We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, friendly little hideaway - had a lovely relaxing stay.”
Review of Tres Palmas Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tres Palmas Inn
Ranked #6 of 28 San Juan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quaint, friendly little hideaway - had a lovely relaxing stay.”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed at Tres Palmas Inn for a week in February with my wife. After a long, tiring journey from the UK we arrived in the evening and found the staff and general ambience of the place to be very welcoming. The inn is not a resort, but as a base for a relaxing stay in San Juan it is excellent. Facilities are basic, but clean and well maintained, and all of the staff, from the management to the cleaners were friendly and courteous (special mention to Magui, always very helpful, charming and cheerful). This hotel seems to be a popular staging point for people joining cruises, so there was a bit of coming and going at all hours, however the unavoidable disturbances did not spoil our stay. Breakfast was basic but a perfect way to start the day, with as much coffee and toast etc. to get you going as you need. San Juan has a lot to offer as a holiday destination but appears to be considered mainly as somewhere to pick up a cruise ship, which is a shame. We would recommend Tres Palmas Inn and would definitely stay there again should we be fortunate enough to return to Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanL-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    170
    62
    19
    5
See reviews for
119
324
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The place was a little difficult to find (mislabeled in our guide book). Front desk staff was nice. They have a nice little pool, and a great set of hot tubs on the roof. They are right off of the beach, which is lovely. The room was sort of motel quality, but had an air conditioner and a decent tv.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Extremely helpful and nice staff, around the clock. Excellent jacuzzi and prime location on isla verde. Excellent. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I can only agree with the positive reviews of this unique place. The hotel provided free use of the room safes, free use of computer at the lobby, free Wi-Fi and free use of bikes.  The evening desk manager, was one of the most delightful people we meet in Puerto Rico, happily answered a whole lot of questions, booked us a tour to El Yunque, and ordered delivery for us.

The beach directly in front of the hotel is a short walk away from Condado where you can find places to have lunch or drinks right on the beach. This Inn is about a third of a mile walk to nice Restaurants so you don’t need a car or taxi to go out and have dinner. If you go to the beach you can use beach chairs, towels, coolers, paddles and boogie boards that are available at no charge.

Go into their second floor terrace and get into one of the Hot Tubs and relax listening to the waves and the sound of the palm trees while enjoying the wonderful view of the Sunset over the ocean! I can’t wait to be back!

Room Tip: Try to get the one next to the hot tubs it’s got a private balcony and a King Bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I can't say enough good things about Tres Palmas Inn. The owner and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It's not a resort but you're not paying for a resort either. There's a small pool and two hot tubs but who needs them when you can borrow some beach chairs, walk across the street, and sit on the beach and play in the surf. We were in room 11, back by the pool. It was basic but clean and well maintained with a small refrigerator, flat screen TV and ceiling mounted air conditioner that kept the room nice and cool. Breakfast was served from 7 - 10 each morning and consisted of fresh fruits, a couple of cereals, juices, milk, coffee, some meats and cheese, hard boiled eggs, English muffins, bagels, bread, cream cheese, butter, and jam. The inn is on a residential street across from the ocean and has gated access from the sidewalk. Parking was on the well lit street in front and we always found parking within a block of the inn. 15 - 20 minute drive to Old San Juan via the resort area and coast (we avoided route 26 going to Old San Juan but came back via 26 later when traffic was light) and we parked in a parking garage on Recinto Sur that was very inexpensive. They also had a couple of bikes and boogie boards you could borrow but we didn't get a chance to try them out. There were chairs, lounges, outdoor couches, and a couple of hammocks all around the property so we could sit out and read in the sun or shade. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely return!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fireman_Dan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Tres Palmas is away from the hustle and bustle of the hotel district in San Juan (Condado), yet is close to everything. It is on the quiet and beautiful Ocean Park Beach. It definitely has a "beach" flair to it, with rooftop hot tubs overlooking the ocean, etc. It is different from the chain hotels, more intimate. The people who work there and the owner are all super friendly and will go out of their way to help you and see that you needs are taken care of.

For example, one night we ordered delivery dinner from a local Puerto Rican restaurant. The delivery was a little late. We called the front desk to ask if the food had shown up. The delivery people had not arrived yet, and the staff took the initiative to call the restaurant to follow up on our delivery, and then called us to let us know the status of the food delivery. That was really above and beyond, service-wise.

The rooms are clean, bright, peaceful, and look like the pictures on the website.

On a humorous note, if you have never been to Puerto Rico, there is a "coqui frog" that chirps like a bird the entire night. The coqui frog is all over Puerto Rico. So, with the sound of the ocean waves, you will also be falling asleep to the coqui frog.

The breakfast is a wonderful convenience with usual continental items plus some extra touches.

There were a lot of details that made this place a winner: they gave us wine when we arrived, there are lovely courtyards and a nice pool and outdoor areas to sit and enjoy the beachview, and the atmosphere is homey. There are excellent delivery restaurants in the area, which is great it you're tired from a long day trekking around Old San Juan, El Morro and San Cristobal forts and don't want to go out. The street that the inn is on is pretty quiet. The location is wonderful.

We are frequent travelers, and we would enjoy returning to this area and this inn again. The owners and staff take great pride in their service and their hotel.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem to be excellent. Look on their website for the layout of the inn to choose yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldwide_traveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Location: In front of the beach. Easily reached from the airport with your car or taxi (+-20$).
Common areas are enjoyable and well maintained.
Staff is extremely nice and helpful.
Rooms are very simple, maybe a little expensive for that simplicity but deal is good anyway. They are well maintained and clean.
Breakfast is reasonable booth in quantity and quality.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLACKJAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,050 reviews
1.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
944 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,711 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tres Palmas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tres Palmas Inn

Property: Tres Palmas Inn
Address: 2212 Calle Park Blvd, San Juan 00913-4542, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tres Palmas Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tres Palmas Inn is a quaint and charming 20-room beachfront guest house built in the 1940's. We are located at Ocean Park Beach, which is the best beach for vacationers and locals alike in San Juan. Our rooms are mid-to-small sized but they have all the amenities you will need during your stay (air conditioning, LCD TV's with Dish, free High Speed Wi-Fi, refrigerator, private bathrooms, toiletries, etc.) We also have a secluded outdoor pool and a wonderful rooftop terrace with a hot tub overlooking the ocean, where you can have a drink while watching the sunset. Tres Palmas Inn is located in a residential area between two major tourist zones: Isla Verde and Condado. We provide daily complimentary Continental breakfast from 7:00AM to 10:00AM in our breakfast area overlooking the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. Tres Palmas Inn doesn't have a restaurant but there is a wide variety of them within walking distance-anywhere from 10 to 15 minutes away. Check out our website for our local Restaurant Guide to find your new favorite place to eat! At Tres Palmas Inn we also provide our guests with complimentary beach chairs and beach towels, please ask for them at the Front Desk. Additionally, we have a Water Sports Center, Sotavento Watersports, where you can take Windsurf or Kiteboarding lessons and also rent kayaks, paddle boards, and snorkeling gear... At Tres Palmas Inn we will do our best to make your stay a memorable one, so give us the opportunity and we will show you why Puerto Rico Does it Better! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tres Palmas Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tres Palmas Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing