We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my favorite hotel!!!”
Review of The Gallery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Gallery Inn
Ranked #7 of 30 San Juan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 January 2007

While waiting to leave on our cruise ship, we decided to spend a night in Old San Juan. We chose The Galleria from pictures on the internet because it looked like an unusual place and not the same American-style hotel. We were not disappointed!! It was more like staying in someone's house instead of a regular hotel.
Since we were in five, we were given the rooftop suite which had a magnificent view and our own terrace! The owner is an artist so she has decorated every room differently and included all her artwork and sculpturing all over the house.
Breakfast was interesting ( included) because it was not a sitdown meal. A wide variety of local fresh fruits and the normal eggs were put out on a buffet in one of the halls and you could help yourself and sit in any of the many living rooms off the entrance hall.
The staff was great and called many places to find us a tour because it was the last minute.
We really felt that we had gone back in time in this quaint bed and breakfast.
I would return to San Juan just to stay in this unique place.

1  Thank patinitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

767 - 773 of 851 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2006

I can't agree more with all the other reviews, both good and bad. The Gallery Inn is not typical, by any stretch. I got to learn a bit of the history while I was there, and someone correct me if I'm wrong, but it was Jan and Manny's mansion (both are artists and eccentric, to say the least.) It became somewhat of a guest house for artists and musicians over the years, and then finally somehow emerged into an inn. So, its quite amazing that this place was never meant to be any kind of hotel, but someone's house. Remember, when you go, that you are staying in someone's house. Its very large, so you're privacy is never compromised. Its candy for a photographer ... so antique and busy. My husband and I really liked it. Its a gem, and so is Old San Juan.

Also another tid-bit. We met the owner of El-Convento at one of the concerts. Very nice man and long-time friend of Jan's. He was inspired by the Gallery Inn and it sparked some friendly competition, so he decided to convert a convent into a hotel. Go figure!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrs.matta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2006

Yes, location, gardens and views are great, but the musty rooms, small and dingy bathrooms, and non-existent breakfasts do offset the charm of this B&B. For $270 + tax, wouldn’t you expect to get a real bathroom (no bath, just a shower), a real breakfast (toasts and coffee ONLY), and more importantly, a good night sleep?
We first stayed at one of the cheapest rooms ($175). The “window” was just a door overlooking an interior court. We were kept awake by people partying. Plus, early in the morning, we heard people washing dishes and talking – so perfectly that they felt like they were in our room!
We complained, got upgraded to a room with a view on the ocean ($270), with the same dingy bathroom and tired look (yes, like other reviewers said, things smell and look like they have not been cleaned since the Spanish Inquisition). We did sleep better but got waken up during the night by cars passing by blasting music.
The houses are charming but have an overpowering smell of dust and mold. If you are prone to allergies, avoid the place. Yes, there are concerts, but how can you enjoy them when the person next to you is snorting loudly?
The owners (Manny and Jan) obviously love the place but it needs a serious upgrade to justify such prices.
One last thing: While we did not pay for the upgrade, our bill was more than expected: $195 a night instead of $175 (because someone had mistakenly given us winter rates) and $10 were overcharged for drinks we never had. If you decide to go there, double check the bill!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Marie-Baguette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2006

Kinda cool, kinda creepy, has you looking over your shoulder, then exploring the next room wondering if you should open that creaky wooden door at the top of the stairs.

Despite the above, and because of the above The Gallery is a place not too be missed in Old San Juan.

On the practical side the rooms are funky and well equiped, bathrooms clean, closets a tad musty, but all else spotless. The roof has one of the best views in Old San Juan, and the abundant patios and captive parrots make for many varied settings in which to have your morning coffee, or evening happy hour. The staff was extremely helpful and professional, and able to point you in any direction you might want to go. The location is prime, exactly where you would want to live if you were an Old San Juan resident (which I was for 2 years). And the summer rate makes it a much better deal than just about anywhere else you might think about staying.

Now for the artistic side - this is a place for poets, artists, and wandering souls. Imagine a dream scape filled with creations both stunning and morbid. Sun draped, flower filled patios, and china cabinets filled with ceramic heads. Opulent piano rooms found next to crowded book filled rooms, decorated with horse riding memorabilia and a stuffed former pet Hyacinth Macaw.

Wonder in and get lost among the many twists of the Gallery as you also get lost among the cobblestone streets of Old San Juan.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Albatross37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2006

I have traveled a lot in 29 years. Stayed in many countries at both comfy, luxurious chain hotels and crappy chains, fancy boutique hotels and bed and breakfasts and horrible motels. Many places have been a pleasure. But this was probably the coolest, most unique, enthralling place I have ever stayed. We stayed in the honeymoon suite and although I was celebrating my birthday with my boyfriend, it definitely felt more like a honeymoon. If you have any sense of adventure, any appreciation for art and artistic souls or any desire to be surrounded by something beautiful, yet at the same time haunting you HAVE TO STAY HERE. The staff is super friendly (David was very helpful and suggested my bday dinner at Marmalade - HIGHLY RECOMMEND TOO). The rooms are each very different and special (again my room seemed superior - inc. it's own private balcony with cute lil 2 person clean hot tub overlooking THE OCEAN). The location is perfect - very centralized. Don't think twice about it. The Normandie was too far. El Convento was nice and good location too , but we went to visit and compare - but in my eyes didn't touch the Gallery Inn. stay here!!! yes, it can be creepy and musty. and sunny and colorful. an artful paradox of pleasure. do not pass it up, you'll miss something memorable. tell them cristy and jorge sent you ;)

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TakeMeNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2006

I am not one to usually write a review on any specific property, however The Gallery Inn deserves a few moments of my time. It is an incredible place located in the most exquisite part of San Juan. Jan (The owner), along with her family and staff are most accomodating. I truly felt after leaving that I had made several life long friends. From the moment you walk through the gates you are taken to a different place filled with nature, beautiful and amazing birds, and incredible history. I look forward to another visit very soon. Not only to visit beautiful San Juan, but the people and birds of The Gallery Inn.

Bryan
Miami, Fl.

Stayed: August 2006
1  Thank bcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2006

The Gallery Inn was remarkable. We were a little concerned after reading a few of the reviews on here about the rooms being dirty, low water pressure, and mold/mildew in the bathroom, but we didn't notice any of these things! Everything was great! My only complaint would be that the breakfast isn't substantial. Consisting of cereal, fruit, and toast, you might want to consider an early lunch should you have a larger appetite. But, don't not stay here because of that - it's worth the stay!!!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vandyalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 48 in San Juan
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 48 in San Juan
2,797 reviews
0.2 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 48 in San Juan
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#12 of 48 in San Juan
779 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#23 of 48 in San Juan
842 reviews
3 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gallery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallery Inn

Address: 204 - 206 Norzagaray St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range: £112 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gallery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sprawling 22-room ocean-view boutique hotel features lush gardens, tree-shaded patios and secluded and private nooks at every turn. The Wine Deck offers breath-taking, panoramic views from the highest point in Old San Juan. The newly completed sculpture waterfall pool meanders through ancient brick passageways, past fragrant gardenias. Six active art studios and world-class piano recitals are all open to our guests. Unique, elegant and exotic: the Old World charm of The Gallery Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Gallery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gallery Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing