We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had its good points”
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
CasaBlanca Hotel
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeland, Fl
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Had its good points”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is a funky little boutique hotel in Old San Juan. The location was good, pretty much in the middle of everything, and the staff was friendly and helpful. No one was ever at the front desk that appeared unwilling to help. This was a quick weekend trip, over a holiday, so pickings were kind of slim on available rooms. Also, due to the weekend, prices were high in some of the other hotels. I think the price on the room we occupied (4A) was good and I liked the balcony, allowing an overlook of the adjacent street. Breakfast was available, but we choose to eat out each morning. The room was clean.

Don't forget to check out the roof, which has a great view of Old San Juan.

Downsides : The hotel has no elevator, and everyone is very well warned of this factor. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone with ambulatory issues or a heart issue!! Our room was very small and lacked a closet, however, we were able to get by. Just be sure to ask the exact amenities in the room you choose because they appear to differ in various rooms. There was not a safe in our room, but we never had any problems with anything missing, though I did keep all my cash on me whenever leaving the room. Another issue is noise at night, if you are a light sleeper. There are apparently several bars in close proximity and there were bursts of noise periodically until everything settled down around 3 a.m. or so. This may not be a problem if you're not on the roadside. However, I was fine to deal with the noise in exchange for the view from our room. Noise also carries well in the hotel and we could hear the conversations in the adjacent room.

All that being said, I would stay there again. It's not the Ritz Carleton, and I think the rates are okay for what you are getting.

Room Tip: I found the website a little confusing on room amenities and called the hotel. They were very helpf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LimaBravoWhiskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    290
    83
    27
    17
See reviews for
131
572
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

So, sure I can tell you the room was clean, towels were fresh, the bed was fine. But, what makes this hotel stand out is their rooftop. There is no elevator, so you have to get up there the old fashioned way, one step at a time. But, when you do, you will be happy you did. Wear your bathing suit and bring a towel because they have stone bathtubs big enough for you and your sweetie. Apparently not many people want to climb the stair, so we had the rooftop to ourselves. But, we enjoyed every moment of it. We brought up a bucket of beers, filled the tub, got in and soaked under the stars. Perfect end to a great day in Old San Juan.

Room Tip: There is no elevator. Keep this in mind when you book your room. Also, the street is noisy. Didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodenrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My husband and I took a cruise out of San Juan and decided to spend a few days after that in San Juan. Our main concern was whether or not we should stay in Old San Juan or Condado/Isla Verde area. We eventually decided to go with OSJ and that is when we came across Casablanca. It looked romantic with lots of character and a central location... even walking distance from the cruise ship.
Our room was not quite ready by the time we arrived (before noon) but the lady working at the front desk was very sweet and directed us to the lobby washrooms to freshen up and then she stored our luggage while we went and had lunch. When we got back our room was ready and there was someone to carry our heavy bags up the 3 flights of stairs! Thank goodness! Our room was a bit small (to be expected in most boutique hotels) but very tastefully decorated and comfy! The next day we were upgraded for the remainder of our stay to a bit bigger room with a patio that faced out towards the main street which was very nice! They even surprised us with a lovely box of chocolates and a congrats/happy honeymoon card... nice touch!
A few extra bonuses: free wifi in the lobby... super cozy lobby with lots of unique places to sit and enjoy your morning coffee. There is also a rooftop patio that has a great view of the city. All of the staff were super helpful and friendly.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is laid back and doesn't mind experiencing something different than a regular cookie-cutter type hotel. It is beautiful, funky and in an amazing location. You can walk anywhere in Old San Juan and the bus depot is 2 blocks away where you can easliy hop on the bus to go to the beach, etc.
*If you stay here you MUST eat at Marmalade across the street. It was a real highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCZP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This little boutique hotel with an exotic flair is situated perfectly on a narrow side street in Old San Juan. Everything is walkable. You'd better be capable of walking too, because there are no elevators in the hotel which rises several stories. The front desk was exquisitely helpful and let my travel companion and I select from a few vacant rooms. We climbed to the roof and enjoyed the oversized bathtubs both at night and during the day. No one else was around and it felt like our own private San Juan roof oasis. On our last day, we checked out, but decided to explore the city before we had to go to the airport. The hotel let us store our baggage, and they even let us cool down and rinse off in the rooftop baths- and this was all after we'd checked out. My only issue was that I was pretty allergic to something (who knows what?) at the hotel. We'd stayed in some other locations during the trip and my allergies slapped me upside the head the moment we got to this hotel. A quick walk to the Walgreens down the way helped.

Room Tip: If it's possible, ask to see a few rooms that fall into the same pricing scheme. They're al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My wife and I chose this hotel as our final honeymoon destination and we loved it. When we walked in they had old music from the 20's and 30's playing that brought you close to old movies. On the back wall they had Casablanca playing through out the day and also on a few tv's in the front lobby. The rooms were very nice with tall ceilings, and the beds were dressed with nice bedding and decorative pillows. It was perfect for us and a nice way to end our honeymoon; we will definitely be back. I recommend this hotel to anyone, but it depends on what you might be looking for, some people like simple and romantic, and some like their embassy suites and casinos. Also, all the cool stuff you want to see is within walking distance, or you can walk 200 feet to the plaza and catch the tram for free.

Room Tip: choose a room on the lower floors, because there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

This hotel is perfect for visiting Old San Juan! It seems to be in the middle of anything and everything you would want to do there. The rooms and decor are unique, the service was extraordinary, the food was wonderful and reasonably priced and the staff was very accomodating. We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: The rooms in front of the hotel on the street side are a little noisy. Ours was near the middle of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Kelly,

Thank you so much for your valuable review! We hope you can take another trip back to the Island and we will be thrilled to have you stay with us again. In the near future we will be adding a number or services and activities that will enhance your experience in Puerto Rico! Please feel free to contact us anytime! Visit our FB page for pictures!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Interesting rooms, fabulous décor, friendly staff, tasty breakfasts - we couldn't fault our recent stay at Hotel Casablanca. The location is brilliant - right in the heart of Old San Juan, footsteps from Marmalade and lots of other brilliant restaurants and bars. Our room was an interior room on the third floor (we had noted previous reviews about the lack of elevator and the street noise) and it was perfect. Because it had no windows it did suffer a bit from damp, but that didn't really bother us. It was nice and quiet, a/c was cool, plenty of hot water and great water pressure.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful, we got a warm welcome from Joyce when we checked in and then Anna helpfully sorted our car hire the following morning. We will definitely return to stay at Casablanca, I preferred their quirky uniqueness over bland hotel chains.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBarefootAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Thank you so much for your fabulous review! Surprisingly to me all the members of our staff constantly check TripAdvisor for reviews and comments from all of you, funny that when I walk in the door they let me know instantly about all your great experiences and reviews, specially when their name is mentioned in one of them. We take it as a tremendous compliment that anyone will take the time to leave a review, and more so if you remember our names and for that we are most grateful. Please remember that Casablanca is your home away from home and we will be glad to see you and your friends again! Please send a special hug to all our Casablanca friends in Tortola!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
2.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,669 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#12 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
1.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaBlanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaBlanca Hotel

Property: CasaBlanca Hotel
Address: 316 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CasaBlanca Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Elevator is up and running! CasaBlanca is a Boutique Hotel with 32 guestrooms with a lot of character and a personalized experience. We want you to love San Juan as much as we do by making sure your stay is pleasant and memorable. The structure is Spanish from the 1900's therefore rooms are mid to small sized, air conditioned and impeccable. Our beds are comfortable and equipped with microfiber linens and Hypoallergenic pillows, our bathrooms are small but private and unique, with amenities from the organic brand - Archive. Please ask front desk for complimentary items you might have forgotten to pack. Also available are: steamer, hairdryer, in room coffee maker and ice machine in lobby. Our Sun Deck offers guests a memorable experience with magical views of Old San Juan, watch the cruises as they disappear into the bay or enjoy the historical views of San Cristobal Fort next to the open Caribbean Sea. From tanning to reading, enjoy our comfortable lounge chairs, as well as our stone bathtubs provided for a deep relaxation in fresh water at your own desired temperature and time as it is open 24 hrs. Everything from our menu is available with one quick call to guest services from our service phone. Still worried about catching up with friends and family or posting your recent vacation pictures online, or maybe send a late work related email, not a problem, our high speed Internet is available everywhere in Hotel grounds. We are a smoke free, environmentally friendly, historically preserved Hotel where you will find a smiley face where ever you go! Cafe Americain conveniently located in the lobby serves a delicious breakfast every morning from 8 - 12 pm while streaming our favorite Hollywood movie CasaBlanca. Restaurant hours are 8am - 10pm Wed to Sun and 8am-11am for Mon to Tue. Offers a lunch menu selection of local cuisine as well as light options as sandwiches and salads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your CasaBlanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing