We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Old World Charm”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I can't think of a better place to stay while in Old San Juan. This hotel's proximity to restaurants, shopping, Old San Juan sites, and the Castillos was amazing.

We were greeted by a very informative / friendly bellhop next to the hotel. He helped us into the main area, where the friendly staff checked us in (including a REAL key). The restaurant patio area is very nice, with all 5 floors open, looking down into the common area. Beautiful! Our room was spotless, and our view was of Old San Juan, ocean, and mountains. Gorgeous view.

They also have incredible coffee, served continuously through the day and evening, and a complimentary wine tasting in the afternoon. The rooftop jacuzzi area was perfect for unwinding after a long day of touring the area. Would definitely recommend this hotel, and will stay here when we return to San Juan.

Room Tip: Our room facing the mountains / ocean was incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Beth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,985
    510
    135
    76
    28
See reviews for
439
1,574
99
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is THE place to stay in Old San Juan. Located right in the historic center across the street from the Cathedral where Ponce de Leon is buried. The rooms are beautiful and the staff is friendly and helpful. We plan to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benbenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel, but did think the restaurant was the best place to eat in all of San Juan. The food was magnificent, our server, Vanesa, was wonderful, and the atmosphere was delightful. I can't fine a separate place on trip advisor to recommend this restaurant, but it is definitely a great choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernalillo, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We were looking forward to our stay in this historic boutique hotel, but you know what they say about first impressions? The folks at the front desk are just not very nice, and seemed to be "looking down" at customers. They are just downright snotty. However, the wonderful bellmen seem to make every effort to make guests feel welcome! We arrived in the morning not expecting to check in, but just to leave luggage. No problem. We were told to come back around 2PM which we did, then waited for 2 hours for our room. There was no "sorry you had to wait" or even a smile. We felt fortunate when another couple, who had also been waiting about as long, were finally told that "your reservation was canceled and we are full."

Our room was nice but extremely small with twin beds and no view. It just was not worth almost $350. However, it was very well appointed with nice linens, great TV, IPOD player, great wifi, and high quality toiletries. We very much enjoyed the complimentary wine and cheese hour with the chance to meet a few other guests. The lovely terrace area for guests also has water, tea, coffee, and fruit available. Adjoining this area are computers with printers that are great for printing boarding passes. There is also a cooling pool and hot tub on the upper terrace which has nice views.

We had an ok breakfast for $35 total in the downstairs restaurant, however it really should have been included in the price of the room. I was also surprised that there was no concierge to help with restaurants, sight seeing, etc. and almost no travel information, maps, etc. The bellman do a good job of filling this niche, but you would think that a hotel with "cheap rooms" starting at $350 with all the taxes and hotel fees would offer a little bit more help.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHARLOTTE
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

I was excited to stay here as such a beautiful building and location. Our confirmation promised a room with a partial view. The first room we were given was on the first floor with a subterranean atrium (which was like 120 degrees). We went back, showed the email and were moved up one floor. The room had a faux balcony and pretty high ceilings. It was very small. The sheets were cream (what us it hiding?) and the coverlet was literally threadbare. I found this both gross and shocking. This room was 500 dollars?

After going to sleep on night one, another couple came to my door at 5:30 am thinking they were checking into our room. They had the key as the first person had not bothered to note that she moved us. Had my husband not been outside reading it would have been terrifying. The front desk tried to act like nothing happened, then blamed a new employee and offered us a free breakfast.

There is no turndown survive. There are prostltues lurking in the hall waiting for someone to open locked doors so they can slip in. There is a cat pooping in the courtyard area right next to where meals are served! Honestly, it's terrible. Worst experience (especially at that price point) in years.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 2bontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfredo A, General Manager at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear El Convento guest –

Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. Our room configuration is a reflection and a key component of our Historic property. Every part of it is intended to convey to our guests 400 years of history and old world charm. Even though rarely guests may confuse their room location, every room key is unique and will not allow access to other guests. There is also 24 hour security on site.
I sincerely regret that our accommodations were not up to your liking and wish it would have been different. Please feel free to contact me directly if you may require any future assistance.

Sincerely,

Alfredo Arroyo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
407 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We travel to PR often and, if feasible, stay at El Convento. Perfect location, lovely hotel, top of the line amenities and truly caring service. On our most recent stay, we had to depart early due to flight issues. We were quite disappointed to leave but were able to work out a reasonable arrangement with the very accommodating hotel manager, Ms. Martinez. We also wish to commend "Harry" from reception who was simply outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Springtraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We have just returned from six nights at the Hotel El Convento and our first visit to Old San Juan. We could not have been more pleased. The hotel itself could not be more beautiful nor better maintained. The staff couldn't be more friendly nor helpful in making arrangements for the beach at a sister property or for a tour of the rainforest. We plan to explore more of Puerto Rico on our next trip but will always reserve time for a return to Hotel El Convento!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom2468024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
12.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
0.3 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,110 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Property: Hotel El Convento
Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Convento 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing