We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This hotel was so beautiful and the staff was so kind. Everything was very clean. Food was wonderful as well. Great location in Old San Juan with awesome views of the city streets. Would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,985
    510
    135
    76
    28
See reviews for
439
1,574
99
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Faribault, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Lovely hotel,a bit over priced I feel but beautiful. If u want solitude old San Juan is not place to be,but if you like being in center of everything you are in right spot.... Old San Juan has great food and stores, rooms and beds are cozy

Room Tip: Where ever u stay check on parking in your hotel some are first come first serve
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JannaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My wife and I spent about 36 hours in Old San Juan on our way back home from St. Croix. After reading so many favorable reviews on Trip Advisor, I booked a room at the Gran Hotel Convento. I was excited about our stay in this hotel, even though our visit would be short. Unfortunately, we encountered a few problems during our visit.

We arrived at around 2:00pm on a Sunday and were told that our room was ready. After checking in, we were advised that the elevator was out of service, and we could either take the stairs or the service elevator to the fourth floor. Our luggage would be delivered promptly. We opted to take the stairs. We quickly found that our room was not ready, and that it would take about 45 minutes. We decided to go downstairs and walk around Old San Juan. We first viewed the pool patio, which was near our room. The patio and pool are lovely, but remarkably small. Upon returning from the pool patio, we encountered the front desk clerk, who had been notified that our room was still being cleaned. He offered us complimentary sangria, and also offered us lunch. We ultimately accepted a voucher for complimentary breakfasts the next morning.

After walking around San Juan for a few hours, we returned to the hotel. Our room was ready, but our luggage had not been delivered. We returned to reception where we found our luggage next to the check in counter. We schlepped up the stairs with our suitcases. While my wife was took a shower, I settled in to catch up on the day’s NFL games, only to find that there was no signal. I called the front desk to find out if there was a problem with the cable service, and was told that maintenance would be sent to the room. The maintenance man arrived about 40 minutes later and corrected the problem.

Our room had a view of the water, which I had not expected. It was small, but beautifully decorated and richly furnished. The bed was very comfortable, and the bedding the most luxurious I have ever experienced. The bathroom was also small, but quite nice. The window treatments effectively blocked outside light. A soundproof door kept the room remarkably quiet. The hotel public areas were lovely, clean, and well maintained. Also, the complimentary breakfast the next morning was exceptional. Although I found it odd that we were asked to pay sales tax on the complimentary breakfasts.

Perhaps we simply had bad luck, but I was awfully disappointed with the service at Gran Hotel Convento. I understand the elevator being out of service, but a hotel of this pedigree should not send guests to a room that is not yet ready. That being said, I appreciate the effort to make up for the error by offering the sangria and breakfasts. Failing to deliver our luggage after the earlier gaff was totally inexcusable. The problem with the television is also understandable, but following the other problems, the front desk should have sent the maintenance man to our room immediately, not 40 minutes later.

Despite our unfavorable experience, I will probably give this hotel another chance if I return to Old San Juan. The property and accommodations are exceptional, and the location is very good. I also believe we ran up against some misfortune, and most guests of this hotel probably have a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GatorMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osvaldo S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear GatorMills,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences encountered during your visit. We are working with all the departments involved in order to improve the wait times and respond to our guests requests in a timely manner. I regret that we were not able to provide you with the level of service we are customarily known for.

I am glad to know that you liked our plunge pool and pool terrace. Other guests also like the Beach Club access we offer with our sister hotels in Condado and Isla Verde. With the El Convento Beach Club, our guests can explore other parts of the island and enjoy the sandy beaches and resort-style pool facilities.

If your travel plans bring to you to Old San Juan in the future, please feel free to contact me as I would like to personally assist you.

Always at your service.

Osvaldo L. Soler
Guest Service Manager
osoler@elconvento.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We really enjoyed staying here. Loved our room--had a beautiful overlooking patio and sitting room. There was plenty of space. It's a older hotel (I mean, the convent has been there 350 years, after all), so you have to take that into account. Personally I loved the charm, the "Old World" feel of a different time, and a different Puerto Rico. I have not stayed in other locations in Puerto Rico, but I imagine this a a very different take on it all than the hotels of Condado. Spent time just sitting in the open air central garden (don't think that's the right term) just listening to the coquis and enjoying the fresh air. It was our home base for a week; we just used a car to drive around, and made it to several different areas of the island.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chatnoir0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The hotel enjoys a great location in central Old San Juan, near restaurants and the old fort. We got great service and the people at the front desk were very helpful, if sometimes not very knowledgeable about Old San Juan. The restaurant was adequate for breakfast, but I wouldn't count on it for a great meal.

Room Tip: High floor rooms are more desirable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Carmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is particularly well located in the heart of downtown in front of a charming plaza. It's very quiet too, despite its central location. The staff is nice.
It is not, however, a Small Lux Hotel. While it has a lot of historical charm, it does not have enough of the "lux" aspect to make this category. We had 2 double (yes, double, not queen even) beds in a room for 4 people. Apparently that is the extent of their offering for a family group. The bathroom is fine and functional but - that's it. The breakfast is incredibly expensive. The pool is really the size of a hot tub.
They do have a nice wine and cheese in the evening ( as you would expect for a hotel in this category) and enjoying that on the top veranda while listening to someone play classical music on the plaza below does have its charm.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank marrunner06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had an excellent experience at this A-1 Classy hotel. The feel of the former monastery is ever present in the rooms, hallways and courtyards. The upper floor has an open library with coffee, bottle water, fruit and cheese/crackers during certain times that was a great opportunity to interact with other hotel guests and view the city from the open air balconies. You can't beat the location given it's in the middle of Old San Juan. It was a pleasure walking to restaurants and Cathedral while returning safely to our room. The room was spacious, clean and had a welcome feeling. We have spoken about our stay several times and it has been by far our best experience in hotel accommodations in Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dubyew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
12.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
0.3 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,118 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Property: Hotel El Convento
Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Convento 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing