We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice by far”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We were thrilled with every aspect of our stay at El Convento in early Dec. 2013. Probably thanks to booking the previous January, we were blessed to stay in Room 512 with a glorious view of the sunset over the water. A spacious room, extremely comfortable bed, plenty of space for luggage and quiet welcomed us. The hotel's atmosphere is simple elegance, historic elements alongside modern convenience, tapestries and carved chairs, atrium with live trees and flowers, an herb garden on the fourth floor terrace, lovely pool area. We had lunch one day at the tapas bar -- delicious gazpacho. Constantly available coffee, tea and fruit on the third floor were greatly appreciated. The nightly wine and cheese offerings change daily. Get there early for a table outdoors. Breakfast on the first floor was our only disappointment… probably our fault for ordering yogurt and fruit; don't do that! On our final evening, a Sat., I was just saying we hadn't seen any flamenco when music began. In the tapas bar, a wonderful flamenco dancer moved among the diners! She was visible from the balcony -- fantastic!!
The neighborhood surrounding El Convento delivers the best of Old San Juan, entirely within walking distance. Delights await at every corner. And the area is cat lovers' heaven!
Sometimes don't you deserve the best? When you do, head for Hotel El Convento.

Room Tip: Prefer rooms on the side starting with 508. Very quiet and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicehrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,241 - 1,247 of 2,775 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

We just returned from our wedding in Puerto Rico and will definitely come back to San Juan and this awesome hotel. Beautiful place, great location in the charming Old San Juan area and outstanding staff and service. We hosted around 35 family and friends for a rehearsal dinner onsite and everyone loved staying here and couldn't say enough great things about the food at the event itself (we had a mofungo station and mojitos - both of which were the best we had our entire trip in PR). Many of our guests commented that they would be back in the future for vacations. The daily wine and cheese reception was popular with everyone as well!

One thing I would caution against is to be aware of your belongings - an entire bag of jewelry went missing from our room our second day there. Given the outstanding service at the hotel we really felt like it would turn up somewhere or get turned in to the front desk - but it never showed. I'm not making any assumptions about where it went, but learned my lesson about leaving items out in my hotel room! Other than that snag, I can't say enough positive things about the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AAlex78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The Hotel El Convento possesses a memorable classic feel and radiates old world charm. We stayed for two nights and overall were very pleased with our stay. In fact, we arrived very late due to weather delays (after 2am) and reception worked with us to craft a food dish from their earlier evening wine and cheese reception as everything was closed due to the late hour. Be sure to take part in their nightly wine and cheese reception on the 3rd floor, where you'll likely meet other guests and/or enjoy a view of the square below. The hotel's location is great and for those who enjoy walking...most of old San Juan's main sites are accessible by foot from here.

Room Tip: We had room 321 and it was quiet, but did not have the 'city view' promised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kaylaartt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Ideally located in Old San Juan, this hotel offers all the amenities for the guest who wants to discover this city. An easy walk to sights, restaurants, and shopping, the hotel has one of the best staff I've ever seen.

The bellhops were very friendly and efficient. Because of the narrow cobblestone streets, we were left across the street with our luggage. We were immediately helped by George who tended to the luggage while we checked in.

From the reservation office, I was in touch with Talana from at home when booking our room. She was beyond helpful in suggesting restaurants and even helped us book a private walking tour with David Longley who works for the hotel andt provides one with an interesting morning of a general overall of Old San Juan. He was delightful company at a charge of $80 for 2-1/2 hrs.

The hotel has a small rooftop pool with lounge chairs where it is nice to relax after a day of walking. Although we only had 2 nights at the hotel and met local friends the first night,, we did participate in a cocktail hour of wine and cheese provided by the hotel which was very nice.

The hotel has free Wi-Fi and even has two computers that can be used by hotel guests free of charge.

There is a room on the third floor where cold water, coffee and fruit is available 24/7. We took advantage of this in the morning instead of having breakfast in the open courtyard.

The hotel is decorated beautifully with old world charm. Our room, 201, was spacious. However, our only complaint was that it was above the entrance to the hotel, and therefore we heard noises several times that was very annoying. At 5 pm. when we wanted to rest, we were serenaded by a guitar player who entertained just below us. We heard horns honking and trucks making noises when driving in reverse. After traveling from 4 a.m., I was very unhappy. When I went to the front desk to complain, they couldn't have been nicer offering to change our room if something was available. At that point with just one night to go, I thought it wasn't worth the effort to move.

Had we not been in a deluxe city view location which was so noisy, I would have given this the best rating possible. All in all I would go back to this hotel with a different room, as the location of the hotel, the efficient staff, and the lovely surroundings made it a fine stay.

Room Tip: Avoid room 201. Too noisy and next to ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewJerseyWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed over two nights, 12/15 and 12/16, and were *very* pleased with this hotel. It's more of an old inn-style of place. It was founded by Carmelite nuns in the 1600s and exudes charm from every pore. The room itself was beautiful: tile floors, french doors, very nice bathroom, with pretty much everything we needed (including lots of plugs!). There was a wine and cheese reception every evening that was great, and the hot tub/plunge pool on a roof terrace was wonderful as well. And the staff was very nice, very accommodating, very helpful at every turn. I'm running out of adjectives. But I've got to say that the location is probably the best of all, as the hotel is surrounded by the wonderful streets of Old Town and very close to fortresses, museums, the old city wall, etc. Parking was $20, which I thought was very reasonable. Over all, a great stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MicrobioProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights before our cruise. The hotel itself is beautiful and full of history and the room we stayed in was very comfortable. We chose to stay in Old San Juan based on the recommendation from our travel agent. However, we were a little disappointed with the area as it lacks the night life we were seeking. Don't take me wrong, the area is quite nice if you are looking for a relaxing holiday. But we are a couple young guys not only looking to tour San Juan but also wanting some party time.
The other drawback of this hotel is the lack of 24 hours room service. We arrived at midnight which was around 8pm Pacific Time. We were hungry and there was no restaurant open around that time. They do offer delivery from a few restaurants nearby if you want some food. We ordered a couple burgers but it took them 40 minutes to arrive and when they did, they were both soggy. They should really consider to have 24 hours room service if they want to be considered a luxury hotel.
Since it is one of the more expensive hotels in San Juan, I expected more. The staff are friendly but not exceptional. The doormen did not offer to assist with our luggage when we arrived. Not that we couldn't handle wheeling them but shouldn't that be part of luxury service?

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dapperboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here with our two 20 something kids. Great stop in Old San Juan. Gazpacho was excellent as were the club sandwich, chicken wrap and salad. Beautiful place! It was also so beautifully decorated for Christmas. They were open till 3 for lunch. So, perfect stop when the rain came!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.8 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
847 reviews
0.3 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#9 of 47 in San Juan
776 reviews
0.1 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
232 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: £191 - £524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Convento 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing