We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

A stunning combination of old world charm and tropical magic. The details are amazing so be sure to look around and relish your surroundings. The outdoor cafe was wonderful and the tapas bar had some very imaginative choices. Because it's in the heart of Old San Juan, you have shopping, people watching, restaurants, and tourist destinations at your fingertips. You also will enjoy the harbor view.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SunshineStateFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,910
    500
    133
    76
    28
See reviews for
416
1,525
97
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Our rental car was wasted for this portion of the trip since ($20/day for valet to park) we were able to walk to EVERYTHING from the hotel, including the shops, restaurant and even El Morro. Nothing was more than a 15 minute walk so the location was unbeatable. Our first night in our Queen standard room didn't cool below 76 all night so after a miserable night of sleep we reported the issue and they sent a tech to repair. After coming back that afternoon and finding the room at the same temp almost 4 hours after the repair we spoke with the front desk and they put us in a beautiful junior suite with a King bed and nice little patio. The room retailed for almost twice the one we had booked so that was a fabulous upgrade from our original Queen room. It was decked out so I can see why they charge so much more, floor to ceiling marble walls in the restroom with very nice finishes and furnishings throughout. This was clearly a more recently upgraded room so we were very fortunate to have had this offered to us. The customer service was fantastic and we didn't have to put up a fight to get a new room after having issues, they were more than happy to assist and that was such a relief- after such a long night of restless sleep I didn't have much fight left in me. As for the hotel amenities we loved the afternoon wine/cheese hh from 6-7pm on the 3rd floor- what a great freebie to start the evening. The pool was very small but wasn't very busy so we were able to relax there with a book and enjoy rooftop views of the city. Great experience overall.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

It may be the little things like free water, fruit, coffee, and hors d'eurves and wine from 6-7pm every night that made this stay unrivaled in its excellence. But it's also the big things--perfect location from which to walk to every corner of Old San Juan and explore the restaurants, shopping, forts, museums, cathedrals and the like; blissful sleep on an excellent bed in complete darkness thanks to doors, shutters, and two sets of curtains to shut out the light and sound of the plaza below our window; concierges who are deeply concerned with the quality of your stay and bend over backwards to ensure everything is satisfactory; on-site restaurants that sell you a bottle of brut at 10 pm so you can lounge in the jacuzzi on the roof and enjoy the vista of the sea and city in perfect luxury; and finally, a buildling that resonates the history and atmosphere of a bygone era while simultaneously making a home away from home in a tropical paradise. Highly recommend for anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfredo A, General Manager at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hola Amanda -

Thank you for the fantastic review of our property and services. More than anything else, we truly believe in hospitality. We are fully committed to provide every guest with a memorable experience and I'm glad you were able to feel that passion.
We would love to have you back as our guest, very soon.

Sincerely,

Alfredo Arroyo
aarroyo@elconvento.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I would highly recommend this hotel. If you want to feel the true ambiance of Old San Juan, you will definitely experience it staying here. The service is outstanding. We had an issue with our shower and it was corrected immediately. The access to free bottled water and fresh fruit was a real plus. This hotel is in a perfect location to walk all over Old San Juan. We were able to take a taxi to their sister hotel to enjoy the beach. Also, the fairy to the Bacardi Factory is not too far. I noticed in some reviews that a few people commented on the condition of the hotel. Keep in mind that this is an old converted convent and not a new building. It does, however, have all the modern amenities that one will need. It is clean and charming.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank larenasrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

El Convento is incredible! The staff is amazing and the hotel itself is like a work of art. We felt so at home during our stay here and were very well taken care of. The location of the hotel is superb, within walking distance of all beautiful Old San Juan has to offer. This was an incredible way to end our trip in Puerto Rico and I highly recommend this hotel. We look forward to our next visit soon.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelChica0012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We loved our stay here. When I booked the hotel I was unsure of what to expect and almost switched our reservations to one of the beach front mega resorts. So glad I didn't. This small boutique hotel was perfect for out honeymoon.

Clean rooms, comfortable beds, tons of fresh towels, Aveda products, complementary coffee, fruit, water and wine and cheese hour every day are just a few reasons we loved our stay.

Staff was always friendly and helpful. 3 restaurants in the hotel make it easy to just have a lazy day. We took full advantage of the dipping pool, which was never crowded and we usually had it all to ourselves.

One day we took a cab ride to their sister hotel/resort on the beach (they have 2). It was nice and they offer free lounge chairs, towels and umbrellas but we were glad to get back to the relaxing calm El Convento

Our room was on the first floor and had an attached sun room with water fountain which we loved. We didn't have any issues with noise. We stopped at the local grocer store (SuperMax) and picked up snacks and drinks, which we kept cold in the mini fridge.

I can't express enough how calm and relaxing this hotel is. We loved our stay and would recommend it if you're planning a trip to Old San Juan.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBratton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine hat, Alberta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at this beautiful, historic hotel. The staff went out of their way to help with whatever we needed. They connected us with a great local walking tour guide. Provided umbrellas when it rained. The rooms were great! Beds incredibly comfy and the sheets amazing. I cannot stand hard beds and bad sheets! These were close to the best I've had, the sheets in particular. The room was very well appointed for being a 300+ year old building, updated bathrooms but the furniture and finishings were all period and lovely. The interior glass door really kept the room cool, when temps outside were very very hot!! Cold bottled water was available 24/7 as well as fresh fruit for guests. The roof top pool was a beautiful spot to cool off and unwind and soak those sore feet from walking all day. The location was second to none, close to most Old San Juan attractions, including being literally 2 minutes from the San Juan Gate and minutes from where you could catch the free trolley that took you all around San Juan. Lots of restaurants and bars in interesting old historic buildings, all with a story. Loved it and would highly recommend and stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hockeyplayingchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,767 reviews
12.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
2.0 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
20.0 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Property: Hotel El Convento
Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Convento 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing