We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hotel with top notch staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CasaBlanca Hotel
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unique hotel with top notch staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights while in PR.
Pros:
Excellent location
Extremely clean rooms and interior
Rooms are very cold and feel amazing
Decor is charming. Most awesome lobby and sink in bathroom was one of a kind.
Staff very friendly and helpful.

Cons:
Tiny bathroom
Tissues in room would have been nice.

Note: rooms small and mine had no window..I hate being in hotel room when I'm not sleeping or getting ready for bed so this was not important for me.

Would have been nice to have breakfast included.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Espressopillows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Expressopillows,

Love the name! Please receive our most sincere gratitude for taking the time to give us this fabulous feedback. We rely on all our guests comments to both get better at what we do and also build moral confidence that our hard work pays off.

We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    285
    83
    27
    16
See reviews for
128
564
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here a few years ago it was amazing great service great room we still talk about how great our stay was and of course tell evert bod we are planing another trip and this time just staying here for the week instead of going on the cruise. SEE YOU SOON

Room Tip: Walking distance to the cruise port and the fort
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juanita O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hola Juanita,

Thank you so very much for your great comments, we are waiting for you in sunny Puerto Rico! We have made tremendous improvements in the last year we hope Trip Advisor lets you write another follow up as we would love to know how you like the changes!

Please call or email us at reservations@hotelcasablancapr.com for ideas on tours or car rental companies that have free pick up service to Old San Juan.

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Casablanca was by far the best hotel we stayed at on our trip (including the Caribe Hilton resort). This hotel is absolutely adorable and totally worth the money. Tons of decorations and interesting art/pottery/paintings that line every wall of the hotel. The food was great and loved that they played the Casablanca movie 24/7 in the lobby. The location is perfect in old San Juan near all the bars, restaurants and shopping. Would gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALZ620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear ALZ620,

It is an amazing honor to be the best hotel of your trip to Puerto Rico. Thank you so much for leaving us this wonderful review, it is both gratifying and scary at the same time because now we can't disappoint, right?!!!

As I always say to everyone that inquires about us; we are modest, moderated and efficient. But we strive in service in every sense of the word and the location is amazing. You will fall in love with Old San Juan. Sometimes I just want to be out with all you guys, and not at the office, but someone must hold the fort! We are so happy you had so much fun.

See you next time around ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayey, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Beautiful decoration in the lobby and located close to most of the best restaurants in Old San Juan. Also close to the cruises port. Nice view of the city from the rooftop with very romantic tubs. Very helpful and nice staff.

Small clean rooms with plain decoration. Very soft matress with a plush cover on the top, too soft for my comfort, I prefer more firm matress. Large and clean shower with hot water and adequate pressure.

I had a room on the second floor then lack of elevator was not a problem for me. Unfortunately hotel restaurant only has breakfast until 10 am. But Caficultura is close to the hotel and went there for breakfast.

I recomend this hotel as precruise or postcruise stay or if you want to stay in Old San Juan and don't has budget to pay a little more for a more luxury hotel like El Convento.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor, specially if you have bad knees. Remember there is No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hello Heidi,

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay with us in July. It makes all the difference to us to hear all your thoughts!

Please contact me at joyceoller@hotelcasablancapr.com as we would love to know if your room number was 3I as this is the only plush mattress we have in the Hotel and although we have heard no complaints we always figured it wouldn't please everyone having such a soft bed.

Thank you so much for your help!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culebra
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed there only one night.
We were impressed by the attractive and original decor of the lobby. We upgraded to a King Deluxe room so were really surprised that our room was TINY! It JUST fit the king bed, 2 small bedside tables, a dresser, tv and a chair. It lacked the charm and decor of the lobby. Don't know the size of the other rooms, but if ours was a "deluxe", I hate to think!
The bathroom was very sparse (no shelves, no hooks, etc.). For one night it was fine - don't know if I would spend a vacation there, although, if you want to be walking distance from nice restaurants and bars, I guess its not bad.

Room Tip: Ask the size of the room - the king deluxe was tiny!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olablu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear SpotBar,

Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate all comments as we strive to be the best Hotel in the area in terms of service and experience! We have been able to overcome many obstacles on the road, we are currently working in the production of a brand new elevator so stairs will become more a of a decision move instead of a must. Now room sizes, that is always we have always talked about...there is very little room in Old San Juan.

In an effort to inform all travelers when booking a room we have displayed our rooms sizes on our website and other websites that sell our Hotel Rooms however, if you are like me, I would have no idea. They are as we call them "European Size" far from Chain Hotel "new construction" sizes. We have made built in closet space so you can organize your belongings and hang your clothes. The Deluxe King room allows for a reading chair that also converts into a bed for a third person or child.

We hope this information helps, should you have any questions please don't hesitate to call us at (787) 725-3436 and we can assist.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Tonight is the last night of my stay here at Casablanca hotel and I am very sad to be leaving. This was the best hotel we could have picked. So close to everything. The staff here is also amazing. From the moment I walked in with my family I felt welcomed. Thanks Cynthia, Natalie and Adam. Special special thanks to Juan! He's the best. He told us some great local spots to go to and we were never disappointed. I can't wait to come back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tyler2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I loved the feel of the hotel - small, unique and charming.
They pay a lot of attention to detail and there are lots of little quirks.
The rooftop bathes are quite romantic and the roof has some nice city views!

Those travellers who do not enjoy walking or have handicaps should be advised that there is NO elevator in the building. We were on the 5th floor and it was 89 steps up to our rooms (yes, my mom counted).
That's the only downside to the hotel. They do have a restaurant and bar in-house, but they never get very crowded.

Loved the location and the truly San Juan feel of this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
2.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#12 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
1.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaBlanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaBlanca Hotel

Property: CasaBlanca Hotel
Address: 316 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CasaBlanca Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Elevator is up and running! CasaBlanca is a Boutique Hotel with 32 guestrooms with a lot of character and a personalized experience. We want you to love San Juan as much as we do by making sure your stay is pleasant and memorable. The structure is Spanish from the 1900's therefore rooms are mid to small sized, air conditioned and impeccable. Our beds are comfortable and equipped with microfiber linens and Hypoallergenic pillows, our bathrooms are small but private and unique, with amenities from the organic brand - Archive. Please ask front desk for complimentary items you might have forgotten to pack. Also available are: steamer, hairdryer, in room coffee maker and ice machine in lobby. Our Sun Deck offers guests a memorable experience with magical views of Old San Juan, watch the cruises as they disappear into the bay or enjoy the historical views of San Cristobal Fort next to the open Caribbean Sea. From tanning to reading, enjoy our comfortable lounge chairs, as well as our stone bathtubs provided for a deep relaxation in fresh water at your own desired temperature and time as it is open 24 hrs. Everything from our menu is available with one quick call to guest services from our service phone. Still worried about catching up with friends and family or posting your recent vacation pictures online, or maybe send a late work related email, not a problem, our high speed Internet is available everywhere in Hotel grounds. We are a smoke free, environmentally friendly, historically preserved Hotel where you will find a smiley face where ever you go! Cafe Americain conveniently located in the lobby serves a delicious breakfast every morning from 8 - 12 pm while streaming our favorite Hollywood movie CasaBlanca. Restaurant hours are 8am - 10pm Wed to Sun and 8am-11am for Mon to Tue. Offers a lunch menu selection of local cuisine as well as light options as sandwiches and salads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your CasaBlanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing