We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Incidentals payment"”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“"Incidentals payment"”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at El Convento for 4 nights with my fiancé and we had a great time. The problems started AFTER we got home from our trip. We had given a $200 "incidentals" deposit that I was told would be released immediately upon is checking out ( I checked out March 15) and take 5-7 business days. I called several times to confirm this amount of time because that time had passed and I did not have the money back in my account. I called again on March 25 and they told me that there had been a mistake and they had not released my money. The person that I talked with then said I had to wait another 5-7 business days. I called after 7 business days passed because I still have not received the money and was transferred three times ( and had never been transferred before). The lady I spoke with said it would take 10-14 days. I told her I hadn't been told this number before and she said she was going to contact the accounting department to make sure it had been released and email me the next day. I did not receive any email. I am extremely disappointed that I have had to go to this level of effort and still have not gotten my money back or received any contact about whatever may be holding it up. I hope I will be getting the money returned soon!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfredo A, General Manager at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Jordan C -

Please accept my apologies for this situation. I genuinely regret that such a great stay as you well mentioned was tarnished by this event. I completely understand your frustration. I personally revised your account and indeed on March 25th,$200.00 (dollars) were credited to your card on file. Certain banks may take a little longer to process this type of credit than others, however I would like from you to directly contact me if you do not see this credit reflected by April 9th. Thank you so much for sharing this incident with us and rest assured that I will follow up on this particular until it is resolved to your satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Alfredo Arroyo
General Manager
aarroyo@elconvento.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,964
    509
    134
    76
    28
See reviews for
434
1,562
98
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I travel a lot and stay in some amazing places but this hotel certainly is one of my new favorites. The place has a lot of soul and has stayed true to it's history with a beautiful interior patio where you can have a coffee in the delicious Puertorican sunshine in the mornings and have a glass of wine in the evening. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the amenities are wonderful as well. What makes this hotel really special though are the people that work there. They really take the time to give you personal service and let their natural wamth come through. At a time when everyone is talking about "being present" and the loss of connection between people due to modern devices, I have to say that the warmth of the staff at El Convento reminds you of what is important in life - human interaction. :)
I even forgot my LV wallet in the room safe when we checked out and they called me about it and sent it to me right away. I had heard that PR can be dangerous but this experience is better than what I have experienced in the most cities in the world. The staff not only is warm and attentive but this shows that they also have a lot of integrity.
I was there on business and pleasure and I found the business facilities more than adaquate. My meeting was in Old San Juan so it was very easy to get there. We also went to visit both of the beaches where El Convento gives beach access and we were very plesantly surprised by the experience.
PS. Right up the street from the hotel is a historical site where Puertoricans fly kites on the weekends. It is WONDERFUL! Even if you don't want to fly your own kite, go in the late afternoon and sit and watch the kites and enjoy caribbean breeze. No hay nada mejor!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kshalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This place is amazing. All of the reviews are right. It is so beautiful in its old world charm, but with such modern amenities. The rooftop pool and hottub (plus ridiculous view) are all wonderful as is the wine happy hour. The hotel is perfectly located in Old San Juan - the staff is great, the rooms are spacious and clean. Can't recommend it enough. Definitely not overpriced at all for what you get.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrooklynTraveller30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This hotel is everything it says it is and more! Room was beautiful, comfortable and clean. The building, foyer, dining areas, pool and unique and interesting. Great location in the heart of old San Juan. Complementary wine and cheese at 6pm every evening. Very friendly and attentive staff. Loved it and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

From the time we arrived, we were greeted with warmth and kindness. We were on our honeymoon and They gave us many recommendations and catered to our needs. The hotel was in great shape, very peaceful, and free wine and cheese every day at 6. Enjoy the mojitos by Luis. Would recommend this to any couple looking for a warm getaway from the north...

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Jtmonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

First of all this place is not cheap and can easily get to 600+ a night for a couple depending on the season and weekends days, so if price is not a problem and you want the Best location, the most charming hotel in viejo San Juan well this is the place to be.
Hotel used to be an old Convent so get that in mind when thinking about the rooms, they can be small for some people and not really modern, but the charm of this place is the architecture and history of the building, rooms and bathrooms are good size and amenities are great. There is a tapas restaurant and bar inside the hotel, really nice environment to relax, food and drinks are great.
The hotel has a beautiful terrace with nice views of the city, great place to drink your coffee or enjoy the complementary wine and cheese that they offer every afternoon. Also some lounge chairs and a small pool.
Really safe location and you can walk around the city and get immerse in the rich history and charm of old Puerto Rico and not worry about transportation.
You will see cops everywhere and as long as you are a safe traveler and don't do stupid things like thinking you are a trendy tourist that thinks is an urban explorer and likes weird places like going to the small neighborhood of La Perla located outside the wall you will be fine, (for sure you will hear about it, seems really cool from above the wall but you have no business in there unless you want to do some business in there if you know what i mean) .
The Viejo San Juan area is Full of restaurants and small stores. Not the place for you if you want the resort beach type experience, this is because is located in an area of the island that is all rocks and no sandy beaches, but all the museums, historic buildings, restaurants, coffeehouses and more are around there.
This place is awesome, Just walk the small streets 2 blocks to the old door of san juan find a bench seat looking at the ocean, listening the coquis sing, and i promise you will go back in time 500 years. Priceless.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lfmz777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Absolutely wonderful location. And to top it, the restaurant in the gorgeous garden courtyard is incredible. We had delicious drinks and incredible food. Our friends raved about this location when they were on their honeymoon - so glad we made it a part of ours too!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJRivera0513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
12.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
0.3 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,042 reviews
20.0 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Property: Hotel El Convento
Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Convento 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing