We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Humphrey Bogart in Casa Blanca shown daily”
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CasaBlanca Hotel
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Humphrey Bogart in Casa Blanca shown daily”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very quaint. No elevator so anyone who stayed above floor 3 was in for a long walk. We stayed on 3rd floor. Though we were told by the owner an elevator was in the process of being installed. The people who carried the luggage were great. They got a workout but never got winded and did a quick job. A view of the street, nothing spectacular. There was also construction. We had to walk a few blocks to get there and catch the cab to the airport. I wouldn't recommend eating breakfast there. Service was slow and the ladies didn't know English well. They tried their best though. Food was fair. They had a small bar which wasn't open but one day. That day the place was packed because of a conference. The tubs on the roof, I'm not sure of their purpose. Pretty view but it was too much effort to get up there. It was a good visit, good location.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    292
    84
    27
    15
See reviews for
136
585
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Neubiberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed in the CasaBlanca Hotel for three nights at the beginning of May. I booked this hotel after having seen many good good reviews on tripadvisor and it was a good choice.
The staff was always very friendly and helpful. My room was not especially big, but nicely furnished and clean. There was one window to the hotel lobby, but I didn´t care - Old San Juan is such an interesting place that I just returned to the hotel to sleep and not to look through the window. Anyway, the highlight was the the rooftop with five big bathtubs (or rather bath basins) which offered chilling on worm (hot) evenings).
The hotel is very conveniently located, the street is quiet (at least was at that time, maybe due to some works on the next crossing). The only minus is that there is no lift, but you don´t need to carry your luggage - the friendly staff will do it for you.
I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agatol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights here in Casablanca hotel. Overall, it's a very cute hotel. Beautiful charming lobby with high ceilings (which are most places in Old San Juan), beautiful decor. Lovely rooftop with lounge chairs and bath basins to chill out in. I booked through cheaptickets/orbitz and got a decent deal. Didn't eat downstairs but did chill out in the bar and the bartender was super cool. She would make us any drink and also gave us great local recommendations!

My only gripe is that the room is super tiny, I had expected a little bigger. The other reviewers are right, you have to walk the stairs so you can be walking 4 or 5 flights depending on where your room is. The huge plus is that this hotel is super convenient. It is on Calle Fortaleza and close to everything!!! I definitely would come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cinnabun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We did not get the room we reserved. We were told that it was being remodeled and they didn't get it finished in time. Instead we were given a room on the top floor. We had to climb 6 flights of stairs every time we left and returned. The room was clean and pleasant but the climb each time was very inconvenient. I probably would have been a little happier about it if they would have emailed me concerning the change ahead of time. We will probably try some place else next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gallitorojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Gallitorojo,

Thank you so much for your review! We are so sorry about our delay in finishing the changes to room 5G. We had a plan and finished remodeling but the room did not pass its same day inspection as it smelled a little of the new paint applied the previous day. We changed you to the room next door 5F with a king size bed and view. The stairs to the fifth floor are no joke, reason why we are working day in and day out to get our elevator permits and hopefully begin one day to use the stairs only when wanting to burn some extra delicious calories from local cuisine.

We hope this does not affect your decision making in the future as remodeling like this only happens once. We are truly sorry and would love to see you back!

Best regards from CasaBlanca Old San Juan,
Joyce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at the Casablanca hotel on both sides of our cruise vacation. The staff excelled in customer service. Arriving late into the evening made no difference, when was the last time management came out to welcome you. That was only the beginning. The restaurant located in the hotel had just closed for the evening but stayed open to serve us. The hotel staff service exceeded that of most large chain hotels. Personal, friendly is only a small part.
We were aware that the hotel had no elevator however that was not a problem. The staff was there to help. The room was comfortable and fit the hotel theme. Don’t expect lavish appointments.
Hotel location was excellent. In the middle of all the action in Old San Juan. Within walking distance of the cruise ship terminal and mostly downhill. Unfortunately the street that the hotel is located on is under construction and is blocked. Somehow this was not a problem and it made for some great pictures of the street without being clogged by cars.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Casablanca hotel and have no problem recommending it. Too bad some of the big chain hotels can’t run their hotels the same way.
Thanks Casablanca Hotel, you’re everything we expected…and so much more!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank props4u2 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We spent two nights here and the stay was very enjoyable. The building is very old and built in the old Spanish style like everything in Old San Juan. The rooms are small but nice and accommodate two people just fine. The motif has a Moroccan flair with heavy influence from the movie Casablanca. Great location in the city with plenty of shops and cafes only minutes away. Actually, everything in Old San Juan is within reasonable walking distance of this hotel. There is a good cafe on the first floor adjacent the lobby and a good restaurant, Mondito's, just a couple doors down. If you are driving, this hotel may be a bit difficult to get to due to the tiny one-way streets, construction, and lack of parking. The staff was very friendly and helpful with advice for getting around the island, recommendations, and setting up car services. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here on the recommendation of a local. It is evident that the staff take pride in the hotel and it was very well located
would recommend it, but a few things to know before you go-no parking at the hotel (as expected in this historic area), no elevator.road construction made it impossible to even get close to uload luggage-check before you commit, no pool-but some bathtubs on roof...
there is a nice small inhouse spot for breakfast, sadly the gasline broke down and we had a fortuitous good breakfast at a place they recommended as a backup

Room Tip: as mentioned above, no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deejos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
2.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,711 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
802 reviews
3.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.3 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaBlanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaBlanca Hotel

Property: CasaBlanca Hotel
Address: 316 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CasaBlanca Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Elevator is up and running! CasaBlanca is a Boutique Hotel with 32 guestrooms with a lot of character and a personalized experience. We want you to love San Juan as much as we do by making sure your stay is pleasant and memorable. The structure is Spanish from the 1900's therefore rooms are mid to small sized, air conditioned and impeccable. Our beds are comfortable and equipped with microfiber linens and Hypoallergenic pillows, our bathrooms are small but private and unique, with amenities from the organic brand - Archive. Please ask front desk for complimentary items you might have forgotten to pack. Also available are: steamer, hairdryer, in room coffee maker and ice machine in lobby. Our Sun Deck offers guests a memorable experience with magical views of Old San Juan, watch the cruises as they disappear into the bay or enjoy the historical views of San Cristobal Fort next to the open Caribbean Sea. From tanning to reading, enjoy our comfortable lounge chairs, as well as our stone bathtubs provided for a deep relaxation in fresh water at your own desired temperature and time as it is open 24 hrs. Everything from our menu is available with one quick call to guest services from our service phone. Still worried about catching up with friends and family or posting your recent vacation pictures online, or maybe send a late work related email, not a problem, our high speed Internet is available everywhere in Hotel grounds. We are a smoke free, environmentally friendly, historically preserved Hotel where you will find a smiley face where ever you go! Cafe Americain conveniently located in the lobby serves a delicious breakfast every morning from 8 - 12 pm while streaming our favorite Hollywood movie CasaBlanca. Restaurant hours are 8am - 10pm Wed to Sun and 8am-11am for Mon to Tue. Offers a lunch menu selection of local cuisine as well as light options as sandwiches and salads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your CasaBlanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing