We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love love this place”
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
CasaBlanca Hotel
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love love this place”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here with another couple for our pre cruise hotel. We choose it because of it's quirky, artsy, uniqueness as well as we wanted in Old San Juan.

Check in was easy enough, I could see if multiple people checked in at once that it cause a wait problem as there is only 1 person for the front. It is an older building so no elevator which was fine as they did have a someone that could help with the bags to our room. We stayed on the 3rd floor. But we were more then able to do it ourselves too. We did find it funny that people still complained about no elevators there. It clearly says it on their website as well if you read any reviews!!

The king room while tiny was functional and so cute! Could use a bit more counter space in the bathroom but I worked around that. I could see if your are a couple of larger portions that walking around the bed would be difficult. I am only 5'2" and some what petitie so it was easy enough to slide between the the bed and hutch but my husband 6' pretty fit squeezed sideways between the two. For us too, it worked and thought it was very romantic looking with the netting framing the bed.

The tubs upstairs are worth checking out...if not for the view. It's a walk up the 6 flights of stairs. I'm not sure who really uses the tubs except maybe honeymooners?! ;)

The restaurant/bar...it didn't open later but they opened the bar up for our friends who were waiting for us. I thought that was really nice of them. The breakfast buffet was interesting had some salty but tastey soups and your normal fruit, bread, etc. We only got the basic buffet as you can also get the full buffet. Basic was enough for me.

Overall the people were so nice there and we really just enjoyed talking to the bartender. We would definately go back here to stay!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank troyandkaylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    290
    83
    27
    17
See reviews for
131
581
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Everything from when you walk through the door makes you want to stay a moment longer and cherish the moment. My daughter was working on a movie and she arranged a special room for one of the actresses. Everything was perfect! The suite was perfectly tended to with the most amazing bed scarves and pillows that even had their logo on them! It was like they paid attention to every detail... We were told the actress even took a bubble bath with champagne on the roof under the stars with her date! How amazing!!! The front desk was their 100% of the time to help with any logistics that came up and even let them keep some of their gear in a storage facility. The one on one attention and care was truly exceptional. For anyone that comes in to town I will recommend The Casablanca Hotel for sure!

Room Tip: The Suite with a Balcony overlooking Fortaleza St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerriElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have stayed in this hotel twice. It has the best prices of any hotel in Old San Juan. Both times I had a balcony on Calle Fortaleza, and both times the room was great. Just remember that you are not staying in a 5 star hotel.

Service was excellent during my first stay (January 2011), but the hotel changed ownership before my second stay (January 2012) and the service was not as good. Friends we were travelling with got locked out of their room on the top floor (a guest in another room locked the passage door). The problem was nobody in the hotel knew where the key for the door was. They had to stay in another room without access to their belongings.

So I have mixed feelings about this hotel. I would try staying there again.

Room Tip: Spend the extra to get a balcony room, but be aware there can be street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a historical building. There is no elevator and no pool or fitness center. There are five bath tubs on the roof terrace which is six flights up and a good workout.
That being said the free trolley can drop you off right in front of a nice beach (no lifeguards) that is perfect for cooling off. Not the best for swimming due to a sometimes strong under current. A mile hike down the road from here can take you to escambron beach which is better for swimming but much more populated.
Back to the hotel, the bed was perfect and very comfortable after long days exploring Old San Juan. Breakfast was not included but guests get 20 percent off and was pretty good. Staff was very nice and helpful. The shower was very large but in a seperate but adjacent room from the sink and toilet.Nice large television to watch before falling asleep.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miller1081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights before leaving on a cruise out of San Juan. The hotel was booked based on Trip Advisor reviews so I figured I should leave my own review.
Let's start with the caveat
1. No elevator. This is published everywhere so it shouldn't be a surprise to anyone. I didn't have a problem with moving the luggage up and down the stairs. If people have limited mobility they should stay somewhere else. I actually hope they don't put in an elevator since I think it would remove some of the charm of the place.

We arrived at midnight to check-in and the person at the front desk was very friendly, it was a great start of our stay. We slept really well that night. Breakfast the next morning on the ground floor was very nice, and with a 20% discount if you are from the hotel and eat before 10am helped. We also had lunch there after exploring Old San Juan. The lunch was very good as well and reasonably priced. At night we went up to the roof and sat in the bathtubs on the roof and watched the clouds rolling by. The bathtubs on the roof are super cool and a great way to end the day.
All the staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and nice. This is my first choice for a hotel in Old San Juan next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
191 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Reasonable value and good location. Wifi in room alright. No lift. Simple and clean. Friendly and helpful staff with an exception : had an early flight and had been told taxis were easily called from nearby taxi stand. As it turned out, I was made to wait for a taxi driver friend of the receptionist for 25 minutes (already pressed for time due to early flight) . With some of the excuse being roadworks. At the end, I had to walk down to the taxi stand and meet him there. The taxi proceeded to charge usd 25 vs the usd 21 fixed charge for having called him. So thanks to the intervention of the receptionist for a friend, I was made to wait longer and pay more, even if I had to walk to the taxi stand myself. Quite annoying and probably only mentioning it because this was the final straw in a line of encounters that is the racket in San Juan with taxi drivers referring to fixed rates that are rarely published but for a few ruotes and often differ between taxis. The taxis have meters but refuse to use them. Highly unregulated, third-world conditions.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ExphilipX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Exphilip,

Thank you so much for leaving feedback on your stay with us!

We are so sorry you have left Puerto Rico with a bad experience or several with taxi drivers in the Island. That morning it was specially tricky because it was Iron Man Puerto Rico and main arteries were closed since 4am in Old San Juan/Condado area. Usually taxi's arrive to the Hotel within 10 minutes. We encourage travelers to go to the closest taxi stand at Plaza Colon on later hours when pressed on time to avoid any taxi delays, as this may happen, San Juan is a very old town with narrow streets that can get congested easily. Luckily, after you hop on a taxi from our Hotel you are set because Fortaleza Street heads towards exiting town and you avoid any happenings.

As a general rule taxi's are rarely found before 6 am, that is why we call several taxi companies to come directly to the Hotel and they do charge $2 for this service. Additionally they charge $1 per bag. Please rest assured that this was not a friend of our Front Desk Associate, but a taxi company.

I have talked to our staff so they expedite solutions for you as that is an unacceptable wait, we have reported this to the taxi company as well.

Wishing you the best in your future travels,
CasaBlanca Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onyx, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

A friend and I stayed for two nights before a cruise to the Caribbean, and it was just delightful. Very nicely decorated lobby/restaurant/bar area, and, as you would expect, it's like you just walked into a Humphrey Bogart movie. Very friendly and helpful staff. The room was comfortable, clean and had all the amenities you would expect, including great air-conditioning and a flat-screen TV. Because this building is in Old San Juan, in a very tight-packed neighborhood, there is no elevator. This makes wrangling your luggage to the 4th floor taxing, at best. There is a nice roof-top area with 4-5 large soaking tubs and a great view of the historic fort, which is only 2 blocks away. Plenty of night life and restaurants in the area, all within walking distance.

If you have disdain for big box, major hotels (like me) this is the perfect spot, and the price is about 1/3 of the "big" hotels. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerF679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
2.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 48 in San Juan
2,690 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.3 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 48 in San Juan
199 reviews
1.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaBlanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaBlanca Hotel

Property: CasaBlanca Hotel
Address: 316 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CasaBlanca Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Elevator is up and running! CasaBlanca is a Boutique Hotel with 32 guestrooms with a lot of character and a personalized experience. We want you to love San Juan as much as we do by making sure your stay is pleasant and memorable. The structure is Spanish from the 1900's therefore rooms are mid to small sized, air conditioned and impeccable. Our beds are comfortable and equipped with microfiber linens and Hypoallergenic pillows, our bathrooms are small but private and unique, with amenities from the organic brand - Archive. Please ask front desk for complimentary items you might have forgotten to pack. Also available are: steamer, hairdryer, in room coffee maker and ice machine in lobby. Our Sun Deck offers guests a memorable experience with magical views of Old San Juan, watch the cruises as they disappear into the bay or enjoy the historical views of San Cristobal Fort next to the open Caribbean Sea. From tanning to reading, enjoy our comfortable lounge chairs, as well as our stone bathtubs provided for a deep relaxation in fresh water at your own desired temperature and time as it is open 24 hrs. Everything from our menu is available with one quick call to guest services from our service phone. Still worried about catching up with friends and family or posting your recent vacation pictures online, or maybe send a late work related email, not a problem, our high speed Internet is available everywhere in Hotel grounds. We are a smoke free, environmentally friendly, historically preserved Hotel where you will find a smiley face where ever you go! Cafe Americain conveniently located in the lobby serves a delicious breakfast every morning from 8 - 12 pm while streaming our favorite Hollywood movie CasaBlanca. Restaurant hours are 8am - 10pm Wed to Sun and 8am-11am for Mon to Tue. Offers a lunch menu selection of local cuisine as well as light options as sandwiches and salads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your CasaBlanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing