!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaI-ExecAssistant, Management Representative at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Fer V,

Thanks so much for your review, it is awesome to hear such an amazing comment! We definitely can tell you indulged yourself in our Restaurant. Our new and refreshed menu is the new star of our Choices Restaurant. Your recognition to Paola is very much appreciateed and we definitely pass on the information to her Supervisor. We value your review and encourage you to visit us again when visiting San Juan, PR.

Warmest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stayed here for five nights on a business trip the last week in April. Front desk service was slow (understaffed?) at check-in both on Sunday evening and Friday morning. At check-in no summary of hotel amenities was given.
Ate breakfast at the Choices restaurant every morning. Prices seem astronomical until the check came and I saw that I was given a $14 continental breakfast credit although I ordered an omelet. Neither front desk or waiter explained this my first day. However each subsequent day each server explained this after I already knew. I had dinner at Choices and the Asian restaurant once each as well. I preferred the Choices dinner.
Housekeeping needs improvement. They were not thorough enough as there was dust and hair buildup in the corners. The towels were not bleached or replaced enough because I had them changed every day and about half had a small stain. This also applied to the pillowcases.
Room overall was showing signs of wear. The table holding the television had the front panel beginning to peel away. Lobby gives a great impression so this was surprising.
I could somewhat hear noise from the hallway, but I was working so hard that I passed out anyway.
Cannot speak on value as I was not conscious of pricing due to my employer footing the bill.
Overall, the place was passable and comfortable, but not as nice and clean as expected.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel R, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Mia P,

Greetings from San Juan, Puerto Rico.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us this valuable review. We will discuss it with our upper management team to ensure we avoid this from reoccurring. I would also like to extend you a formal apology as it is evident we failed to meet your expectations.

Should your travel plan bring you back to the Enchanted Island of Puerto Rico, please do not hesitate to contact me at joel.rojas@sheraton.com. It will be a pleasure for me to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Just came off a very long flight and had one memorable drink in the bar served by the extremely friendly and very efficient Loriam Garcia. she made four very tired people laugh and if there had been more energy we would have stayed a lot longer. Good hotel on first impressions. Room excellent

Allison

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank tony h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaI-ExecAssistant, Management Representative at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear tony h,

We appreciate your review! You can make sure that the Sheraton Puerto Rico is Your place to relax and feel Welcome thru our associates connection with our guests. Your comfort is a priority to us, so we will make sure you will feel valued and welcome. We thank you for recognizing Loriam Garcia, we'll make sure her Supervisor is aware of it. Thanks for choosing Sheraton Puerto Rico.

Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

The Sheraton was a very nice hotel with a great 4th floor pool and deck. All the staff was exceptional and accommodated whatever as asked for. All meals were excellent. Short 5 minute drive to old San Juan. Unfortunately no beach access but makes up with the quietness. Would go back!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mloeser15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your review

We look forward to your next visit! Thank you for your comments about our lovely property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We went to a birthday in the pool area and it was awesome. We love that it is a family environment. The service was great our waitress Lizbeth Rosado was excellent very sweet and gave us an excellent service. I would definitely would go there again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loyda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaI-ExecAssistant, Management Representative at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Loyda S,

We appreciate your review. Our comfortable Pool Deck is one of our major attractions. Either for business or pleasure, our guests are able to relax while staying with us. Kid's pool, adult's pool, jacuzzi, kid's fountain and our excellent Pool Bar and Grill menu, make your family experience a special one filled with smiles. Thank you for your recognition to Lizbeth Rosado, we will make sure her Supervisor knows about it. If travels bring you back to San Juan, PR, please remember the Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel and Casino is your home away from home.

Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Staying for one night. Checking-in was a bit slow as there were only two people at the front desk. We parked the car in front of the lobby to run in for checking in. The valet required us to leave the car key which was fine but told us that if we were away longer than 10 minutes, they would park in the garage and I had to pay for parking. I asked what if the check-in took longer than 10 mins, they said I had no choice but to pick up the car from the garage. I think this is operation issue. Obviously I don't control the check-in process, it's mostly up to the hotel's front desk. They should be more flexible or come up with a better parking/check-in issue. Also, the parking is a bit pricey considering the hotel's location is in the middle of nowhere. It's definitely not realistic to walk to tourist attractions from the hotel. It's technically doable but I wouldn't do it for safety issue. There are some meter parking that you can park nearby as an option. Also, the hotel won't let us use the trolley to carry our bags to the hotel room. We have to use the bellboy service if we want to use the trolley. That was the firs time I rant to this. I felt like being nickel-and-dimed by the hotel.

Other than the above drawbacks, the room is overall good, spacious bathroom, great rooftop lounge with basic breakfast- free if you're part of the Starwoods membership. I'm happy with the room, everything else not so much. Will probably stay somewhere else next time in San Juan.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank willoftheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos P, Sales Coordinator at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hola willoftheworld! Thank you very much for sharing some thoughts about you past stay with us. We greatly appreciate feedback from our guests as it helps us to improve our processes. Our parking facility is controlled by an outside vendor since the parking structure is owned by the Convention District. We truly apologize for the inconveniences you encountered while trying to check in. In some ocassions, 1 person can stay in the car waiting while the other checks in. Our bellstaff will be more than happy to assist you with your bags so you dont have to leave them in your car during this process. We truly hope that you reconsider your decision and give us the opportunity to welcome you back. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.7 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,118 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#23 of 47 in San Juan
4,859 reviews
1.0 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,231 reviews
4.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
1.3 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Property: Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Address: 200 Convention Boulevard, San Juan 00907-4905, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#9 Family Hotel in San Juan
#9 Business Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Identified as San Juan's modern urban resort, the Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino is located just minutes away from historic Old San Juan, cruise terminals, easy access to business district and 12 minutes from the international airport. The hotel’s comfortable and contemporary design, lavish 57,000 sq. ft. sun deck with infinity pool overlooking the Bay of San Juan, rejuvenating spa, the largest casino on the island, a variety of restaurants and gathering spots makes this hotel the premier place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing