We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and charming”
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CasaBlanca Hotel
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for one night before to experience Old San Juan before a resort stay. I thoroughly enjoyed it and plan to stay here again if we go to San Juan.

Positives
Friendly staff - The person at the front desk, Miguel, was very helpful and friendly. He offered us recommendations and gave us tips on the area. Everyone else was also friendly and helpful. Everyone I spoke with spoke very good English.
Location - From the roof terrace you can see the rest of the city. It is so beautiful. It is also very easy to walk to just about anywhere in Old San Juan. The taxi from the airport was only about $22 (plus a dollar per luggage).
Decor - The hotel was beautiful and well kept. The rooms are small but well decorated.
Wifi - The wifi was easy to set up and I didn't have to keep fiddling with it like other free wifi
Checkout - They held our bags at reception after check out so we could explore the city before we left for the resort.

Negatives
There is no elevator

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank auxabois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (974)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

654 - 660 of 974 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

We had our wedding reception in their lobby and all our guests stayed in their hotel. We they did an amazing job of organizing the reception and accommodating our guests. The owners worked with us directly to make sure everything thing ran smoothly and even surprised us with a belly dancer at the reception. We are already planning our return.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoachMarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for four days over our anniversary. It is perfectly situated in Old San Juan, within walking distance from the forts, museums and numerous fantastic restaurants and shopping. The staff is amazing and helped us out with everything we wanted, they arranged travel, suggested sights to see and our concierge continually directed us to hidden gems throughout the island. The rooftop tubs were romantic and offered a beautiful view of the entire city. The property itself is fantastic, and this hotel gives a dramatically better experience than any of the chain hotels could ever offer. We were tremendously happy here and expect to stay again on our next visit.

Room Tip: Remember there is no elevator, not a huge deal but if you don't feel up to stairs ask for a lowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Beautiful hotel in old San Juan. The staff at hotel was phenomenal. We did not eat there but nice restaurant. No pool or gym etc but has a great rooftop view with these soaking tubs which was so great in the evening and romantic. No elevator, so be prepared, which worked out for us as we ate so much we needed a lil workout lol.

Special thank you to Juan who was able to get me my third night at hotel at great rate. And even a bigger thank you to Miguel. Miguel was the best. He was soooooo pleasant, helpful, knowledgable, just fantastic. He made my husband feel so at home (husband first time visiting PR).

Rooms very romantic. My husband contacted hotel for wine and flowers and Miguel made it happen. Highly recommend and if ever stay say hi to Miguel on behalf of Marlene and Jesus. :).

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is very basic, very cute and very charming. It does not really offer any amenities other than free Wi-Fi but the amenities is not why you would stay at this hotel. You would stya here for the the price and convenient location. Like I said, it is very charming with an ecclectic Moraccan-esk decor. The terrace gives a great view of the old city and it is located on calle Fortaleza close to great restaurants and other sites. The one negative, in my opinion, is that most rooms don't have windows. It is an older building therefore the interior rooms (most of them) do not have windows. It is also VERY clean and smells really good.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I truly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Casablanca.

The room was amazing...it was fsacinating being in a building so old yet so modern.

The staff were always ready to make a recommendation or handle any request that we had.

We will undoubtedly stay here when we return to San Juan.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blt4al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stopped in this quaint boutique hotel again, and was completely blown away by the mixologist, Tisha, and her amazing concoctions!! Be sure to try the "Cinnamon Tish" or the "Birds and the Bees", they are fantastic creations!! Of course, the hotel itself offers a ton in character and personality. The "hot tub rooftop" is especially cool and different, great views and a great spot to cool off. BUT, even if you're not staying at the hotel, you now have a GREAT reason to stop in the Cafe Americain Bar and have Tish make you one of her best!!! I'll be back in every time I get the chance!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jgalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
2.5 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
847 reviews
2.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#8 of 47 in San Juan
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#12 of 47 in San Juan
894 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,775 reviews
0.3 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaBlanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaBlanca Hotel

Address: 316 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range: £105 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CasaBlanca Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Elevator is up and running! CasaBlanca is a Boutique Hotel with 32 guestrooms with a lot of character and a personalized experience. We want you to love San Juan as much as we do by making sure your stay is pleasant and memorable. The structure is Spanish from the 1900's therefore rooms are mid to small sized, air conditioned and impeccable. Our beds are comfortable and equipped with microfiber linens and Hypoallergenic pillows, our bathrooms are small but private and unique, with amenities from the organic brand - Archive. Please ask front desk for complimentary items you might have forgotten to pack. Also available are: steamer, hairdryer, in room coffee maker and ice machine in lobby. Our Sun Deck offers guests a memorable experience with magical views of Old San Juan, watch the cruises as they disappear into the bay or enjoy the historical views of San Cristobal Fort next to the open Caribbean Sea. From tanning to reading, enjoy our comfortable lounge chairs, as well as our stone bathtubs provided for a deep relaxation in fresh water at your own desired temperature and time as it is open 24 hrs. Everything from our menu is available with one quick call to guest services from our service phone. Still worried about catching up with friends and family or posting your recent vacation pictures online, or maybe send a late work related email, not a problem, our high speed Internet is available everywhere in Hotel grounds. We are a smoke free, environmentally friendly, historically preserved Hotel where you will find a smiley face where ever you go! Cafe Americain conveniently located in the lobby serves a delicious breakfast every morning from 8 - 12 pm while streaming our favorite Hollywood movie CasaBlanca. Restaurant hours are 8am - 10pm Wed to Sun and 8am-11am for Mon to Tue. Offers a lunch menu selection of local cuisine as well as light options as sandwiches and salads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your CasaBlanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing