We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, nice staff, cute decor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CasaBlanca Hotel
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location, nice staff, cute decor!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely three nights at Hotel Casablanca, a boutique hotel. The room was very charming with a large bathroom/shower. My husband loved the Direct TV cable :) The lobby, stairwell, and rooms are all decorated to fit the Moroccan theme. Location couldn't be better in Old San Juan!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    285
    83
    27
    16
See reviews for
128
563
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I recently visited Puerto Rico to see his family and on our last night got a room here to have some alone time before heading home. The hotel is in a great location in Old San Juan. Next to some great restaurants and plenty to do. The staff was all very friendly and check in and out was simple.

We got the king size room which was very cute and the bed was SO comfortable. I was in love with the whole set up of the hotel, it was very charming.

The only downside I saw to the hotel was that there were no windows in the room, however it's in the city so that can be expected. There isn't an option to have a long bed AND a balcony which is a bummer because a balcony would have been super nice. Finally there are no elevators. It wasn't a big deal to me as I really don't mind taking the stairs. However if my boyfriend wasn't there to carry my heavy luggage it would have sucked.

With that aside, all in all I still would 100% suggest this hotel to anyone who wants to spend a night or two in Old San Juan.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewood, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I love the location of the hotel. Central to so many of the

With no elevator they hotel provided the porters to bring our luggage to our room & also bring it down for us when we left. Our 2 room suite was comfortable & came with amenities.

I could sit on my balcony & hear the Salsa music from NuYo which was just down an alley from the hotel when I did not feel like going to the club.

The staff was wonderful & made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robobeach2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Lovely hotel in the heart of San Juan. Nestled in narrow streets where character comes alive. Service was lovely and staff aimed to please us. Would recommend to anyone wanting to capture the local culture.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TodaysGeorgieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here two nights and the room was fantastic. We had the 2 room suite, which worked out well with 2 older boys. There is not an elevator, but they will gladly hump the luggage up the stairs if you want. The A/C was refreshingly cool. Check with the front desk for places to go and eat. (Don't miss La Fonda Del Jibarito on Calle Sol for dinner.) The fort is a quick walk away. The free Wi-Fi is great. There is a grocery store 4 short blocks away if you're looking for the last item before you go on the cruise ship. Taxi's are about $20 to the Pan Am terminal, and you can walk to the other terminals. Friends decided to save money and stay outside of Old San Juan, but a couple of taxi rides and you know that was a bad choice. Old San Juan is total gridlock. The only downside was the $40 in taxes each night. A nice touch, "Casablanca" plays on 3 TVs continuously in the lobby and bar. We would like to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DB2012866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

As we were wrapping up our honeymoon for 3 days in Puerto Rico, we decided to skip the beach and stay right in Old San Juan. We rented a car from the airport and were able to find parking without issue at the Dona Fela garage which was reasonably priced and a short walk from the hotel (Really close - only a block or two). The location of the hotel was great - we were within walking distance to everything in the Old San Juan Area and felt safe at all times. The lobby and bar area were nice and the staff was pleasant as well. I was left unimpressed with the breakfast, which I found cold, bland, and overpriced. The stairs, as everyone has mentioned, are no fun especially if you are staying on a higher level. Our room, a queen bed with balcony, was small and simple, but clean. The balcony is small and shared with the room next to you. I found this disappointing as I would have preferred to sleep with the door open...part of the reason I opted for the more expensive balcony in the first place. We never found noise to be an issue, either from outside or from within the hotel. The rooftop was cute and fun...but the bathtubs, while nice in theory, looked filthy and I have doubts that they are cleaned often enough. Was it a cute place to stay for a couple of nights? Sure...Was it worth the cost?? Eh...from a general perspective I would say no...but looking at the other options for the area, I'd say more or less. Depending on personal tastes, I would possibly recommend this place to a friend. It's different, it's quirky, but it's definitely small and older.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djenah79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

It is walking distance to every thing, restaurant, shopping, beach, attactions. It is a very cute hotel. We stayed in a room in the 3rd floor with a balcony and it was nice. The stairs are a killer, no elevator and you carry your own luggage. A negative is that you could hear people in the hallway. The TV is super small. Since we had a balcony we could hear everything on the street and I must add this is a very BUSY street, even more on a weekend.

Room Tip: The higher up the better, noise wise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boricuagrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
2.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
2,644 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#11 of 46 in San Juan
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
1.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
6,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaBlanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaBlanca Hotel

Property: CasaBlanca Hotel
Address: 316 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CasaBlanca Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Elevator is up and running! CasaBlanca is a Boutique Hotel with 32 guestrooms with a lot of character and a personalized experience. We want you to love San Juan as much as we do by making sure your stay is pleasant and memorable. The structure is Spanish from the 1900's therefore rooms are mid to small sized, air conditioned and impeccable. Our beds are comfortable and equipped with microfiber linens and Hypoallergenic pillows, our bathrooms are small but private and unique, with amenities from the organic brand - Archive. Please ask front desk for complimentary items you might have forgotten to pack. Also available are: steamer, hairdryer, in room coffee maker and ice machine in lobby. Our Sun Deck offers guests a memorable experience with magical views of Old San Juan, watch the cruises as they disappear into the bay or enjoy the historical views of San Cristobal Fort next to the open Caribbean Sea. From tanning to reading, enjoy our comfortable lounge chairs, as well as our stone bathtubs provided for a deep relaxation in fresh water at your own desired temperature and time as it is open 24 hrs. Everything from our menu is available with one quick call to guest services from our service phone. Still worried about catching up with friends and family or posting your recent vacation pictures online, or maybe send a late work related email, not a problem, our high speed Internet is available everywhere in Hotel grounds. We are a smoke free, environmentally friendly, historically preserved Hotel where you will find a smiley face where ever you go! Cafe Americain conveniently located in the lobby serves a delicious breakfast every morning from 8 - 12 pm while streaming our favorite Hollywood movie CasaBlanca. Restaurant hours are 8am - 10pm Wed to Sun and 8am-11am for Mon to Tue. Offers a lunch menu selection of local cuisine as well as light options as sandwiches and salads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your CasaBlanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing