We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION IN OLD SAN JUAN”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at the El Convento Hotel. The location is the best in Puerto Rico to be in the Old San Juan Area. Free happy hour in the evening with wine and cheese is a big plus. The outside dining facility in the patio is fantastic and can be quickly covered in case of a rainstorm. There is a large hot tub on the outside patio with great views of the city. The beds are very comfortable but I couldn't find a king size bed available which we prefer. The reservation was made through Southwest Airlines when we booked the flight and everything worked out fine even though we didn't get to the hotel until 11:00PM.

Room Tip: Higher rooms look over the nearby rooftops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobseelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,097 - 1,103 of 2,763 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I started our first Puerto Rico visit at Hotel El Convento and were blown away by the whole experience. From the start, the staff were incredibly friendly and informative. They were talkative an genuinely interested in you and your stay. We had the most amazing room on the first floor looking right into the bar area in the courtyard. The room was comfortable and modern with a sophisticated Caribbean feel. We were so lucky to have a room that had its own little veranda with a fountain and couch and table and a small opening to the outside. It was perfect! We started our tour of the property with a mojito at the bar served by Luis. Frist, let me say it was the absolute best mojito I have ever had. Second, Luis was one of the most friendly bartenders/;strangers I have ever met. He made us feel like we were family that came out to visit him. He gave us a run down of some can't miss places in Old San Juan and told us about places that were outside of the city as well. Between the courtyard full of tropical plants, our room and the mojitos it was hard to leave. We did some exploring and the next afternoon/evening we ended up staying at the hotel and having dinner, walking around and hanging in our room and at the bar. Every minute we stayed got better and better! We hated to leave! I can not wait to go back. Thank you for the amazing stay and especially for the coconut candies at the front desk!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smartang22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Came here for a Labor Day weekend with my mother and aunt, ladies weekend :) our first time in Puerto Rico, so glad we decided to stay here... Absolutely beautiful, this place is in the center, we were able to do a lot of sight seeing on foot.. Place was clean, safe, quiet, and is probably one of the most romantic hotels I have been too... We did purchase the romantic package, why not, bottle of champagne with chocolates, who says couples are the only one who enjoys those things :)
I would highly recommend staying here..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at El Convento for more than 7 days. This hotel is crucially located in the heart of old San Juan. The moment you enter in to this hotel you are transcended into 16th century Spanish era. It has been beautifully preserved. Has a very charming rustic look. The rooms have all the modern day amenities so you never miss on the luxury and comfort of modern day living. There 3 restaurants are excellent and have a diverse menu. Service is beyond par excellence and has a very personal touch. We loved how helpful the front desk employees were. Annette who I believe is the reception manager is awesome. Our walk through history tour with David as well as the El Yunque rainforest tour with Carlos arranged by the hotel packages were awesome. They have a wine and cheese evening reception everyday and 24 hour complimentary access to tea, coffee, bottled water and fruits. Their turndown service is excellent as well. Overall, if you really want to experience the culture and charm of old San Juan in a luxury setting this is the place to be. Our icing on the cake was rendezvous with Miss Puerto Rico 2014 during a Tele Mundo TV Shoot in the hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Amir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Chose to stay the first two nights of our Puerto Rico vacation at Hotel El Convento....could have definitely stayed longer!!

Room- Reserved online-- middle of the road not the cheapest, but certainly not the most expensive. Upon arrival we were given a room on the first floor entering from the court yard area, which worked very well for us. The room was comfortably cozy king bed room with an outside terrace/water feature.
Very modern bathroom, nice amenities.

Service--in a single word Excellent...From the restaurant to the tour arranged by the hotel staff, each encounter with staff was very positive. Even excellent recommendations for dining and contact information at our next hotel (area outside of San Juan).

Restaurant- excellent food and great service. Not the cheapest meal that you will eat in Puerto Rico, but very well done. First night we checked in late and did not realize that free coffee/tea was available on the 3rd floor--when we went to the restaurant the following morning for coffee--the host was great about letting us know what was available!!

If our travels take us back, will definitely book here!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brown11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfredo A, General Manager at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Mr. Brown -

We are delighted to hear such wonderful feedback about your recent stay at Hotel El Convento. I will surely share your positive remarks with all our staff and hope to once again have the privilege to be of service to you. Please feel free to contact me at any time, if I can be of assistance.

Regards,

Alfredo Arroyo
aarroyo@elconvento.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We've been fortunate to enjoy 2 stays in the Hotel El Convento so far. Charming old building that has kept enough of it's historic roots to give you a stong feel of the past, but with just enough modern convenieces to keep you comfortable. No casino here - Hooray! The only rooms that we've experienced were the superior & the deluxe. Both quite nice, but the slight added price for the deluxe will definitely get you a better room (the visuals of the tall ceilings alone is worth it). Thick walls. Great colors. Bathrooms nothing to get excited about, but certainly acceptable. On one occasion, the hotel was packed with a huge wedding party: the heavy 2nd door in the room kept the party at bay with no issue whatsoever. Nice morning coffee service and evening wine event in a beautiful upstairs indoor/outdoor venue.
TV, internet - who cares? You're in beautiful old San Juan - get out there! El Morro, blue cobblestones, the City Gate, hundreds of restaurants, historic buldings and gardens around every corner, heavy tropical air, the coquis at night, Ponce de Leon resting in Catedral de San Juan - they're all right outside your front door. I can't go on - this is starting to get to me. Time to start planning a return trip!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kongpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a gem in old San Juan. Stay here if you appreciate history, comfort, and service. It is also well situated in a great neighborhood. The rooms are small but very well appointed with comfy beds. It has all the amenities you would expect in a large luxury hotel with so much more charm. Just choose this one and you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Naijasisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
12.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
20.0 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
842 reviews
0.3 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
964 reviews
2.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: £158 - £469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Convento 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing