We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Style, Classic Old San Juan”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Classic Style, Classic Old San Juan”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The Hotel El Convento possesses a memorable classic feel and radiates old world charm. We stayed for two nights and overall were very pleased with our stay. In fact, we arrived very late due to weather delays (after 2am) and reception worked with us to craft a food dish from their earlier evening wine and cheese reception as everything was closed due to the late hour. Be sure to take part in their nightly wine and cheese reception on the 3rd floor, where you'll likely meet other guests and/or enjoy a view of the square below. The hotel's location is great and for those who enjoy walking...most of old San Juan's main sites are accessible by foot from here.

Room Tip: We had room 321 and it was quiet, but did not have the 'city view' promised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kaylaartt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,964
    509
    134
    76
    28
See reviews for
434
1,562
98
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Ideally located in Old San Juan, this hotel offers all the amenities for the guest who wants to discover this city. An easy walk to sights, restaurants, and shopping, the hotel has one of the best staff I've ever seen.

The bellhops were very friendly and efficient. Because of the narrow cobblestone streets, we were left across the street with our luggage. We were immediately helped by George who tended to the luggage while we checked in.

From the reservation office, I was in touch with Talana from at home when booking our room. She was beyond helpful in suggesting restaurants and even helped us book a private walking tour with David Longley who works for the hotel andt provides one with an interesting morning of a general overall of Old San Juan. He was delightful company at a charge of $80 for 2-1/2 hrs.

The hotel has a small rooftop pool with lounge chairs where it is nice to relax after a day of walking. Although we only had 2 nights at the hotel and met local friends the first night,, we did participate in a cocktail hour of wine and cheese provided by the hotel which was very nice.

The hotel has free Wi-Fi and even has two computers that can be used by hotel guests free of charge.

There is a room on the third floor where cold water, coffee and fruit is available 24/7. We took advantage of this in the morning instead of having breakfast in the open courtyard.

The hotel is decorated beautifully with old world charm. Our room, 201, was spacious. However, our only complaint was that it was above the entrance to the hotel, and therefore we heard noises several times that was very annoying. At 5 pm. when we wanted to rest, we were serenaded by a guitar player who entertained just below us. We heard horns honking and trucks making noises when driving in reverse. After traveling from 4 a.m., I was very unhappy. When I went to the front desk to complain, they couldn't have been nicer offering to change our room if something was available. At that point with just one night to go, I thought it wasn't worth the effort to move.

Had we not been in a deluxe city view location which was so noisy, I would have given this the best rating possible. All in all I would go back to this hotel with a different room, as the location of the hotel, the efficient staff, and the lovely surroundings made it a fine stay.

Room Tip: Avoid room 201. Too noisy and next to ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewJerseyWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenandoah Valley, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed over two nights, 12/15 and 12/16, and were *very* pleased with this hotel. It's more of an old inn-style of place. It was founded by Carmelite nuns in the 1600s and exudes charm from every pore. The room itself was beautiful: tile floors, french doors, very nice bathroom, with pretty much everything we needed (including lots of plugs!). There was a wine and cheese reception every evening that was great, and the hot tub/plunge pool on a roof terrace was wonderful as well. And the staff was very nice, very accommodating, very helpful at every turn. I'm running out of adjectives. But I've got to say that the location is probably the best of all, as the hotel is surrounded by the wonderful streets of Old Town and very close to fortresses, museums, the old city wall, etc. Parking was $20, which I thought was very reasonable. Over all, a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MicrobioProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights before our cruise. The hotel itself is beautiful and full of history and the room we stayed in was very comfortable. We chose to stay in Old San Juan based on the recommendation from our travel agent. However, we were a little disappointed with the area as it lacks the night life we were seeking. Don't take me wrong, the area is quite nice if you are looking for a relaxing holiday. But we are a couple young guys not only looking to tour San Juan but also wanting some party time.
The other drawback of this hotel is the lack of 24 hours room service. We arrived at midnight which was around 8pm Pacific Time. We were hungry and there was no restaurant open around that time. They do offer delivery from a few restaurants nearby if you want some food. We ordered a couple burgers but it took them 40 minutes to arrive and when they did, they were both soggy. They should really consider to have 24 hours room service if they want to be considered a luxury hotel.
Since it is one of the more expensive hotels in San Juan, I expected more. The staff are friendly but not exceptional. The doormen did not offer to assist with our luggage when we arrived. Not that we couldn't handle wheeling them but shouldn't that be part of luxury service?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dapperboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here with our two 20 something kids. Great stop in Old San Juan. Gazpacho was excellent as were the club sandwich, chicken wrap and salad. Beautiful place! It was also so beautifully decorated for Christmas. They were open till 3 for lunch. So, perfect stop when the rain came!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Hotel El Convento is right in the center of Old San Juan. My husband and I only spent one night there but adored the hotel and the location. We walked to all sorts of shops and to the fort. It felt so safe everywhere we went, day and night. We ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel, dinner in the tapas restaurant and breakfast downstairs and both were delicious. The front desk staff and restaurants servers were so friendly. And the hotel was decorated for Christmas which was so beautiful. Our room was pretty and spacious. We would definitely love to stay here again! It is a gorgeous hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaclyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed at the Hotel El Convento for 3 nights in December 2013 and had a wonderful experience. We stayed in Room 302. As other reviews have stated, it is a larger room with a King size bed and Spanish doors that lead out to the terrace where the evening reception is held and overlooks the Cathedral. While others may find it lacking in privacy, we found it convenient and luxurious. We were never at the hotel during the evening reception and didn't mind keeping the door closed when we needed privacy. The doors have slats in them so you can let sunlight in with the doors closed. The walk-in closet and bathrooms were both spacious and the dual shower heads were also amazing!

The staff and service at the hotel were magnificent the moment our taxi pulled up to the hotel. Bellmen immediately grabbed our luggage and brought them into the hotel lobby. They held our luggage while we went sightseeing since it was around 10 am and our room was not ready. They brought our luggage to our room when we returned to the hotel. The front desk was always friendly and eager to help with directions and assist us with any requests. Housekeeping also did a great job cleaning our room and with turn down service. The hotel provided robes, slippers, chocolates on our pillows every evening, and even a little rug at the bedside so our feet don't get cold when we get out of bed.

The only problem during our stay was that the elevator was out of service on our last night and remained out of service the morning we checked out. We should have asked the bell desk to retrieve our bags and bring them to the lobby because the service elevator was not convenient to our room nor the hotel lobby.

The hotel was in a great location for exploring Old San Juan on foot and convenient to restaurants, bars, shops (a block away from the Coach AND Dooney & Bourke outlet shops!!), and drug stores. It has a tapas bar and full-service restaurant located in the courtyard but we didn't eat there. Their valet parking lot (extra charge) is right across the street, as well as a line of taxis so you'll never have a hard time finding transportation.

Overall, I had an excellent experience and would stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank CruisingGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
12.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
0.3 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,046 reviews
20.0 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Property: Hotel El Convento
Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Convento 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing