We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2011

After staying at the Caribe Hilton one week earlier, I was hoping for a better experience. This hotel was awesome in every way. The service we experienced was great, top notch. We came with bags in hand from the cruise boat on Sunday morning around 10am. I was so happy to be accomodated and put into our rooms around noon! With a check in time of 3 pm I was very happy.
While we waited we went up to the 4th floor pool terrace area. The view of the cruise boats and Old San Juan was great and the infinity pool was very sharp. Everyone loved it. There was plenty of shade and even several private cabanas available. We got lunch from the pool bar/ restaurant area and were very happy with the food and service, excellent choices and better than expected food quality and price. A great start.
The rooms are very modern in decor and look very trendy and chic. There is plenty of room and the furniture is very good quality. A Sony flat panel TV? I was impressed. The benefit of staying in a hotel that is only 1 year old!
We left the hotel to go back and tour El Morro, and returned around dinner time. We got back to the welcoming hotel and settled in for dinner in the lounge area of the lobby rather than the restaurant. It was another great dining experience. The menu was diverse, the food was of great quality and the drinks were excellent. The archetecture of the lobby bar with its changing LED lights and hanging chandelier was awesome, again very trendy and chic. There is also a very nice casino in the lobby area if you into that.
The next morning we had a great breakfast in the Flavors restaurant in the lobby. Again, we had great service, and good mix of local and traditional breakfast fare and a fair price.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat. The location is convenient to Old San Juan by taxi and the hotel itself is really all you need right there.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IowaTraveler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,916 - 1,922 of 2,319 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2011

Overall, this is a nice hotel right next to the new convention center. As many of the other reviews have noted, however, this hotel is in the middle of nowhere with regards to tourist type things to do. Even getting to more than one outside restaurant will require a cab, which are very pricey in San Juan. Expect to pay $13 to get into Old San Juan, and even $12-$9 for a very short drive to other hotels closer to the beach and better choice of food and entertainment.

One last gotcha, this hotel LOVES to nickel and dime you. I had a $5 Bellman tip on my bill from the first day even though I carried my small bag to my own room. Likewise, they tack on a tip for every meal at their restaurant and $1/day for the maid. The food tip is concealed as a "service charge" on the itemized receipt at the restaurant, but shows up added to the tip total on the final invoice, so if you are a sucker like me and write in a tip without catching the charge, you will see some nice hefty fees on your final bill.

Overall, the room was comfortable and clean, but hardly worth the premium price given the location. Also, the pool deck tends to blast some pretty loud noise in the day and into the night, so I would recommend a high floor if you want to be on that side of the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellight78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

Booked on hot-wire and was worried about location. Nice bar outside. $12 cab to Old San Juan. Only thing lacking was a a refrigerator in the room.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachLover081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaI-ExecAssistant, Manager Representative at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us. Yes, our location is ideal as we are the only hotel next to the PanAmerican Pier, which is where most cruise ships dock. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Booked a package with AAA and the Sheraton was picked due to price, breakfast included and it had a beautiful pool. We figured why pay the price of the Resort Area when the Sheraton had a great view, and included all the above. Arrived, the pool was closed till the last full day of our stay, due to emergency repairs. After 2 hours of back and forth between AAA and the Sheraton we were given a room upgrade - balcony - which was very nice. The hotel in itself is very nice and the staff was friendly and did their best to accomodate us, however it is best for one night cruise stays or business, due to location at the convention center, not for longer stays of more than one or two nights. And when we did go to the pool, hot tub on Friday, the hot tub was cold. Not what one hopes for after a full day of hiking.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLHodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaI-ExecAssistant, Manager Representative at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2011

The Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino appreciates your comment. We’re sorry your stay didn’t go as planned. We were experiencing a situation with the pool that we decided to close it down for couple of days for emergency repairs. However, we hope to welcome you in a future occasion for a better hotel experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

I stayed there with my wife and we had a great time there. The bar was really nice the roof top pool was great although it was closed part of the time. When we arrived the bell boy, victor, was awesome he had a smile on his face every single time I saw him he was extremely helpful and knowledgable he even got us ice once he helped us with our bags. Great beggining to our stay. The only down side to this property is the tv's they do not have ondemand. But I would definately go back

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spgmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaI-ExecAssistant, Manager Representative at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2011

Thanks so much for your comment! We’re very happy to know that you had a great time while staying at our hotel. One of our priorities is to staff our hotel with personnel that can provide the best possible service that our guests deserve. We’ll be looking forward your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

If you are staying for a night before cruising I would recommend it! The rooms are nice hotel built a year or so ago! It wouldn't hurt if they put some money into landscaping the area! There are (2) restaurants I forgot the name of the one with the buffet but the food served there is much better than what the bar serves! Breakfast Buffet is grat! The bar right off the main lobby food is to high and service is slow! Chicken wings (12) $20, hamburger $15! Not that I would mind paying for it but wasn't impressed with quality of food! They have a Sushi Bar in the Casino but that closes early. Not to many restaurants in the area within walking distance! Very noisy at night! It is a casino! The hotel is (10) minutes from Departure Ports of Call for Carnival, Royal Caribbean, etc. A lot of over priced spanish cruisine on the bars menu! They need to give better proportions for the price! Take a lot of small bills with you for tipping! $2 per bag for luggage from Taxi to your room! Cost w luggage from hotel to cruise ship $17.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne_Lucille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaI-ExecAssistant, Manager representative at Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2011

Thanks for your comment, and thanks for recommending our location as an advantage for those guests planning to cruise. In regards to pricing, we try to keep our charges for food in line with other properties in this market as well as within the expectations of our valued guests. We apologize if you found food and beverage pricing to be disappointing. However, we all look forward to welcoming you back on your return at some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

When we arrived mid-January, the hotel was still decorated for Christmas. It was wonderful to see the splendor of the season still apparent while on vacation. There were 3 or 4 huge, trees in the lobby all in tasteful seasonal decor. My only concern was that they were live (?) trees which had lost at least half their needles due to drying out (over the previous months since being brought indoors) and were adorned with a thousand lights each. I found myself silently praying that none of these beautiful trees would spontaneously combust while awaiting dismantlement. Our room was imaculately clean, the view was spectacular and the staff very friendly & helpful. The entire experience was fabulous with the possible exception of the check-in process. Our room was ready an hour after the hotel posted check-in time of 3:00pm. It was suggested that we wait in the lounge and the staff phoned me when our room was ready but never offered to pay for our beverages. It would have been a nice gesture, just sayin'. This lounge was spacious and beautifully decorated with a bar that changed colour. There was also a series of televisions on the wall opposing the bar that I'm sure was eagerly used to show sporting events, etc. The line at check-in was not efficiently managed (IMO) so the wait in this line was almost painful; a matter made worse by the apparent awareness and indifference by the staff that they were keeping patrons waiting unnecessarily by chatting and laughing amongst themselves constantly, practically ignoring the customers they were supposed to be assisting. Cabs were readily available at the door. In complete contrast to the front-desk staff, the door personnel hustled their tails off to hail cabs and/or carry luggage for customers. The lobby elevators were quite slow even though there appeared to be an abundance of them. Perhaps several were offline? The bartender in the tiny lounge beside the restaurant was very accommodating and personable. He created a pineapple upsidedown cake martini to die for! The check-out process was uneventful as it was successfully executed on the television in our room. It may be notable that a hotel service fee was added to our bill upon checkout of (2-3%, I believe), which was not made aware to me when I made the reservation. When asked, a front desk staffer explained that this fee was for the hotel gym, and several other amenities (which we didn't use). Seemed a little underhanded but not a huge amount. Overall, a lovely hotel and a positive experience.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tj2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
974 reviews
1.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
2.1 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino

Address: 200 Convention Boulevard, San Juan 00907-4905, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#9 Family Hotel in San Juan
#9 Business Hotel in San Juan
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: £172 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Identified as San Juan's modern urban resort, Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino is located just minutes away from historic Old San Juan, cruise terminals, easy access to business district and 12 minutes from the international airport. Our hotel in San Juan, Puerto Rico features a comfortable and contemporary design, lavish 57,000 sq. ft. sun deck with infinity pool overlooking the Bay of San Juan, rejuvenating spa, the largest casino on the island, a variety of restaurants and gathering spots, all for a premier place for you to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing