We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel, perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2010

Great property with nice feeling and views inside and out from the open-air courtyard to small rooftop pool. Breakfast very good, tapas bar also very good. Would be nice if they included breakfast or some kind of voucher for this price. Rooms were nice if not a little small but to be expected given the age and history of the hotel. Location is perfect in the heart of Old San Juan. Only real negative is getting there if you are driving. When you first arrive, it is hard to find on the narrow one-way streets and they need better signage or instructions before you arrive about what to do with your car (park immediately in the valet lot, no drop off parking in front of hotel as you typically expect to find). Once you have that figured out, you will love walking around the area (and if you come and go it gets easier once you are a little familiar with streets).

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stegil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,887
    494
    130
    76
    27
See reviews for
404
1,507
96
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

Beautiful, charming historic hotel. But what really sets it apart is the staff. Friendly, helpful and willing to do what it takes to make your stay perfect.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wildrnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petercbowman
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

The hotel is in Old San Juan. It is not near any beaches. It is in walking distance of the two main Spanish Forts. It is also near some great restaurants and shopping. The hotel is gorgeous and actually has a very good restaurant on the ground floor. The open air hallways are fantastic. The rooms are gorgeous and quiet, with an extra door in the rooms to seal off noise (and in the AC). Comfortable beds. The rooftop pool is small, only about 5 ft x 10 ft in size. The outdoor patios are great, with some wonderful views of the water. The wine reception is very enjoyable and worth attending. The staff was generally attentive, but one staff member seemed insistent on recommending restaurants that were more associated with his friends or relatives than for the food or quality. However, while others made great recommendations (St. Germaine and Marmalade). The internet and phone system went out for a few hours of our stay, but the staff responded well. Also, they did a great job recommending local attractions. This is a great hotel to see the forts and to enjoy old san juan. They do have associations with beach side hotels, both of which are near nice beaches.

One negative is that Old San Juan has many stray, mangy cats and pigeons. Enough that I feel it is necessary to mention. Both types seem to get too close for comfort. Just something to consider if, like my wife, you don't like cats or birds.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2010

My husband found this gem for our wedding anniversary. The room was beautiful and the staff quite friendly. Located in Old San Juan, it was within easy walking distance of many historical sites and relaxing restaurants. The rooftop soaking pool offered a great way to see the sunset as well.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationgirl95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2010

We stayed two nights in a small room, small bathroom
Nice view yes
Good value if it is an all inclusive price
Very bad value if you are paying USD400 a night with No breakfast

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ALagosMarmol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EROSA, General Manager at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review, 7 March 2010
Dear tripadvisor user,

We are sorry that you were not able to perceive the excellent price-value that the overwelming majority of our guests have commented on, and are disappointed that this led you to give us poor ratings for all areas of your experience with us.

Efrain Rosa
General Manager
erosa@elconvento.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

After 7 days on cruise we decided to end our vacation at a small boutique hotel. Got a great price on Hotwire and what a place. I cannot tell you how wonderful this hotel is. If I needed a retreat and wanted to just be this would be my choice. The room was HUGE with refrig, large plasma TV and lots of seating choices. This hotel was a convent at one time, the peaceful and contemplative nature of the environment fits. There is a wonderful complimentary wine and cheese reception each evening. Other hotel quests were wonderful and all seemed as pleased to find this oasis. It was very difficult to leave this peaceful place, we will be back..and Picoteao was great with a Flamenco Dancers to boot. WE LOVE THIS PLACE!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yayum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

This hotel was like watching a movie, everything seemed to move in slow motion. It was just so beautiful, almost eerie. Maybe I was a little heady after spending a week at a resort, but the place seemed somewhat otherworldly. The architecture, vegetation, music, food, even the other guests were all enchanting. And thats a word I don't think I have ever used in real life.

I was looking for something unusual when I booked this hotel, and I got what I was looking for. It wasn't the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, or the most lavish bathroom - but I would go back there without a second thought.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Workhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.1 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,667 reviews
12.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
7.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,078 reviews
3.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Property: Hotel El Convento
Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Convento 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing