We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and atmosphere unmatched.”
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CasaBlanca Hotel
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Location and atmosphere unmatched.”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

From the moment you walk in the door you know you have made the right choice. The friendliness of the staff, especially Joyce Oller, made you feel right at home. The location is unbeatable and the uniqueness of the hotel from the film of Casablanca showing, to the artwork, give you a change from the cookie cutter hotel chains, and that's what going to Old San Juan is all about. Immersing yourself in the culture. Thanks again to Joyce for taking the time to respond to comments on tripadvisor. It shows she cares and she does. You just can't go wrong with the Casablanca Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear sae,

Well I am speechless! Thank you so much for your kind words, I was a little nervous because we had been in contact prior to your arrival about you reading all the good reviews and it clearly sets the bar high. Thank you again for taking the time to write about us and also for remembering my name. I am always at your service, as is our great staff here at CasaBlanca who wishes you and your family can come back to visit soon.

We are just thrilled that your experience was "unmatched"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    292
    84
    27
    15
See reviews for
136
585
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goodlettsville, Tennessee, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed here recently,and I loved it. It was clean,the staff was always extrememly helpful,and the location can't be beat! It is located in the heart of Old San Juan. Our room was a bit small,about the size of a bedroom in a regular sized house,and the bathroom was also small. But really,how much time do you spend in the room,and how much space do you need while you are in there? The price can't be beat,the service can't be beat,and the location can't be beat. You do have to get an iron and things like that from the desk,but they are always very helpful and quick to assist. Would definitely stay there again!. Oh yeah, and free wifi in the rooms!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I had a high expectation for this place. Location is unbeatable--located right in the downtown area and in a walking distance to both historical forts. All I only need was a taxi from the airport to the hotel to start my journey. Hotel decoration is so beautiful. Though the room is quite small--only 1 king bed, it has everything I need. The bath tubs on the rooftop are really interesting. I missed it because it was raining on the evening I stayed. Staff was also friendly too. One thing though, it does not have an elevator.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that are close to the stairs. It's a bit noisy some times. Also, It does not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cho_R4T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

This place had a great location in the heart of old San juan. We had a balcony room and we loved it! The room was clean and the hotel had so much personality. We would love to return this location and spend a few more days exploring this town. Great hospitality also!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tishia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful nice antiques threw out the hotel the Resturant inside makes good breakfast. Only thing I didn't like there was no hair dryer in the rooms no cloths iron and the room was a little small. Other then that it was ok. But if u want the old rustic feel this is the place.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Wow we stumbled upon this quaint little boutique hotel while exploring Old San Juan Puerto Rico, and wow what an amazing place! The decor is lovely, the smell intoxicating, and the rooftop has turn of the century, stone tubs! Architecturally interesting, charming, rooms, awesome staff. Although we were staying at another resort, we stole away for a night anyway. Also right across the street from Marmalade best restaurant EVER!

Room Tip: No elevator so use the staff for luggage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MRedenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear MRedenius,

How spontaneous of you! We are blessed to have guests like you walk through our doors. It was such a pleasure to talk to you both, thank you for making our job so enjoyable. We hope to see you back soon with family and friends.

Enjoy the remaining of your much deserved resort vacation!

All the best,
Joyce O
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 days. The hotel and room were cute. A nice change from the chain hotels. There were a few things in the room that needed to be fixed up, but nothing major. The ac wasn't super effective and we were on the third floor so it was a bit muggy in the room but not too bad. Staff is very nice and knowledgable of the city.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Elise,

Thank you so much for trusting us for your vacation stay! We are constantly working to improve and make each room worthy of your selection. We should probably mention someone who over the past 290 reviews so far has been unnoticed "Jesus", our handyman. Of boy what would we do without him...? He is the one who day in and day out works hard to make your room shine. If you ever see someone who walks by you and looks all covered in paint or some sort of paint stain, that is Jesus, it is tough to stay immaculate when you are the head maintenance and you work as hard as him. He is always up to something great. If you happen to see him say hello!

We will report to Jesus about the air conditioning and get that resolved ASAP. And for future guests: please let us know should you have any discomfort on the spot, we are available with 24 hours assistance and we can make a broken a/c work even if it's 3am or we can find a way for you to have a pleasurable night sleep.

Thank you for your continued support!
Joyce O
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
2.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,711 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
802 reviews
3.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.3 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaBlanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaBlanca Hotel

Property: CasaBlanca Hotel
Address: 316 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CasaBlanca Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Elevator is up and running! CasaBlanca is a Boutique Hotel with 32 guestrooms with a lot of character and a personalized experience. We want you to love San Juan as much as we do by making sure your stay is pleasant and memorable. The structure is Spanish from the 1900's therefore rooms are mid to small sized, air conditioned and impeccable. Our beds are comfortable and equipped with microfiber linens and Hypoallergenic pillows, our bathrooms are small but private and unique, with amenities from the organic brand - Archive. Please ask front desk for complimentary items you might have forgotten to pack. Also available are: steamer, hairdryer, in room coffee maker and ice machine in lobby. Our Sun Deck offers guests a memorable experience with magical views of Old San Juan, watch the cruises as they disappear into the bay or enjoy the historical views of San Cristobal Fort next to the open Caribbean Sea. From tanning to reading, enjoy our comfortable lounge chairs, as well as our stone bathtubs provided for a deep relaxation in fresh water at your own desired temperature and time as it is open 24 hrs. Everything from our menu is available with one quick call to guest services from our service phone. Still worried about catching up with friends and family or posting your recent vacation pictures online, or maybe send a late work related email, not a problem, our high speed Internet is available everywhere in Hotel grounds. We are a smoke free, environmentally friendly, historically preserved Hotel where you will find a smiley face where ever you go! Cafe Americain conveniently located in the lobby serves a delicious breakfast every morning from 8 - 12 pm while streaming our favorite Hollywood movie CasaBlanca. Restaurant hours are 8am - 10pm Wed to Sun and 8am-11am for Mon to Tue. Offers a lunch menu selection of local cuisine as well as light options as sandwiches and salads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your CasaBlanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing