We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If its elegance and luxury that you desire, then el Convento is the hotel....”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
LONDON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If its elegance and luxury that you desire, then el Convento is the hotel....”
Reviewed 2 October 2009

I have been here working here in PR on a tourism feature that will be published in " The New Yorker" . I have had the choice to stay in many of the top luxury hotels here in San Juan and also been obliged some what. Once I stepped into the beautiful world of EL Convento ..... I did not want to leave.

Greeted my beautiful, well trained kind staff
Excellent rooms with tasteful decoration and one of the cosiest beds I have ever slept on.
The feeling of being temporarily transported to another century with the comfort and service of any modern top notch hotel
Tasty wine and cheese reception every evening while listening to the beautiful sounds of the birds and guitar player at sunset
Taking a morning dip in the roof top jacuzzi while looking over the rest of San Juan
Fantastic choice of in house catering, including the best banana pancakes to wake up to ...

A truly cosy, relaxing, elegant stay that I woudl recommend to anyone who enjoys the finer things in life..... and all of that in teh middle of OLD SAN JUAN ...


Need I say more ?

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CARAMELAKAVITA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,964
    509
    134
    76
    28
See reviews for
434
1,562
98
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

The staff was friendly, helpful, polite and knowledgeable from the very beginning to the end.

The room was spacious and had old world charm with modern amenities and great air conditioning.
The library was nice, had books you could read and 2 computers with printers. The exercise room was very nice, but we didn't actually use it (Fort exploring IS exercise).

The 6 o'Clock wine tasting social was great, you get to meet other travelers if you want or just nibble great cheese and drink wine and stick to yourself.

We didn't eat at the Tapas restaurant, but the breakfast in the courtyard was very tasty!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EROSA, General Manager at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review, 2 October 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel El Convento and sharing your favorable experience with our staff, room accommodations and amenities. I am glad that you also liked our new library space since we recently opened this area.
In regards to the wine reception area, it is still one of our top amenities, were our guests meet before going out to dinner.
Come back and visit us again and feel free to ask for me at the desk next time you come so that I can thank you personally,

Best regards,

Efrain Rosa
General Manager
erosa@elconvento.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

We really enjoyed our stay here. The building and grounds were beautiful and the location was fantastic. The photos on their web site adequately depict this lovely little hotel. In fact, there are many nice surprises not photographed once you get there. The service was impeccable, the staff would recognize residents of the small hotel after seeing you only once and knew drink or food preferences.

It’s a 10-15 minute walk to El Morro, nightclubs on San Sabastian, shops on Fortaleza, or the piers. If driving to the hotel, get there, park in the lot provided and walk or take a cab everywhere. Old San Juan is a tough place to drive, especially if in a car larger than an economy-size rental. However, if you choose to go to the Mariott Isla Verde resort, negotiate a price with the cab driver before leaving. Our round trip drive to the beach cost us $60US because the outbound trip was $40 (un-negotiated) and inbound negotiated price was only $17. At only $20 for valet parking at the Mariott, it would have been much cheaper to just drive. Its not a hard drive after escaping the tiny streets of OSJ. Isla Verde was an OK beach, but not as nice as in some of the outlying areas. The Mariott was a typical 3-star resort, with the high prices that go along with a beach resort. It is nice to be able to visit another location and charge everything back to the room.

Our room was clean, neat and well appointed. The old tile floor was lovely and had been lacquered to help seal it and keep it clean. The bathrooms are small, but this is a 400 year-old building. Despite the small size, the bathroom was clean and modern.

Drinks and food were much more reasonable than at the large resorts and in our opinion, of a higher quality. The food at the tapas bar was excellent. The nightly wine and cheese reception was a perfect way to start each evening. Get there early for best cheese selection!

Its not a problem, but something to be aware of… the hotel has many bats flying in the upper central courtyard and on the deck by the wine/cheese area. The 4th floor is open and the bats freely fly around for a few hours at dusk, occasionally flying near the rooms. The 3rd floor room area has awnings and we did not see a bat on our floor. In fact, we went up and sat in a chair on the 4th floor to watch them fly around. I had never seen them flying at eye level, so it was a real treat. Remember, healthy bats are harmless and eat a lot of bugs – which is necessary in a tropical area.

Of the three places we stayed (Rio Mar, Cielo Mar and El Covento), this was by far and away our favorite. When we go back, and we will go back, we will plan to spend a majority of our time at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LayKneeTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2009

I went to 'El Convento' for Labor Day weekend with my husband, and I have to say that everything related to our stay there was perfect. Great Customer service, everyone was very helpfull and nice. Great accomodations, the hotel room was beuatiful, bose sound system, very nice T.V.( that we didn't really got to use much), safe, clean and beautiful bathroom, great ocean view. Library had guest computers with internet access. Pool size was a little misleading, however the jacuzzi located in the balcony with view to the church was a great experience. Besides all the great service and hotel accomodations, I have to say that the location and price is a great plus, just stepping out the door of the hotel you can begin to explore all that Old San Juan has to offer. Another great thing about the Hotel was that when it was time to go they arrange for us to go to another of their Hotels located 5 minutes away from the airport where we got to enjoy the beautifull beach of Isla Verde.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sirenaval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

My husband and I stayed at El Convento for the first 4 nights of our honeymoon and I can't think of a bad thing to say about it. The room we had, which was the cheapest, was not big, but had 20ft ceilings which made it feel very roomy.

The hotel was built 350 years ago, but the only place you feel that is in the charm and warmth of the hotel. The style and feeling was perfect for us. I love to feel that I am staying in a unique place, not a cookie cutter resort. The bed, air conditioning, bathroom & flat screen tv were all great! Each room opens to an open air corridor that has little tables & chairs for you to sit and enjoy while looking out over the courtyard.

When we checked in, we were informed that since El Convento is not on the beach and only has a small dipping pool on the roof, we had the luxury of using the facilities at their sister properties which are in El Condado. We took one day and laid by the pool on the beach at La Concha which was great. It was so nice to have that option while still staying in this charming small hotel.

We were also informed that there is a wine & cheese & fruit bar every night from 6-7 for free. All the wine & fruit & cheese you want for that hour. It is also a great time to meet and mingle with other guests.

They also have an "honor bar" which you can make your own drinks whenever you like and they just charge it to your room. There is also all the bottled water & coffee you want for free.

We did not try any of the restaurants in the hotel, but I am sure they are wonderful since everything about this hotel is.

The best part was the service. Any question or need we had was tended to with the greatest care. Jaime spoke with us for about an hour helping us get to where we wanted to go and gave us some great tips. If it is raining, they offer you umbrellas.

The hotel is located in Old San Juan which, while touristy, is lovely to walk around. Eat at La Bombonera for authentic Puerto RIcan breakfast. Cafe Berlin is great for vegetarian travelers.

Overall, this may be the best hotel I have ever stayed at and would recommend it to anyone that is looking to stay at a charming, off the beaten path, luxury hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AvieDesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta ga
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

If you intend to stay in Old Town Puerto Rico look up El Convento. A converted convent with wonderful staff and an incredible location. 2 blocks from the ocean on one side and 3 blocks from the fort on another.
The restaurant supplies free bottled water and coffee 24 hours a day and a free wine and cheese reception at 6pm on the patio.
If there was a deficiency at this wonderful hotel it was water pressure but I think thats typical in older hotels.
Also you can use the amenities at two other hotels owned by the same people, right on the beach, excellent hotels, very modern with free lounge chairs and beds on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeonderon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Not easy to drive to, but easy to get used to! Small, elegant, and personal sums it up.
Even though the room we requested wasn't what was waiting for us, they adjusted easily to another, suitable one.
The chef of the main restaurant met us on the elevator and invited us to lunch .. delightful and delictible!!
Great location for exploring Old San Juan on you first night to the island.
The wine, cheese, fruit, and bottled water spot hit our spot.
A must for your first or last trip to PR!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finder45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
12.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
0.3 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,035 reviews
20.0 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Property: Hotel El Convento
Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Convento 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing