We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shopping here is a fun little work out on your legs!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old San Juan

Old San Juan
Book In Advance
More Info
US$92.19*
and up
Old San Juan Food Tour
Ranked #1 of 195 things to do in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Consisting of 400 restored buildings from the 16th- and 17th-century Spanish colonial period, this area in San Juan is steeped in history with an old-world and romantic European charm.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Shopping here is a fun little work out on your legs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I have been here a couple of times but never walked as much as this last trip here. Shopping is great and I found many good deals! I saw many folks wearing hears and almost twisting ankles. Day time calls for comfy shoes, folks!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MeAgainFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12,420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,818
    2,923
    566
    71
    42
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great walking area but very touristy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Its hard to find the real nitty gritty of San Juan here. But there is a lot to see. There is the princessa de paseo which has the Gato rescue area. There are tons of cats (which have been fixed) and many are sweet. 2 forts, and lots of restaurants and shops, though most are touristy. There are a handful of big name shops like Guess but i think most cater to puerto rico trinkets. Try La Wafflera for fancy waffles or Manolin for more of a locals diner experience (best OJ EVER). There's a tattoo shop and a dive bar called El Batey if you want to be a touch more off the beaten path. When the boat is in you can get pics of yourself with parrots on your head or an iguana on your shoulder.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's Okay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The shops are okay, but overpriced. Most of them are closed on Saturdays. Everything you can get at home, so just stick to sightseeing. However there was a great Restaurant that we loved - Raices - Great food.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A highlight for us - do this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We walked with a guide who gave us a great amount of information as we moved through the area. We only had a short amount of time since this was a shore excursion for us. I enjoyed the sites, and architecture. So much to see, and felt safe throughout tour. Not to be missed !!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TarheelBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1,280 reviews
680 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 545 helpful votes
“Plan to spend the day.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Old San Juan is just about everything you imagine. A bit of a cruise port tourist trap(closer to the docks) a bit of amazing colonial city(walk the cobblestone streets). You really owe it to yourself to spend a day here. I spent two days and two nights here... It was more than enough, and i would have rather spent more time on the western coast. One day here is enough, If you love the nightlife, then perhaps an evening on a Friday or Saturday as well. I found the service overall to not be the best, perhaps its hard to find good help in San Juan... perhaps its the Caribbean culture. The architecture and the streets make up for it though. The best things in Old San Juan, you won't pay for, you will just experience them. Wear some comfortable shoes, and don't fall for the hype. If you are comfortable walking a mile or two, then you can walk all around old San Juan and never hop on a trolley. Although I did to catch the breeze and go from fort to fort. Otherwise, everything is pretty close, and what you will see in between destinations, is the reason you take vacation.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TryppAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old San Juan also viewed

El Yunque National Forest, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing