We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in Old San Juan”
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CasaBlanca Hotel
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Florianopolis, SC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in Old San Juan”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights before a cruise and this is a very nice hotel in a great location, right at the heart of Old San Juan! You can walk pretty much everywhere since the old part of the city is quite small (and very beautiful), and there are many good restaurants, bars and cafés close to the hotel too.

The building is clearly old but seems well maintained, and it appears each room has its own unique decoration (we had to 2 rooms and they were very different from one another). The biggest concern is that there is no elevator, which seems to be pretty common in hotels in Old San Juan, so if you have a room in the higher floors you'll probably want to ask somebody in the staff to help you get your suitcases up there!

Speaking of which, the hotel staff is really nice and were glad to help us with anything we needed, making sure we had a pleasant stay.

Overall, a very good choice for the price we paid, I would definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joseotavio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    292
    84
    27
    14
See reviews for
137
586
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My wife and I recently celebrated our wedding anniversary in San Juan and we stayed at Casablanca Hotel for 5 nights. It was easily the best decision of the trip. The Casablanca Hotel is reasonably priced and gushing with charm. The moment we walked in, Juan at the front desk checked us in smoothly and quickly, and our luggage was whisked up to our room on the 4th floor. The room had a super comfy queen-sized bed and was very clean. My wife wanted a hairdryer and I wanted some ice so I called the front desk and Juan personally brought both up to our room. I commended him for that since we were on the 4th floor and there's no elevator. Having said that, I didn't mind taking the stairs because I loved looking at the cool little light covers that adorned the stairways. The decor is so chic it felt a bit like an art museum or exhibition. In the lobby, there's even a clear floor under a seating area with a fake office (or something) in it. Very cool and hip, especially when you look down from another floor. Breakfast at the hotel is your best bet. It's a great bargain with the hotel discount (and free coffee)! Plus, when I said I didn't want toast with my eggs they offered me extra bacon instead. That made me happy. After a few days of exploring the shops and cafes in Old San Juan, we started strolling down to Escambron Beach (about 2 miles east of the hotel), which is family friendly, and not too touristy. If you have a rental car, it's about a 5 min drive and you can park it at the beach. we also utilized the hotel's rooftop deck for sunbathing, or a nitecap. Yes, one of the pros of staying on the 4th floor was that it was only one level from the rooftop deck. Score!

I was very, very satisfied with our experience at Casablanca Hotel and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzguitaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcadia, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here before our Caribbean Cruise in December. The hotel is in a good location, very walkable area and close to a number of restaurants and to the historic sites. The rooms are a bit small, and there is no elevator (we were on the 4th floor). The do assist you with your bags both to and from the room. We would stay here again if our travels take us to Puerto Rico.

Room Tip: No Elevator, so ask for a lower room if you have trouble with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuckiechief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So Cal
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We did a before and after cruise stay at Hotel Casablanca. It should be the go to destination if you are planning on staying in Viejo San Juan. There are more expensive and popular hotels but this charming botique hotel is perfectly located on Calle Fortaleza near the restaurant and shopping district of Viejo San Juan. The staff we had contact with were all very polite and helpful. Christina, Tatiana, Anna, Joyce, Jorge and of course Rick all made us feel very welcome and our stay was just wonderful. The hotel is very clean and the decor is just delightful. Yes, there are stairs and no elevators but the porter carries the luggage so all you have to do is lug yourself up and down. Good way to work off the mojitos and mofunga! Room a/c works well and beds were very comfortable. We stayed with our two adult daughters so pre cruise we had a suite which was at the front of the hotel and had a balcony. On the 4th floor it was a wonderful way to enjoy OSJ skyline. The morning sun and fresh smell of rain was awesome. Black out wood doors over the windows made for a good sleep. We experienced no real noise from the street. Post cruise was a 5th floor double queen room. Again, clean comfortable and quiet. We loved this place and highly recommend it. Can't wait to return again.

Room Tip: Be sure to soak in the roof top tubs at night. Great experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear James,

Thank you tremendously for your review! We are so happy you and your family found CasaBlanca and made it your pre and post destination for your cruise. Thank you for upgrading your stay to a suite and taking advantage of the balcony and terrace tubs view while having a more comfortable stay with your family.

We hope to see you back soon with friends and family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I stayed at CasaBlanca Hotel for a couple days over the holiday. I could not be happier with my choice. I was on the 5th floor and yes, there are a lot of stairs but all the better to work off the mofungu! I am from new york so the size of the room did not bother me. I loved the location, the layout of the building and the eclectic decor. Miguel, one of the night to morning desk clerks was welcoming and and funny. As one reviewer noted, the roof deck could use some help..it's a little unfinished looking.

The breakfasts were delicious and very reasonable with the hotel discount. I would definitely stay there again.

BTW, the restaurant Tantra is just a block away and the food is good and waitstaff very friendly.

Room Tip: If you can't handle stairs do not take a high-floor room--but, you may miss the great san juan s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrinityNYC301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Feels like home. Enjoyed my stay and will recommend . the rooms are small. There is no elevator, room could be on fifth floor. But I would come back my next visit.
The hotel serves breakfast, ice is take to your room ..

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My Wife & I have stayed at numerous hotels in our lives, and none as consistent, clean and well managed as the CasaBlanca.

We stayed here, receiving excellent rates and discounts via their online deal. And ended up finding a GEM of a hotel. The hotel has an exotic feel with its Moroccan and Spanish inspired motifs. The rooms were not very big, but they were comfy, cozy and very relaxing. The staff was receptive, inviting, outgoing, caring and informative.

My wife and I sat in the lobby waiting on a friend to join us for brunch one morning. When we witnessed a passerby enter the hotel and inquire on a possible room. The kind young lady at the front desk informed the passerby that he hotel was booked solid, but whipped out an easy to read map of San Juan and began to show her other hotels in the vicinity. She even called a few to inquire on any empty rooms for the lady, we were amazed.

The roof deck could use some TLC, there's too much going on up there and it ends up looking cluttered and uninviting. If they painted, cleaned up and removed some of the items then it would be even awesomer if that is even possible :)

The free coffee is better than any coffee I have ever paid for in NYC. And the locale is worth the price we paid rooms.

By the way, we received a free room upgrade without even being asked ... AWESOME!!! We had a wonderful time here and will be booking with CasaBlanca each and every time we are in town :)

Try not to eat at the “Parrot Club” it is a tourist trap, and expensive one with nothing extraordinary about it.
Cafeteria Mallorca on San Francisco (1 avenue up) is wonderful and a must for anyone visiting old San Juan. Go for breakfast, brunch, lunch, dinner  You must have the Mallorca’s!!!!

If you in search for authentic ethnic cuisine, then off to Mojito’s Restaurant on Recinto Sur, you MUST go and have the Mofongo :), fried pork, pollo empanetado, everything on the menu. The waitresses are super helpful and will recommend wonderful dishes for you to try. Pricing was reasonable and the food was excellent.

Go and enjoy the city, visit and try everything.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xavarian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,734 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
821 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#12 of 47 in San Juan
863 reviews
6.1 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaBlanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaBlanca Hotel

Property: CasaBlanca Hotel
Address: 316 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CasaBlanca Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Elevator is up and running! CasaBlanca is a Boutique Hotel with 32 guestrooms with a lot of character and a personalized experience. We want you to love San Juan as much as we do by making sure your stay is pleasant and memorable. The structure is Spanish from the 1900's therefore rooms are mid to small sized, air conditioned and impeccable. Our beds are comfortable and equipped with microfiber linens and Hypoallergenic pillows, our bathrooms are small but private and unique, with amenities from the organic brand - Archive. Please ask front desk for complimentary items you might have forgotten to pack. Also available are: steamer, hairdryer, in room coffee maker and ice machine in lobby. Our Sun Deck offers guests a memorable experience with magical views of Old San Juan, watch the cruises as they disappear into the bay or enjoy the historical views of San Cristobal Fort next to the open Caribbean Sea. From tanning to reading, enjoy our comfortable lounge chairs, as well as our stone bathtubs provided for a deep relaxation in fresh water at your own desired temperature and time as it is open 24 hrs. Everything from our menu is available with one quick call to guest services from our service phone. Still worried about catching up with friends and family or posting your recent vacation pictures online, or maybe send a late work related email, not a problem, our high speed Internet is available everywhere in Hotel grounds. We are a smoke free, environmentally friendly, historically preserved Hotel where you will find a smiley face where ever you go! Cafe Americain conveniently located in the lobby serves a delicious breakfast every morning from 8 - 12 pm while streaming our favorite Hollywood movie CasaBlanca. Restaurant hours are 8am - 10pm Wed to Sun and 8am-11am for Mon to Tue. Offers a lunch menu selection of local cuisine as well as light options as sandwiches and salads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your CasaBlanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing