We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of The Gallery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gallery Inn
Ranked #9 of 29 San Juan B&B and Inns
Wethersfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My husband and I absolutely loved it here!! Everywhere you look there is such attention to detail. Now mind you this isn't everyone's cup of tea. It is an eclectic boutique hotel. Between the plants, the birds and the decor this is a must stay again for us. Our room was accidentally given to someone else. They immediately upgraded us to the top suite. I would greatly recommend spending the extra cash for this room we had 2 private decks, a living room and bedroom. There is no TV here which was WONDERFUL. There are no beaches in Old San Juan, but they are a short cab ride away. The honor bar was such a cool concept. I will forever think of the guava marmalade served with the complimentary breakfast. Light breads, fruits and cereal. The forts are both within walking distance, actually you can pretty much walk to anywhere in OSW. They also have free trollies. We hung out with another couple on the wine deck at night. The beds were temperpedic. We will be back again!!!

Room Tip: Spend the money and get the top suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamatha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    165
    83
    68
    45
See reviews for
81
511
42
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel spread over 6 old houses that have been restored and have a beautiful display of art by the owner and her sister who are both artists. Very good service, excellent location, outdoors breakfast with birds, plants and flowers all around. Nice little swimming pool, lots of out of the way rooms to discover. Take a look at the view from the roof top and find out all about the owner. Very good value too.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRAGAtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The place is very interesting but we had to drive around for 2 hours to find parking and had to walk about 1 mile up hill to get to the place which had no sign so it was hard to find and the owner was not very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkey7546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We loved this historic hotel filled with original artwork, plants, and large birds! The staff is very friendly and the other guests are generally charming and friendly as well. The pool is a great oasis and the rooms with an extra small bed (like Dr Joe and Jonathan) are perfect for a family with a young child. Location in Old San Juan is perfect - very close to everything but not noisy and with a beautiful view of the water.

Room Tip: Rooms with an extra small bed (like Dr Joe and Jonathan) are perfect for a family with a young child...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bella Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We just returned from five WONDERFUL days at the Gallery Inn in Old San Juan and have fallen in love with the hotel. From the moment you enter the front gates, you feel as though you have just stepped back in time and you are surrounded by old world charm. Everywhere you look there are gardens, paintings and sculptures. You can spend hours rambling through the hotel from room to room. For those who have reviewed the hotel, and talked about it being unclean, etc., understand the hotel is 300 years old and the furnishings and surroundings are vintage antiques and works of art. They are VERY OLD, that does not translate into "not clean" or "not well kept" in any way, shape or form. Like someone said in another review, if you want to stay at a Ritz Carlton, then go to the Ritz Carlton. Leave the Gallery Inn for the hundreds of us that appreciate it and love it.
Jan, the owner, and her co-host Campeche (a cockatoo) absolutely make the place. We had the opportunity on several occasions to sit and chat with Jan and watch Campeche interact with her. He is like a very intelligent toddler who is spoiled and loves his Mama, and does not like for her to get out of his sight. When she disappears he gets a little rambunctious and will scream "MAMA" and act up. He truly loves his Mama. Jan is one of the most elegant, gracious ladies, with huge beautiful eyes that are like a living work of art. She is one of the Gods rare treasures and we are so glad to have had the pleasure of meeting her. She has wonderful stories about the hotel and old San Juan. The entire hotel is a work of art that has all been created by her. Paintings and sculptures are everywhere, even the swimming pool is art. You can spend hours just wondering through the hotel and exploring. Jan is complimented by her staff, Steve, Leigny, Rene, Luis, Alexander, Vanessa, Alegra and Cynthia. We know we're leaving someone out but they know who they are and they all treated us like family and not just hotel guests. They all know you by name and will go out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect. Be sure to ask them what to do and particularly where to eat. Old San Juan is full of great restaurants. We liked going where the locals go, El Jabarito (Lunch), Cafe Manolín (huge breakfasts <$5 per person including your drink) and Café Puerto Rico. Whatever you do, if you're staying at the Gallery Inn, don't pass up the opportunity to stop and visit with Jan and all of her beautiful birds, Campeche, Pica, Rembrandt, Mikey and 2 or 3 others. There is another Cockatoo in the entry garden and he will put his head down for you to scratch and if you stop he slowly lifts his foot and scratches, indicating he wants more. Please give him an extra few scratches for us. He is too cute!

We stayed in the "Sam" suite/room at the very front of the hotel with a small balcony overlooking the Atlantic. Breathtaking view! We loved the room. Again, you feel like you have just stepped back in time and are part of the "old world". Throughout the hotel we seemed to find peace and serenity. It truly felt like home.

While there, take the time to go to happy hour at the beach house just down the street. The staff will walk down with you. They open it up and serve mix drinks and soft drinks at modest costs and charge to your room. In the hotel there is wine, beer and drinks available and they use the honor system.

We could ramble on about the Gallery Inn and Old San Juan. We will be going back again and again to San Juan and will not stay any other place. Sitting here at home right now, we wish we could be back at the Gallery Inn and visiting with Jan and all of her beautiful feathered- family and staff.

Perry & Robert

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful in their own way. An ocean view room (Sam Room) is what we had. Whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasGrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

An old-style architecture which flows seamlessly between out- and indoors, with art and sculpture (mostly busts) peppering the entire premises, you've probably never any place quite like this. Each guest room is in turn completely unique, and their pool is worth the visit. The hotel is right off the sea at one of the highest points of Old San Juan. Conveniently located right off some of the busiest streets, but far enough away that you won't suffer the noise. The owner regularly brings about her coterie of birds of paradise, all adding up to a very unique experience. Honestly, we loved the place and had no issues except for one particularly strange experience concerning the use of their laundry. We had gone caving in the Rio Camuy and had come back with exceptionally dirty clothes. We were hoping to use the laundry machines next to our room in the evening when they were not otherwise in use. Over the course of several consecutive days, the front desk people balked at our request with various excuses: ("We don't offer laundry service," "That's housekeeping's call and I don't deal with them: talk to them in the morning," "I'll have to talk to the manager".) With consistent refusals, we were told there was a laundromat around the corner. Since the laundromat wasn't ever open in the evenings, this would've required us to take time from our touristing activity during the day to visit the laundromat (a point which we made clear to them). We ultimately on the last day of our trip were allowed to use their laundry machines when: 1) a tropical storm had closed down the nearby laundromat, and 2) I was visibly irritated at the front desk person's suggestion to investigate the open/closed status of different laundromat located further away (in the pouring rain no less). I will say to their credit, the staff were personally very congenial, great about arranging taxis and rental cars for us, and recommendations on sites to see in PR (with annotated maps). The housekeeping staff were also great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_biggie_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mamaroneck, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed at the Gallery Inn with a friend last week for 2 nights. When we arrived everyone at the check in everyone was so friendly. They checked us in and showed us our room. The room was amazing! The bed was rather small and since we were 2 friends traveling they suggested we take another room with an enormous bed. At first we refused cause we didn't want to pay extra, but 30 min later they gave it to us for free! We were very happy about this.
The hotel looks amazing, it took us a while to discover all the little corners in this very unique hotel. Not 2 rooms are alike!
The hotel has an excellent location in Old San Juan, so you really don't need a car when you are staying here! The first night we went to the happy hour on the beach (the hotel has a beach house as well) and we had a mojito and Pina Colada there. The atmosphere was amazing, music, sunset, waves, ... The drinks were a little overpriced to me ($12).

The only reason why I don't give this hotel 5 stars is the breakfast. It was very limited. You had cereals, coffee, milk, yogurt, orange juice and bread with butter or guava butter. The first day there were also muffins, but the second morning they weren't there anymore.
If you want eggs or anything else you have to pay extra.
I'm a vegan and my only options were plain cereals or plain bread (since the guava butter is also made with butter). I would have loved some peanut butter or jelly for my bread or just some instant oatmeal. We also missed tea and fruit. Especially in a country like Puerto Rico where you see fruit everywhere!!!

All in all I loved this hotel, it's atmosphere and everyone who works there! We really felt at home! I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone visiting Old San Juan!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura1947954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 48 in San Juan
2,690 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#11 of 48 in San Juan
762 reviews
0.2 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 48 in San Juan
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.2 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 48 in San Juan
199 reviews
2.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gallery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallery Inn

Property: The Gallery Inn
Address: 204 - 206 Norzagaray St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gallery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sprawling 22-room ocean-view boutique hotel features lush gardens, tree-shaded patios and secluded and private nooks at every turn. The Wine Deck offers breath-taking, panoramic views from the highest point in Old San Juan. The newly completed sculpture waterfall pool meanders through ancient brick passageways, past fragrant gardenias. Six active art studios and world-class piano recitals are all open to our guests. Unique, elegant and exotic: the Old World charm of The Gallery Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Gallery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gallery Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing