We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just go out wandering”
Review of Old San Juan

Old San Juan
Book In Advance
More Info
US$92.19*
and up
Old San Juan Food Tour
Ranked #1 of 201 things to do in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Consisting of 400 restored buildings from the 16th- and 17th-century Spanish colonial period, this area in San Juan is steeped in history with an old-world and romantic European charm.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Queens, New York, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just go out wandering”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

In October we took a cruise and Old San Juan was one of our ports. We got off the ship when we came out of the cruise terminal we walked to the left and we caught the free trolly and just sorta rode around checking everything out. We got off by the old fort and walked around the area was pretty. We walked around and found a square where they had local vendors selling stiff like belts, wallets, jewelery and clothes. they further down we found another spot where all these food tucks where selling local food and snacks. We then went to Senor Frogs for a drink and to dance. Then Back to the ship.
This one place where you can just go and wander around just wear comfortable shoes.
My son went ziplining while we just wondered he loved the zip line adventure.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Roberta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13,012 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,278
    3,024
    589
    78
    43
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brasileia, AC
Level Contributor
320 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Worth going to see”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Not the best historical site to see, but if in San Juan you probably should go at least once. Lots of history on this site and gives you the chance to think about what it may have been like when the Spanish Crown and Pirates ruled the land

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Enjoyed wandering...”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

through the cobbled stone streets taking pics of the old buildings, doors and local art/scenery....like stepping back in time.
Wear good shoes!
Love the casual feel and felt safe the whole time.
Liked stopping at cafes near the cathedral square and restaurants on Fortalaeza.
Not much locally made items other than cigars, paintings & prints.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank redlimelily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“One of our very favorite places to visit”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Old San Juan is awsome. Get yourself a self-guided walking tour map and enjoy the city! The forts are great, the city walls, the blue bricked streets, the food trucks... This is one place where you don't need to book a tour in order to have a great and memorable experience.

Tip: There is a large CVS store directly across from the Port. They have everything you would expect to find at a CVS and the prices are the same or in some cases better than at home!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 10-S-E-N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Scenic Plaza and beautiful area for walking”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Enjoyed the views from the fortress and cold drinks on the Plaza.also the Capitol Building is beautiful. They were decorating for Christmas so there was a lot going on. Nice exhibition of Puerto Rican artists on the main floor.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DSOVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old San Juan also viewed

El Yunque National Forest, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing