We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night post cruise stay”
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CasaBlanca Hotel
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at Casablanca hotel for one night following our cruise. We are both in our mid twenties. After disembarkation, we walked with our luggage to Calle Fortaleza( one of the nicest streets in old San Juan), where the hotel is located. This took less than 15 minutes, even with our luggage and was quite enjoyable! I was thrilled with the location! This was my third time to San Juan and have previously stayed at La Concha in Condado, I was so happy to finally be staying in old San Juan, its a way more happening area during the day and of course at night.

Casablanca hotel is a beautiful, old building that you can tell has been really well looked after. I was impressed before I had even stepped inside!I imagine not having an elevator may negatively impact someone's experience but it didn't bother us. An employee helped us with our bags which was nice because there are a lot of stairs. Every employee we encountered was very professional and friendly.

I have ambivalent feelings towards the room. We stayed in 2E. I loved it's style! From the lamps to the high wardrobe, the room had a unique style that was to my liking. Icy cool AC was also a plus. However my favorite part was the shower! You can walk right into it from the bedroom with a curtain available for privacy; the bathroom was a separate room with a door. Our room was definitely made for couples and not friends lol
I didn't like the bedding in the room. The sheets were not soft and pillows were synthetic which I find very uncomfortable. I would suggest to the hotel to switch to goose down. The matress also felt old and stiff. There also was no chair/recliner in the room. Every hotel room regardless of size should have another place to sit besides the bed. This didn't bother me too much because we were out most of the time, but there are times I like to just sit back, relax and read after a busy day and I wouldn't have been able to do that in our room.

I would really rate this hotel a 3.5. With upgraded linens, pillows and additional furniture it would be a solid 4. However, 3.5 is not possible so i feel it's worthy to round up the 4. The building itself I really appreciated, location was superb, very nice employees and just being able to share a special day with my wife in OSJ at a very reasonable price are all reasons I would recommend the hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bosgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (975)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

718 - 724 of 975 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

We enjoyed ourselves here. We thought the place had a lot of character and loved the architecture. The perfect place to stay if you are planning to explore OSJ for a day or two. Our room was small, but it was pretty typical of a city hotel room in size! Unfortunately, we left our Kindle in the room, and we have not gotten it back.

Room Tip: Our interior room was nice - though we didn't have a window it was quiet and allowed us to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaniWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

If you are used to/looking for a typical chain hotel, then this is not the place for you. But if you are more interested in staying in a lovely little hotel that has loads of character and excellent service, then this is for you. Hotel Casablanca is right in the middle of Old San Juan (a great location), the hotel decor and rooms are cute (not huge, but that is the nature of buildings from that era) and the service is great. Very friendly and thoughtful: umbrellas by the door in case it rains, beach towels you can borrow to go to the beach (Playa Escambron is great) or to use one of the tubs on the terrace, etc. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor. Not too many stairs, and I didn't find the AC to be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Didi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Very pretty & a little different, with bright colors & big chandeliers. My room was on the 4th floor (3 full flights of stairs), but it was worth it. It was an interior room, which was a little different, but it had something like a window that had a glow on the other side during the day, so I didn't feel closed in. Bathroom was small but so pretty. The staff was really friendly and very helpful. Central location.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I don't know what rooms they give everyone else but we must have gotten the worst room in the place. Barely had enough room to walk around the bed, which was hard and the sheets/comforter was seemed really old and cheap, and the bathroom was tiny. The pillows were hard and flat. They put us on the 5th floor and didn't warn us that they have no elevator! The room was furnished with really old furniture (not antique, just old) and had none of the nice touches they show in their pictures. No room in the bathroom for anything more than a couple small items. Thankfully we only had an overnight stay otherwise I would have found another hotel. Also be warned the cruise ships are only 3 blocks away and sometimes leave in the middle of the night. They blow their horns when they depart so be prepared. The one person working at the front desk did offer to bring up our luggage but with the line of other people waiting to check in and the never ending phone calls, I doubt he would have made it within a few hours of our arrival. Also the roof deck does not look nearly as nice as the pictures. More desolate than charming and inviting. We also had a great view of the fort and cruise ships if you could overlook the other rooftops full of debris and garbage. I wish I'd had the same experience as others but I guess we got the worst room in the hotel. Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 5G. Can't say much for the others but we basically were given a broom cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pongo2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2015

Hello Pongo2001,

Thank you so much for letting us know about your concerns about room 5G, thanks to you this room got an upgrade and it is now one of the favorites in the Hotel! It got an expansion and views to both the Fort and the Cruise ports as well as a small desk and closet.

We hope you give us a second chance! Disclaimer: since all our rooms are different we encourage you to talk to our front desk associate if anything is wrong or if you wish to change rooms during your stay. We will do our best to better accommodate you.

Best regards,
Joyce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Had the trip of our lives to Puerto Rico and were happy to spend 5 nights at this quirky hotel in San Juan at the end of it. This place is very close to the good restaurants, convenient to the fort San Cristobal, and if you go to the left out the door you are in the shopping area. The lack of an elevator would make this place difficult for anyone with a lot of luggage, but we were lucky to stay on the 2nd floor so it wasn't so much of an issue getting up and down. Also, the soaking tubs on the roof are exactly that - bathtubs you sit in and soak in the sun. My wife had some kind of fantastical notion of a hot tub and they are definitely not that.

Room Tip: Get a room on a lower level since there aren't any elevators and the rooftop amenities aren'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had made a reservation for the CasaBlanca and when we arrived we found out the reservstion was for the next day. Unfortunately we were flying out the next day so could not stay for the day we had booked. Cynthia was on the desk. She was just fabulous. The CasaBlanca was fully booked for that day. She called several other hotels in the area and was able to get us a room at one of them. She also told us that the CasaBlanca would not charge us for the reservation we had made through Hotels.com and tried to contact them to make sure we received a refund. Unfortunately she was put on hold and was unable to get through. We left her still trying. We popped in later that day to see how she had made out. She had not been able to get through. Cynthia did however recommend a couple of restaurants and show us on a map how to get there. We stopped in the next day just before we left for the airport, Cynthia was not on duty but had left info for the person on the desk about us. Incredible service considering we didn't actually stay there. We were able to get through to Hotels.com when we got home. Told them our story, they verified with the CasaBlanca staff and we received a full refund.
We are looking forward to our next trip to San Juan and will absolutely be staying at the CasaBlanca.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler1775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
2.5 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
849 reviews
2.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#9 of 47 in San Juan
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#12 of 47 in San Juan
896 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,775 reviews
0.3 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaBlanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaBlanca Hotel

Address: 316 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range: £104 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CasaBlanca Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Elevator is up and running! CasaBlanca is a Boutique Hotel with 32 guestrooms with a lot of character and a personalized experience. We want you to love San Juan as much as we do by making sure your stay is pleasant and memorable. The structure is Spanish from the 1900's therefore rooms are mid to small sized, air conditioned and impeccable. Our beds are comfortable and equipped with microfiber linens and Hypoallergenic pillows, our bathrooms are small but private and unique, with amenities from the organic brand - Archive. Please ask front desk for complimentary items you might have forgotten to pack. Also available are: steamer, hairdryer, in room coffee maker and ice machine in lobby. Our Sun Deck offers guests a memorable experience with magical views of Old San Juan, watch the cruises as they disappear into the bay or enjoy the historical views of San Cristobal Fort next to the open Caribbean Sea. From tanning to reading, enjoy our comfortable lounge chairs, as well as our stone bathtubs provided for a deep relaxation in fresh water at your own desired temperature and time as it is open 24 hrs. Everything from our menu is available with one quick call to guest services from our service phone. Still worried about catching up with friends and family or posting your recent vacation pictures online, or maybe send a late work related email, not a problem, our high speed Internet is available everywhere in Hotel grounds. We are a smoke free, environmentally friendly, historically preserved Hotel where you will find a smiley face where ever you go! Cafe Americain conveniently located in the lobby serves a delicious breakfast every morning from 8 - 12 pm while streaming our favorite Hollywood movie CasaBlanca. Restaurant hours are 8am - 10pm Wed to Sun and 8am-11am for Mon to Tue. Offers a lunch menu selection of local cuisine as well as light options as sandwiches and salads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your CasaBlanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing