We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, New Hotel! Terrible Housekeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
DC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great, New Hotel! Terrible Housekeeping”
Reviewed 14 February 2010

We were staying here for 3 nights last minute due to a flight cancelation home and we loved the hotel. The housekeeping was a joke on the 7th floor though. We had to ask for our towels, washcloths, etc. Overall, the hotel was great! Great pool, casino, everything but housekeeeping was great! The location of the hotel is not very good though for restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertoluvsaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,014
    747
    293
    100
    86
See reviews for
496
677
93
504
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

We stayed for one night in December before a cruise. Great location if your going on a cruise...right near the Pan American cruise terminal. The hotel is brand new and beautifully decorated. Loved the pool area, especially the private cabanas. Restaurants are a bit pricey, but the food was great. Although we didn't eat there, the restaurant next to the convention center (Ficus) had a more affordable menu and seemed like it would have been nice.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ml_812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2010

Hi can't say enough wonderful things about this hotel.

The staff, across the board, from the guys at the front door to the room service attendants to the dancers (!!) in the casino to the amazing personality pool waiters/waitresses to the front desk people! EVERYONE was happy to be there and happy to help us.

We were there for ten days over Christmas and had a wonderful time. Personally, I loved the location. We were close to Old San Juan, Condado and highways so we could get up and go. We felt like we had won a prize--a brand new hotel with people who were happy to help us and it wasn't swamped with tourists.

The hotel is beautiful. The pool area is relaxing and laid out wonderfully. We previously stayed in a hotel with a very similar layout in Curacoa (Marriott) last year. They both have pools above the ground level which makes for interesting views. This pool area far outshines the one in Curacao--larger with more room for privacy. The only negative regarding the pool area is that whatever kind of lounge chairs they bought they are quickly mildewing.

The gym is AMAZING! Everything is new, there was ALWAYS availability and there were diagrams on the walls describing different exercises.

The only downfalls were that the spa was not open and there was only one restaurant open. Also, the pay-per-view movies program was not yet up and running so we devised our own setup using our laptop. This is to be expected for a new hotel. I'm sure these things will be functional soon.

This is a beautiful, brand new hotel with wonderful, helpful employees. Thank you to everyone for providing us with a much needed relaxing vacation! (especially Dominique)

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltime47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2010

The Sheraton had exceptional customer service, was very clean and comfortable and was the Convention center is right outside the door. Taxis to Old San Juan are reasonable and during the day, buses are also right outside the hotel.

Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MariaR9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

New hotel but poor service. As a Platinum SPG member, very poor recognition and no upgrade. I really wish I stayed at another hotel! Do yourself a favor and stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFOPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPR, Manager at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 26 January 2010
We were very disappointed to read your review about your experience at the Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino.
While we did not have any available suites for upgrading, we truly regret that you did not feel that you received the recognition that your status deserves. We strive to recognize all of our SPG members and take these criticisms very seriously.
We are very proud of our team here at the Sheraton and have shared your comments with our staff as we continually strive to provide excellent service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

It's nice to stay at a new hotel. Everything is so....new. The bed was okay, not the highest quality.

The location was a set back. We used taxis to go every where. If you are planning on spending most of your time in Old San Juan, Condado, or Isla Verde, add $30 to the room rate for the taxi cost.

They had most of the opening day bugs worked out when we go there on 12/27.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rierson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.7 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,110 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 47 in San Juan
4,853 reviews
1.0 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,227 reviews
4.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
1.3 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Property: Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Address: 200 Convention Boulevard, San Juan 00907-4905, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#9 Family Hotel in San Juan
#9 Business Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Identified as San Juan's modern urban resort, the Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino is located just minutes away from historic Old San Juan, cruise terminals, easy access to business district and 12 minutes from the international airport. The hotel’s comfortable and contemporary design, lavish 57,000 sq. ft. sun deck with infinity pool overlooking the Bay of San Juan, rejuvenating spa, the largest casino on the island, a variety of restaurants and gathering spots makes this hotel the premier place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing